Top Ten Books I’ve Read So Far in 2015

TopTenTuesday

These are in the order that I read them, because there’s no way I’m going to be able to put them in order by love – that’s just too much! Pickin out ten is enough.

Size12AndReadytoRock1. Size 12 and Ready to Rock (Meg Cabot)

There were a few reasons that this was my favorite book in the Heather Wells series. For one thing, it highlighted a character I never really expected to see in a more positive light: the woman who “stole” Heather’s boyfriend. She wasn’t necessarily villainized before, but she definitely wasn’t shown in the most positive light. In this book, we got to see some of the things that had made her the person she was, which was great. The mystery and story themselves were also pretty interesting, which helped make this my favorite of the series, as well as for all the adult Meg Cabot books I’ve read so far.

TopTenCluesYoureClueless2. Top Ten Clues You’re Clueless (Liz Czukas)

Part of what I loved about this book was what I wanted from it – more. I loved the group dynamics in this story, and I just think about all the other things I’d love from it. It has diversity and humor and a little mystery, and it wraps up as one interesting and fun little story.

TheSilkworm3. The Silkworm (Robert Galbraith/J.K. Rowling)

J.K. Rowling has yet to write anything that doesn’t totally engross me. Whether she’s writing the amazing and awesome Harry Potter or a story about a bunch of quibbling and nosy small-town people. This mystery series is just as interesting, and it doesn’t matter that her name isn’t officially on it – this is totally a Rowling classic.

LiesWeTellOurselves4. Lies We Tell Ourselves (Robin Talley)

This is not an easy book to read, but it packs quite a punch. It combines two difficult subjects, at least in our society – race and sexuality. It focuses on the desegregation of a Virginian high school, as well as two girls who are releazing that they might like girls in a time and place that really didn’t approve of that. I don’t see myself rereading it anytime soon, but I am definitely excited for whatever Talley writes next.

ThingsWeKnowByHeart5. Things We Know By Heart (Jessi Kirby)

I normally need a lot from a book, or at least more than gorgeous writing, but there was just something about this book that made the writing enough. The story by itself doesn’t seem like much, but the writing really elevated it for me, and I continue to love Kirby’s writing and stories – can’t wait for more from her.

ThePipersSon6. The Piper’s Son (Melina Marchetta)

Last year, Saving Francesca was one of my favorite books, and this sequel did the near impossible – it stood up on the same level. It focused on a different character, Tom, and dealt with some heavy stuff, but I found myself loving it jsut as much as the first book, and it has made it clear that I have to check out more books from Marchetta.

TheStartofMeAndYou7. The Start of Me and You (Emery Lord)

I was not a huge fan of Lord’s debut last year at all – the girl hate took away from all the positives, like a perfectly wonderful friendship. I wasn’t planning on checking out more from her, but I am so glad I did, because this book really made up for all that girl hate, and it had the BEST friendship ever! It was between four girls, not just two, but it felt like each girl got enough attention and growth. It also had an adorable romance, but for me, this book was all about the totally relatable main character and the amazing friendship.

TheRevengePlaylist8. The Revenge Playbook (Rachael Allen)

This is another amazing friendship book! Yay for the year of awesome female friendship – keep it coming! Anyway, I actually did love Allen’s debut last year, so I was already really excited about this book, which means some pressure coming in, but this book more than stood up to that pressure for me. It got past a slightly difficult start – only because it was a bit difficult to keep track of the four protagonists – and became an amazing, pro-feminist and anti-rape culture story that combined those things with FRIENDSHIP!

BlueLilyLilyBlue9. Blue Lily, Lily Blue (Maggie Stiefvater)

Stiefvater’s writing is exactly what I want to do with some of my stories – it’s so atmospheric and almost a character of its own. This book continues the intriguing tale started with The Raven Boys, and I am so excited and scared to see how it all ends in the last book.

TheWrongSideofRight10. The Wrong Side of Right (Jenn Marie Thorne)

When I saw the summary that compared this book to My Life Next Door, I was immediately intrigued. Based on my love for that book, I was super-excited for this book, but that also meant that there was a lot of pressure on it. I did my best to prepare myself for a disappointment, but I didn’t have to do that at all! I loved this book, from an amazing protagonist to intriguing family politics and actual politics. I can’t wait to see what Thorne does next.

One thought on “Top Ten Books I’ve Read So Far in 2015

Leave a Reply

