Retrospectively Reading (16)

RetrospectivelyReading

The Books I’m Currently Enjoying

CocaineBlues BlueLilyLilyBlue

I’m finally reading the third book in the Raven Cycle! I’m about 100 pages in and I am definitely enjoying it. I’m only a chapter into Cocaine Blues, so far, which is the first book in the Phryne Fisher series, and I’m not quite sure what I think about it. I need to give it some more time.

The Best of the Best This Week…

EveryBreath TheRevengePlaylist TheBoyNextDoor Reece Malcolm List ItsNotSummerWithoutYou NoneoftheAbove GardenSpells

Look at all the books! It’s only been about two weeks since my last post, I think, so seven books is quite good for me! And of course, these aren’t all the books I’ve read…

…and the Unfortunate Rest

OneManGuy ScarlettUndercover

I also unfortunately had two books that were DNFs – it’s not that they were bad, especially One Man Guy, but they simply weren’t working for me at all. Such a pity.

The Books on the Reading Shelf

Scripted MoonDemon ConspiracyofBloodandSmoke

I was too lazy to take a picture of my to-read stack again, but it is getting smaller, so yay me! These are some of the books that I plan on reading next – a debut, a reread, and a sophomore book.

The New Books I’m Anticipating

Just Released

AnythingCouldHappen KissingInAmerica BetweentheNotes TheDevilYouKnow RoyalWedding LikeItNeverHappened

Plenty of books have come out recently, including new Trish Doller and Meg Cabot!

Just Added

EveryMove EveryWord BoyMeetsGirl EveryBoysGotOne

After reading Every Breath and The Boy Next Door, I had to add the rest of the books in both series! Two pretty different books, although I suppose they were both mysteries at their heart…

The New Covers and News of the Book World

WhenWeCollided

I don’t really know what to say about this cover – I’m too annoyed that it doesn’t match Emery Lord’s other two covers (lense flare and couples, very contemporary romance-y) to look at it objectively. I’ll have to think on it for a little while.

A Picture, Rather than 1,000 Words

I didn’t get a chance to take any pictures lately because I’ve been too busy actually reading! I’ll try to remedy that this week, although I want to keep reading as well.

In the Spotlight: the Posts that Got Me Thinking this Week

“Bookish Style Files: Met Gala 2015 Edition” @ Alexa Loves Books: Pretty dresses. That is all.

“Leaving Your Characters Behind” @ The Daily Prophecy: You never want to feel like you’re leaving behind characters, but it happens all too much. Characters who once seemed so old and experienced and wise are suddenly teenagers who don’t know what they’re talking about at all. I definitely understood how Mel was feeling.

“Favorite Disney/Fairytale Villains” @ The Daily Prophecy: I didn’t actually read this post yet, but I love Disney and fairytales, especially interesting villains, and I wanted to keep this post in mind, so I decided to stick it here rather than simply bookmarking it or something!

Leave a Reply

