New Reads (May and June 2015)

NewReads

There are a lot of books coming out in the next two months that I’m interested in, so get ready for your to-read shelves to explode a bit if you haven’t already added some of this anticipated titles.

TheFillInBoyfriend SaintAnything

The Fill-In Boyfriend by Kasie West (May 5, 2015)

A new contemporary from Kasie West! And the summary sounds intriguing as well – a girl gets dumped in the parking lot at her prom/other school dance, so she hires some guy to pretend to be her boyfriend since her friends haven’t met him yet. Fake dating can make for some fluffy fun, and I have faith in West for sure. Plus, there’s already been some pretty positive buzz for this book.

Saint Anything by Sarah Dessen (May 5, 2015)

Ooh, a girl whose family ignores her and she thus turns to a “warm, chaotic family” – this sounds like it has the potential to be an awesome family story ala My Life Next Door! Plus, Sarah Dessen can write some pretty good contemporary with some awesome secondary characters, so I’m looking forward to that!

CrimsonBound SeriouslyWicked

Crimson Bound by Rosamund Hodge (May 5, 2015)

I didn’t love Cruel Beauty, but it was an interesting retelling of Beauty and the Beast, so I’m really curious to see what Hodge will do with a retelling of Little Red Riding Hood, which you don’t see nearly as much as the Beauty and the Beast and other “princess” fairy tales.

Seriously Wicked by Tina Connolly (May 5, 2015)

The summary for this book makes it sound like a fun paranormal fluff-fest – the adopted daughter of a wicked witch has to deal with the fallout when her mother summons a demon that possesses a cute boy at school. Hopefully it has the right amount of paranormal drama and fluffy-ness – that’s the main thing I ask of this debut.

TheWrathAndtheDawn LoveFortunesAndOtherDisasters

The Wrath and the Dawn by Renée Ahdieh (May 12, 2015)

Another retelling, this time 1,001 Nights – so, diversity as well as a promising retelling!

Love, Fortunes, and Other Disasters by Kimberly Karalius (May 12, 2015)

Rebelling against romantic fate? Based on the cover alone, it sounds like it could be an adorable story – let’s hope that the cover doesn’t let me down!

Vanished LionHeart

Vanished by E.E. Cooper (May 12, 2015)

The fact that this book is advertised as a cross between Gossip Girl and Pretty Little Liars could be a bad sign, but a murder mystery with LGBTQ characters catches my attention enough that I want to check this book out anyway!

Lion Heart by A.C. Gaughen (May 19, 2015)

I’m not really prepared for the heartache that is sure to come as I read the final book in the Scarlet trilogy. I actually have an ARC of this book, so as soon as I reread the first two books, which will have to be soon since this book comes out in less than a month, I’ll finally ready my heart for this finale.

ScarlettUndercover MadeYouUp

Scarlett Undercover by Jennifer Latham (May 19, 2015)

Mysteries are kind of my thing, and teenage sluethes can be quite entertaining and interesting, if not entirely realistic. I don’t want to read this book for realism, though – I want to read it for the fact that Scarlett finds herself “deep in a world of cults, curses, and the seemingly supernatural,” and that Scarlett looks to be a POC – yay diversity!

Made You Up by Francesca Zappia (May 19, 2015)

A girl struggling to figure out what’s true and simply in her head? I need this book in my life – I think I can really connect to it and its protagonist right now.

TheImprobableTheoryofAnaAndZak ASenseoftheInfinite

The Improbable Theory of Ana and Zak by Brian Katcher (May 19, 2015)

A missing brother who runs off to a sci-fi convention? That definitely doesn’t sound like your normal book, so I’m definitely interested to see how that works out, and see if there’s a great story about siblings, although I have a feeling that romance will play a big role (if that heart on the cover is any indication).

A Sense of the Infinite by Hilary T. Smith (May 19, 2015)

I didn’t love Smith’s debut, but its emotions especially got to me, so I’m really curious to see what this book, about a friendship breaking up and the shyer one who relies on her best friend to suddenly stand on her own, does to my emotions. It could be beautiful, awful, or both.

PSIStillLoveYou KissingInAmerica

P.S. I Still Love You by Jenny Han (May 26, 2015)

I quite liked Han’s To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before, so I’m really curious to see where this sequel takes it. Plus, I just love that cover, but honestly, I can say that about a lot of books in this post.

Kissing in America by Margo Rabb (May 26, 2015)

A girl who read romance novels to get over the death of her father? Not only does that sound like the makings of an interesting book, but it seems likely that we won’t have to sit through a bashing of romance novels and such. But focusing on this book – a girl and her best friend end up on a road trip to find the boy that she started falling for, which sounds like it could be a great book about friendship!

