Monthly Rewind: June

MonthlyRewind

My Month in Review

This has been an amazing month for reading for me! I started (and will finish today) my summer job, but it’s very short on time commitment, along with my online class, so I’ve been able to do a lot of reading. I haven’t done as well with posting, though, so we’ll have to see if I can improve that next month.

Music of the Month

This is a super-sized playlist since it’s from May and June. There’s a combination of new music, old music, and new-to-me music.

Top Books Read

1. The Reece Malcolm List (Amy Spalding): I loved reading this book the second time around just as much as the first.

2. None of the Above (I.W. Gregorio): I don’t know how much I’ll remember the characters and the more personal parts of this story, but I won’t forget what it’s taught me about intersex and how it can affect people.

3. Blue Lily, Lily Blue (Maggie Stiefvater): The third book in this series was just as magical and whimsical and emotional and interesting as the rest of the series.

4. Lock and Key (Sarah Dessen): Another great reread!

5. The Wrong Side of Right (Jenn Marie Thorne): I was excited for this book, but it was still was a wonderful surprise and blew me away – I can’t wait to see what else Thorne writes in the future.

6. Every Word (Ellie Marney): With the second book in this series, I really got into the ship, as well as the mystery and characters (although I already enjoyed them with the first book, it was the ship I didn’t obsess over as much).

7. To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before (Jenny Han): Another reread! I recognized some of the problems this book had, but I was glad to see that I enjoyed it just as much the second time around, and I’m excited to start the sequel now.

Quote of the Month

Quotes25

Favorite (Non-Review) Posts

1. Top Ten Books I’d Love to See as TV Shows: I am obsessed with this topic. I would say it’s unhealthy… but it’s really not, because it combines books and TV and obviously those two can’t be bad for you!

2. What’s a Story Without the Malicious Villains? Disney villains!

3. Take a Written Snapshot (2): More pretty bookish graphics with great quotes!

4. Top Ten Favorite Topics Done in the Last Five Years: Hmm, I wonder if a certain TV-related topic will show up on this list…

5. Oh My God, It’s Been FIVE YEARS! IT’S BEEN FIVE YEARS! WE NEED MORE CAPSLOCK TO CELEBRATE THIS FACT!

6. Top Ten Books I’ve Read So Far in 2015: This books deserve capslock as well, but I’ll try to refrain.

Books I’m Excited About

WheretheStarsStillShine RoyalWedding Dumplin

A reread, a book I’m eagerly waiting for (I’m about one away on the ebook hold list), and an ARC I’m already lucky enough to have – hopefully these will all be read this month!

Upcoming Releases I’m Excited About

Illuminae Deceptive PretendingtoBeErica

Illuminae is a debut from two authors who already have various books out; Deceptive is a sequel to a pleasant surprise from last year; and Pretending to Be Erica is an intriguing-sounding debut from an actual debut author – hopefully they all pan out!

Challenges – Progress

2015Challenge1I am more than halfway done with this challenge now – in fact, I read 21 books in the past month! As long as I don’t super-slow-down in the coming second half of the year, I should definitely finish this challenge, hopefully at least a couple months before the year ends. Anyway, I’ve now read 68 total books!

2015Challenge2Hmm, not bad at all – I read 13 new books in the past month, excluding rereads and the unfortunate DNFs. I am so close to completing this challenge – next month should be good enough! I’ve read 45 new books, so I’m only five books away from this goal.

2015Challenge5

OK, I officially don’t need to make this a challenge next year, because I think it’s safe to say that I can read adult books without forcing myself to now. Last month I was one away from reaching this goal, and now I’ve read 13 adult books, so this is my first complete challenge of the year! Now I just have to wait and see how much I can beat it by…

2015Challenge3Woah, this number jumped a lot – last month, I had only read three debuts, one of which was a DNF, and now I’m at 10 debuts books! Yeah, four of them were DNFs, which means half of them didn’t work for me, but I still discovered five new debut authors I’m excited to see more from, so I count that as a victory anyway!

2015Challenge4

A bit of a letdown after the seven debuts, but I still read two new sophomore books this past month, now putting me at 7 sophomore books, which isn’t too shabby at all. This always tends to be a harder challenge for me, probably because of all the debuts than end in DNFs, so I’m quite happy with what I’ve done with this challenge so far.

2015Challenge6

This is another challenge that I’m so close to completing – I’m now at 13 reread books, with plenty more that I desperately want to reread. I love having the excuse of this challenge to reread all the books I own.

diveintodiversity

Ooh, I’m doing quite well with this challenge as well! I’ve now read 19 diverse books, which still isn’t enough, but I’m still happy with that. Sure, some of them have been DNFs, but only about three or so, and two of those were from this past month, so it’s been pretty darn good on this challenge.

Reading Statistics

Books Read This Month: 21
Books Read for Challenges This Month: 17
Pages Read This Month: 5,926
Average Rating This Month: 4.03
Highest Rating This Month: 5!
Lowest Rating This Month (Excluding DNFs): 3.5

Total Books Read for Challenges: 51
Total Pages Read: 20,102
Total Average Rating: 4.07

Favorite Non-Book Things

1. From Dusk Till Dawn: I watched the first two episodes of this show last night, and I have to say that I’m quite intrigued. I spend a bit too much time turning the volume down really low in case something violent or scary happens, but still intriguing in a scary way.

2. Greek: I just rewatched most of the first season this past weekend, and it’s clear that I need to finish this series – all I have to do is find the last season…

A Goal for June

Do even better than last month! Even if it’s only a book or two more, I know that I can do better. I don’t have class or work in July, and I know things will slow down in August once school starts, so this is my chance to do really, really well!

Leave a Reply

