Mini-Reviews: May

MiniReviews

Saga1I love reading the daily comics in the paper and have multiple Calvin and Hobbes collections, but I’ve never been much for graphic novels. It’s not simply because I don’t like them, though – I simply haven’t felt the urge to read them. I did feel the urge to read this one, though, and I am quite glad that I did.

You jump right into this world of many different creatures and characters, and that can be a little confusing, but I was too busy trying to figure out what was going on and getting into it to really care. This definitely isn’t a children’s comic book, but the themes of family and star-crossed lovers and such are definitely universal.

I definitely want to continue reading this series, especially with the cliffhanger at the end of this first volume.

4stars

OneManGuyI wanted to like this book, I really did – so many people sang its praises, and it had an Armenian, gay protagonist, so yay diversity!, but it just didn’t work for me. I think this is the casualty of audiobooks that makes it clear that I probably should stop trying to make them happen for me.

I started this as an audiobook, and it started out decently, but then I got annoyed listening to the same voice for all these characters and then found out I could speed it up, and abused that ability so that I would be done sooner, but then I got bored and decided to just read it as an ebook. By the time my hold came in, though, I was tired of this book, and decided that it just wasn’t going to worry for me.

So, I’d definitely say that this is a case of “sorry, book, it’s completely me and not you at all” – after all, most people love it, and I have a feeling that they were a lot easier on this book than I was, thanks to my audiobook disaster. Sorry book – can we depart as friends? Kind of?

2.5stars

One thought on “Mini-Reviews: May

Leave a Reply

