Top Ten Books I Will Probably Never Read

TopTenTuesday

I looked at this list of popular YA titles to get an idea of super popular YA books that I’m really not that interested in and don’t plan on reading anytime soon, if ever.

1. Divergent (Veronica Roth)

With all the hype over the movies and the books, it’s easy to get sick of hearing about these books, and much of what I’ve heard isn’t that great. There are plenty of people who loved the first book, liked the second one, and hated the final one, so there’s not a lot of incentive to even give this first book a shot. I also know the best “twist” in the third book, so it’s not like I need to read these books to know what that twist was.

2. Twilight (Stephenie Meyer)

I actually have read half of this book, but I had to return it to the library and decided I didn’t care enough to check it out again and finish it. I’ve heard plenty about the books and have read some snarky and awesome commentaries and reviews about these books, so I know enough about them that I don’t to read them. I never fell out of love with YA, so I never needed to start up that love again by checking out these books.

3. City of Bones (Cassandra Clare)

Most of these books are victims of intense hype (and often bad writing, characters, plots, or messages, but that’s beside the point right now) – and these books are no exception. I remember when some of my friends were obsessed with these books. I listened to them talking about them sometimes, and even though it sounded like they had some elements that I would like, they just never caught my interest enough to want to read them, and after all I’ve learned about Cassandra Clare, I’m really not that interested in checking these books out.

4. The Fault in Our Stars (John Green)

I’m so over this hype. I’m not a John Green fan – and no, I’ve never read his books, so it’s more based on what I’ve heard about him and various bits of drama surrounding him than his books  – and I’m sick of hearing that John Green is the savior of YA and The Fault in Our Stars is the best YA ever and whatnot.

5. Shiver (Maggie Stiefvater)

I am quite enjoying Maggie Stiefvater’s Raven Boys series, but I don’t want to check out this earlier series from her since I don’t want to ruin my enjoyment of her books. I’ve heard less than good things about this werewolf series, so I’m going to stick to books of hers that I’ve heard much better things about, like The Scorpio Races.

6. Hush, Hush (Becca Fitzpatrick)

I am so sick of the super-hyped romances that have abusive love interests – I’m glad that this trope seems to be lessening. But this book seems to be a fitting example of that horrible trend, so I’m never going to check this book out for sure.

7. Looking for Alaska (John Green)

I decided to include this John Green title as well since there’s a movie version of it coming out (right? or is it another John Green book?) and one again it’s John Green overload for me.

8. The Selection (Kiera Cass)

I’m quite sick of lazy love triangles and boring dystopians, and this seems like a great example of those trends that I want to avoid.

9. Eleanor and Park (Rainbow Rowell)

Most people are obsessed with Rainbow Rowell, but I’ve never read her books and I’m not sure if I plan to at all. I’ve read some reviews that point out racism and other problems in this book, and I think I’m much more likely to check out her other book, Fangirl, before this one.

10. Graceling (Kristin Cashore)

This is another book that my sister and friends were obsessed with, so I heard a lot of good things about it, but I tend to shy away from fantasies, so I never bothered. I started to rethink that stance, but then I read the chapter-by-chapter snarks of this book from Reading with a Vengeance, and it made me change my mind – I just don’t think these books are for me.

12 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I Will Probably Never Read

  1. Wow, I know most of the books you have mentioned and have read quite a few! I really liked most of these books, probably because most of them I went into without knowing about the hype! Loved your post.

    1. Yeah, hype can be a killer – it’s much better to discover books before it all starts or after the hype has long died down. Maybe I’ll change my mind sometime in the future, but it’ll have to be a while before all the hype and such is out of my head. There’s nothing wrong with liking them, though – if you can escape hype, then that’s awesome!

  2. Surprising list! I love many of the books you mentioned, but I agree- the hype around them can get crazy! While I personally believe that John Green is a great writer and I love his books, I wish people understood that he’s not the only amazing YA writer. There are so many great YA books that I’ve read that aren’t that popular, and it’s probably because they haven’t had enough media attention or been made into movies. I mean, John Green wasn’t even that popular until TFiOS was a movie! Anyways, great list!

    1. Yeah, I think that’s a huge issue I have with John Green – I’m tired of people – normally people who don’t read YA regularly except for what’s being adapted into movies – acting like he’s single-handily saving YA. But yeah, you’re right, John Green was around a long time before The Fault in Our Stars became mega-popular and started annoying me by being THE book that outsiders associated with YA and contemporary success.

    1. Yeah, fantasy just isn’t my favorite – although there are some fantasies that I have really liked – so I think I’m doing the book as well as myself a favor by staying away from it for now – it’s just not my favorite cup of tea, so it’s a bit of a risk when there are so many other books I’m sure that I will like!

    1. I think those books are going to show up a lot – either you’ve read it because of the hype (not that that’s anything wrong with that – if you can put the hype out of your mind while reading, that’s awesome!) or you avoid it BECAUSE of the hype. Yep, hype can really be a killer.

    1. That’s awesome for you! Just because they aren’t the books for me doesn’t mean that other people can’t enjoy them – I only have a problem if people are supporting really problematic things, like authors who behave REALLY badly or romances that are really unhealthy but shown as “real romance.”

  3. You know, I agree that hype can kill a series. I think I’d like John Green and maybe some of Divergent, but the overwhelming “GO READ THIS NOW” mentality I get from other readers does the opposite of motivating me to even try them. In defense of Graceling, I will say that even though it is fantasy, it tackles relationships in a different way for teens that other YA has failed at (though really Fire, the second book, is the best of the three for this). Still, we all have our own preferences!

    1. Yeah, I’m not saying that I’ll NEVER read it, but I’d definitely want to try Graceling and any of its sequel when I’m really in the mood for fantasy and I might keep quiet about it so that I don’t have other voices, real life or on the internet, in my head as I read it.

Leave a Reply

