What’s a Story Without the Malicious Villains?

Fairytale Challenge

I’m finally writing a post for the Fairytale Challenge! It hasn’t been going too well for me, but I couldn’t pass up a list of awesome villains, so hopefully this’ll kickstart my luck with this challenge.

1. Maleficent (Sleeping Beauty)

Sleeping Beauty was always my favorite Disney movie when I was younger. I’m not quite sure – maybe because she was blonde and I am as well? – but as a result, I also had a special spot in my heart for that movie’s villain. She basically throws a tantrum over not being invited to a baby’s birthday party, which is kind of funny when you think about it, but she’s still an interesting character. I’m not sure if I want to watch the new Maleficent movie because I’m worried it might taint my feelings about her, so the Sleeping Beauty version of her is the one who is in my heart, her and her evil little raven.

2. Scar (Lion King)

The Lion King movie is another huge favorite of mine. It might not technically be a fairytale, but I’m including it anyway because I can! He is really quite evil – I mean, he killed his brother and would have easily killed his nephew as well – but he’s also a lot more witty and interesting than most villains. He’s very dry and has a great theme song – Be Prepared! or else! – and I was almost rooting for him by the end.

3. Shere Khan (Jungle Book)

Another feline villain, another dry and interesting one. Yes, he wants to kill a child, but in his defense, he’s a tiger – they kind of eat people and other animals most of the time. I felt a bit bad for him, what with the burning stick tied to his tail and all that at the end. Although I’m pretty sure he’s in the sequel, so I guess things ended well for him, at least before the end of the sequel – I don’t remember how that all ended.

4. Ursula (The Little Mermaid)

She’s a bit disturbing – I mean, just look at that GIF – but she’s also an interesting villain. She has a pretty fun song – “Poor Unfortunate Souls” – and she’s a big go-getter, like all the rest of the villains on this list.

5. Claude Frollo (The Hunchback of Notre Dame)

I don’t like Frollo, but his character is interesting. He’s the type of man who blames a woman for his own lust-filled feelings, and he’s determined to kill a whole race of people in Paris as a result. He’s verbally abusive to poor Quasimodo and wanted to kill him at the beginning when he was an innocent infant. Apparently he was a more sympathetic character in the book, but that doesn’t mean that he wasn’t interesting as is – terrifying, but interesting.

All the GIFs are from Tumblr

One thought on “What’s a Story Without the Malicious Villains?

Leave a Reply

