Top Ten Books I Plan to Have in My (Non-Existent) Beach Bag This Summer

TopTenTuesday

Unfortunately, I don’t plan on going to any beaches this summer, but there are definitely some summer-y books that I’d like to read to get me in the mood of the season.

TheLastForever TheWrongSideofRight Alice14 PSIStillLoveYou RoyalWedding

1. The Last Forever (Deb Caletti)

This is the latest Deb Caletti book – it came out last year – and I haven’t read it yet mainly because I’m kind of scared. The first Caletti book I read was my favorite for sure, and then I mostly enjoyed the new few, but then I read most of the rest of her books and felt a little underwhelmed, so I don’t quite know what to expect from this book. It seems like a spring- or summer-esque book, though, so I’m going to finally try it.

2. The Wrong Side of Right (Jenn Marie Thorne)

From the moment that I saw this book being advertised as “for fans of Huntley Fitzpatrick,” I knew I had to read it. I haven’t been able to get it from the library yet, but I’m seriously considering buying it so that I can finally read it! I read the first couple chapters in an online preview and it seemed like something I could certainly like!

3. the Alice series (Phyllis Reynolds Naylor)

I’m nearly done with this series – I was binging it earlier last year, but after eighteen books, I just needed a break. Well, it’s been a break, and I really want to finish this series and be done with it.

4. P.S. I Still Love You (Jenny Han)

I really enjoyed To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before, so I’d like to reread it and then read this sequel. The covers alone make me love these books, but as long as I enjoy the sequel as much as the first one, I’ll be happy with the content as well.

5. Princess Diaries: Royal Wedding (Meg Cabot)

A new Meg Cabot book! And this is an adult sequel to her Princess Diaries series, which should be quite interesting. I read the series for the first time last year, so I’m definitely invested in the series beyond the wonderful and very different movie based on the first book.

ItsNotSummerWithoutYou SaintAnything MermaidsinParadise HelloILoveYou TheRoyalWe

6. It’s Not Summer Without You (Jenny Han)

I read the first Summer book from Jenny Han sometime last year, so I figured summertime would be the perfect time to read the second, and possibly the third as well. I’m a lot more excited about her P.S. I Love You, but that doesn’t mean I don’t want to read her earlier work as well.

7. Saint Anything (Sarah Dessen)

A new Sarah Dessen book! I feel like I practically have to read it during the summer, so this was pretty much a given for this list.

8. Mermaids in Paradise (Lydia Millet)

This is an adult book that involves mermaids, so I hope it’s interesting and not overly literary – I mean, come on, you have to have a little fun with mermaids!

9. Hello, I Love You (Katie M. Stout)

This just looks like such a cute, fun book, which is perfect for summer. It involves a K-Pop star and boarding school in a foreign country, which sounds like it could be adorable. Just look at that cover, though – it screams fluffy fun, right?

10. The Royal We (Heather Cocks and Jessica Morgan)

I would be lying if I said that I wasn’t fascinated by the monarchy, the British monarchy in particular. This book, which obviously draws upon the story of Will and Kate for inspiration, just sounds like a fun summer book, with plenty of royal drama (hopefully, anyway).

9 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I Plan to Have in My (Non-Existent) Beach Bag This Summer

  1. I have never read a book by Deb Caletti before, but I have always wanted to! Which one would you recommend to start with? I love the rest of your list too. I just have to read Saint Anything and The Royal We. I mean, who would not want to read about a real-life fairytale?

    1. The first one I read from her was Stay, and that’s definitely my favorite. I also liked The Secret Life of Prince Charming and Honey, Baby, Sweetheart, but I haven’t reread them recently, so my opinion might have changed.

      Yes, real life fairytales are definitely my thing!

Leave a Reply

