Retrospectively Reading (13)

RetrospectivelyReading

I am so, so, so sorry that I haven’t done one of these posts in so long! It’s definitely been more than a month, but I’m not quite sure how long it’s been. I’ve been in a bit of a reading slump and school has been a lot busier than I would like, so there’s only so much time I can devote to writing out this post. So sorry about that!

The Books I’m Currently Enjoying

TheLostOne TheSecretHistoryofWonderWoman

I’m almost halfway through rereading The Lost One – I definitely think of this series with rose-tinted glasses full of nostalgia, but I still enjoy these books so I don’t really care. I’ve been really surprised with how much I’m enjoying the latter book, which is huge and nonfiction, but I really am – and I’m slowly making my way through it.

The Best of the Best This Week…

TheSilkworm TellMeAgainHowaCrushShouldFeel NowYouSeeMe TheSecretScroll TheGirlWhoChasedtheMoon ArtofLainey TheSacrifice LiesWeTellOurselves TheLastTimeWeSayGoodbye

So many great books! Of course, that’s partially because I haven’t done one of these posts in so long, but it’s still been a pretty good month! I reread some books and discovered plenty of new gems, some of which I would certainly love to read again in the future.

…and the Unfortunate Rest

PlaylistFortheDead

*sigh* My first debut of the year and it was a DNF. I just couldn’t connect with the main character and ended up skipping to the end to see how it would all end.

The Books on the Reading Shelf

I HAVE NO LIBRARY BOOKS! I know, it’s shocking, but since I was in a bit of a slump that is just finally ending, I didn’t want to worry too much about due dates. All of these books are rereads except The Last Leaves Falling, which I won from Rather Be Reading and I hope to get to soon. The rest of the books in the stack are ones I’m going to put on this week’s Top Ten Tuesday post, which is my spring TBR. I don’t normally put rereads on that list, but I’m really enjoying rereading favorites during the stress of school and such.

The New Books I’m Anticipating

Just Released

IllMeetYouThere Scripted TheLastTimeWeSayGoodbye OneOftheGuys A Darker Shade final for Irene NoParkingAtTheEndTimes WhenJossMetMatt ShadowStudy AWickedThing TheWinnersCrime Razorhurst DeadtoMe NotOtherwiseSpecified

Um, yeah, a lot of books have come out since I last did this post. I’ve already read The Last Time We Say Goodbye, but otherwise these are all just waiting for me to get my hands on them!

Just Added

DeadScared TheWickedTheDivine GardenSpells TheSugarQueen ThePeachKeeper Dumplin SixOfCrows WhatWeSaw UnderneathEverything

I was kind of surprised that I hadn’t added more books – maybe I had some restraint (I’m kidding – my reading slump extended to not feeling like looking for books to read in the future as well as the present).

The New Covers and News of the Book World

PSIStillLoveYou Lock&Mori FansOfTheImpossibleLife
TheBoyMostLikelyTo FuturePerfect VelvetUndercover

At least there were a lot of pretty covers as well! Well, the first and the last two are quite pretty – the other three don’t immediately capture my attention or anything. I’m a little disappointed that I don’t like the cover of The Boy Most Likely To more, but I haven’t been super-impressed by the covers of her other books, so as long as it has a great story between the cover, I don’t care!

A Picture, Rather than 1,000 Words

I actually have a picture this time! I took it at least two weeks ago, when I was still reading this book, and I just felt inspired to take a picture of it because I was enjoying reading it so much.

In the Spotlight: the Posts that Got Me Thinking this Week

“My Bullying Story” @ The Daily Prophecy: This is an older post that I recently read because school has taken over my life and I’m behind on reading posts. Mel has talked about bullying before, but this time she really opens up about it, and it’s painful but wonderful.

“I Have Just Met You, and I Love You” @ Alexa Loves Books: I’m not a fan of instalove, but I definitely get my own case of instalove for memorable secondary characters, including Kenji from the Shatter Me books, which Alexa mentions in this insightful post.

“Young Adult Books & After High School” @ Rather Be Reading: As a college student, especially one who’s been struggling with a lot of anxiety due to college, it’s great reading about characters going through similar problems, and so I definitely want to check out some of the books on Estelle’s list that I haven’t already read.

“Friends Can Be Soulmates Too” @ Hello, Chelly: I think this is an important message anytime of the year, but it definitely seems relevant when we’re being constantly bombarded by the sight of couples and reassurances that being single is okay to the point where it seems like we’re just being pitied in a really condescending way.

“Valentine’s Day Cards for Book Nerds” @ Stay Bookish: These are just so cute, and I wanted to highlight them even though Valentine’s Day was weeks ago!

“The Literary Shopaholic” @ Pop Goes the Reader: And more artistic literary awesomeness!

“Do You Procrastinate Books You Know You’ll Love?” @ Paper Fury: Um, yeah, this is totally me.

“Using Goodreads Shelves to Stay Organized” @ Respiring Thoughts: I love seeing how other people keep their books organized, whether it’s Goodreads shelves or spreadsheets.

“Why Books and Cats are the Perfect Companions” @ Oh, the Books!: Pictures of cats! And the cat is named Genovieve (I don’t know if that’s a typo or I’ve simply never seen that spelling)!

“On Mental Health and Dating” @ The Thousand Lives: This doesn’t really have anything to do with books, but mental health is obviously an issue I struggle with, and I really appreciated this post.

Leave a Reply