AnythingCouldHappen TheDevilYouKnow

Anything Could Happen by Will Walton (May 26, 2015)

Another LGBTQ romance! I definitely need more of them in my life, and hopefully it’s not too angsty – the summary makes it sound like it could be, but I guess I’ll have to wait and find out.

The Devil You Know by Trish Doller (June 2, 2015)

New Trish Doller! A girl who goes on a road trip with relative strangers on a whim and things go wrong! Great early buzz! I need this book now! And I need to stop using exclamation marks!

RoyalWedding LikeItNeverHappened

Royal Wedding by Meg Cabot (June 2, 2015)

I finally read the whole Princess Diaries series last year, so I’m definitely interested to see Cabot’s first adult installment in the series. Plus, it’s Meg Cabot, and I’m doing a very good job of reading just about everything she’s ever written, despite how many books that is. I’m working on it, okay?!

Like It Never Happened by Emily Adrian (June 2, 2015)

Stories about school plays and the drama happening in front of and behind the curtain can definitely be interesting, so I’m curious to see a lesser-known (at least among high school theater – typically it’s required reading instead) production like The Crucible and how it might be applied to the drama happening in the story.

HelloILoveYou TheSacredLiesofMinnowBly

Hello, I Love You by Katie M. Stout (June 9, 2015)

A girl who goes to boarding school and falls for a K-pop star? The cover alone makes it clear that the adorableness for this story could be quite high, and getting a unique (and diverse) love interest like a Korean pop star definitely sounds like an interesting story.

The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly by Stephanie Oakes (June 9, 2015)

Cults are obviously difficult subjects, and even trickier to craft good stories around, so I’m curious to see what this book does with a girl dealing with the aftermath of living in a cult and losing so much to it.

EvenWhenYouLieToMe ThoseGirls

Even When You Lie to Me by Jessica Alcott (June 9, 2015)

Books about teacher-student relationships can go horribly wrong, but they can also go horribly right, and I really hope that this book falls into the latter category.

Those Girls by Lauren Saft (June 9, 2015)

Teenage girls are interesting subjects (seriously, people should look at them more as fascinating than things, rather than people, to scoff at), and this book about a group of “those girls,” the popular, pretty girls, and their hidden drama sounds like it could be quite interesting.

TheRevengePlaylist AfterHours

The Revenge Playbook by Rachael Allen (June 16, 2015)

I really enjoyed Allen’s 17 First Kisses, her debut, so I’m curious to see what she does with this book, which looks fluffy and fun, but is also about getting revenge against the teenage boys that are treated like kings simply for being football players, which could veer into serious territory with the all-too-real reality that many people get away with things simply because they’re small town or college athletic heroes. I also have an ARC of this, so I hope to get to it soon.

After Hours by Claire Kennedy (June 16, 2015)

This story about a bunch of teenagers working at a cafe and all the behind-the-scenes drama that goes on could be awfully cheesy and shallow, but I’m hoping that it’s entertaining and fun – we’ll just have to wait and see.

BetweentheNotes TangledWebs

Between the Notes by Sharon Huss Roat (June 16, 2015)

THAT COVER. Oh, and a story about a family struggling to adjust to a new life after losing their house and dealing with all that comes with something like that sounds interesting as well. But seriously, I need to see that cover in person.

Tangled Webs by Lee Bross (June 23, 2015)

Blackmail, some gender-bending, and other thievery old-fashioned fun – this sounds like it could be a bit of a mess, but I’m hoping that it all comes together for an entertaining story!

BetweenUsandtheMoon

Between Us and the moon by Rebecca Maizel (June 30, 2015)

“Fans of Jenny Han and Stephanie Perkins are destined to fall for this story about how life and love are impossible to predict” – that certainly sounds like an intriguing end to this summary about a girl trying to get out of the shadow of her vibrant, beloved older sister. I hope there’s a big focus on their relationship – I need more sister books in my life.

4 thoughts on “New Reads (May and June 2015)

  1. Woah, that’s a lot of books! I’m super excited for Crimson Bound! I love fairy tale retellings, and it looks like it’s going to be awesome. The one about the cult looks very intriguing as well- I think I’ll wait to see read some reviews of it before I immediately pick it up. I feel like something like that could either be REALLY good or REALLY bad. Anyways, great post!

    1. I wasn’t the biggest fan of Cruel Beauty, but I love fairytale retellings as well, so I hope that I’ll love a Red Riding Hood tale more!

      And yeah, a cult story could either be totally awesome and twisted, or an awful mess – I’m definitely hoping for the former!

Leave a Reply

