Time for a Little Spring Planning!

Season Check-InI decided to do something a little different and do a personal/blog check-in! Well, I suppose it’s not that different from monthly rewinds, but the main reason I wanted to do a separate, different post is because I wanted to make a cute little graphic!

The first day of spring was last Friday, and the weather is finally slowly but surely starting to match that season change. Right now I’m on spring break (finally!), and I’m over halfway done with my semester. It’s been a difficult semester – obviously not as bad as the last one, where I ended up taking time off, but I haven’t had nearly as much time as I would like to devote to blogging. I think I’ve done a fairly good job of posting semi-regularly, but it’s mostly because I’ll typically write up many different posts over a short period of time before neglecting the blog for a couple of weeks. So, I apologize for that!

Now that you know a little of what’s been going on, it’s time to start looking forward to spring! I should have some more time over the next few weeks before finals come up again and I possibly disappear before summer starts up. So, I’ll try to keep things fairly regular over the next few months, but no promises.

But let’s get to fun book things! I want to highlight some books I hope to/definitely plan on reading this spring! So, this is kind of like my TBR list post for TTT, but more to it.

2015Challenge3

TheWrongSideofRight DeadtoMe SimonvsTheHomoSapiensAgenda

These debuts have all been calling out for my attention since I added them to my to-read shelf, and they’re now finally all about! The Wrong Side of Right was compared to My Life Next Door and is about a political family, which all sounds pretty interesting; Dead to Me is a historical mystery, kind of noir-ish, if I remember correctly, and since I’ve been really loving mysteries lately, it really got my attention!; and Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda is about a gay boy and the book has been getting such rave reviews lately, so I’m really excited for some much-needed diversity! So yeah, I want to discover these debut authors for myself already!

2015Challenge4

LiarsInc

Reviews for Liars, Inc. haven’t been as high as Paula Stokes’ debut, the adorable The Art of Lainey, but it’s still gotten decent reviews and it’s a thriller, so that sounds like enough for me right now!

2015Challenge5

GardenSpells QueenOfBabbleInTheBigCity MermaidsinParadise

I recently read and loved The Girl Who Chased the Moon, so I’m excited to read more from Sarah Addison Allen; same with Meg Cabot, of course, and this just happens to be the next book in the Queen of Babble series, which I started back in January or so; I haven’t read anything from Lydia Millet, though, so I’m hoping the interesting-sounding premise for this book – a couple finds/thinks they found (can’t remember for sure) a mermaid on their honeymoon or vacation – means that it’ll be the book for me!

2015Challenge6

FridaySociety WhatIThoughtWasTrue MyLifeNextDoor

I plan on rereading loads of books, of course, including the five books I included on my Spring TBR list, but these didn’t make the cut, and I wanted to highlight them as well. I’ve been planning on rereading The Friday Society ever since I got it from the library on a whim months ago, but then I bought a cheap copy through Book Thrift and have been putting off rereading in favor of all the library books that need to go back, and that needs to change! And, since Huntley Fitzpatrick’s latest is coming out in April (!!), I have to reread her other two books, especially My Life Next Door, since The Boy Most Likely To is its sequel.

2015Challenge7

AWickedThing Poison

I haven’t read any books for this challenge yet, and that definitely needs to change! A Wicked Thing is also a debut, so this Sleeping Beauty-retelling/continuation has definitely gotten my attention, especially since Sleeping Beauty was my favorite Disney princess movie growing up (I know, I know, shocking, it wasn’t Beauty and the Beast/Belle). Poison also sounds like a cute little fantasy, so I think it could be a good spring book in between yucky school stuff.

2015Challenge8

I need to upload pictures for some classics, and I was just too lazy to do that right now. I’m not quite sure what I’m going to read yet, but I think I want to reread A Tree Grows in Brooklyn, a book that I read my freshman year of high school that I actually sort of liked and would love to get re-acquainted with.

diveintodiversity

Dramarama OneManGuy NotOtherwiseSpecified

I have checked out Dramarama from the library SO MUCH but still haven’t read it! Well, I got it from the library again this weekend, and I am determined to finally read it, no matter what. I also want to read One Man Guy, which I’ve heard cute and wonderful things about, as well as Not Otherwise Specified, which I’ve heard painful and wonderful things about. Yay for diversity!

So, there are a lot of books that I hope to get to this spring, but we’ll have to wait and see how that goes. I hope to also take more bookish pictures for Instagram and actually write some non-links tweets on Twitter, but we’ll have to wait and see as well. Basically, spring is that time of year when there are lots of books coming out but I don’t really have that much extra time for them all.

Hopefully the next one of these posts will be more interesting and full of stuff, but it’s not like I can update things from the last post or anything, so my apologies! We’ll have to see if I can make these posts interesting or if they’ll go by the wayside like some other posts.

One thought on “Time for a Little Spring Planning!

Leave a Reply

