Monthly Rewind: February

MonthlyRewind

My Month in Review

School has really begun to take over my life, which is one of the reasons this is much later than I usually do these monthly recap posts.. I’m amazed how often I’ve been able to post in the past month, let alone how many posts I’ve already gotten scheduled for the upcoming week or so (of course, it’s still only about four or so scheduled, but it feels like a lot right now!). So, if I disappear or anything, it’s because I’m busy with school and actually reading, but I’m doing to best to post at least two or three times a week, so I shouldn’t disappear completely or anything right now. I’ve also been in a minor book slump – I like all the books I’m reading now, but I simply don’t feel like taking the time to sit down and read them. It’s really, really frustrating.

Music of the Month

1. Nostalghia – “Homeostasis”: This was on How to Get Away With Murder and I immediately had to know what that song was – I think the drama of the show is definitely imbued into this song for me now.

2. Damien Rice – “Colour Me In”: This song was on Vampire Diaries, if I remember correctly, which is where I’ve gotten a lot of songs I love in the past.

3. RHODES – “Your Soul”: And, on the same Thursday as the past two songs, this song was on Reign, which I still watch despite the rape storyline because I want to know what happens to my ladies (I couldn’t care less about Francis, though, so his plotline can be ignored for all I care). So, yeah, lots of music from that Thursday.

4. He is We – “Our July in the Rain”: I was looking for another He is We song on Spotify and found this one as well, which I just really love for some reason.

5. Ella Eyre – “We Don’t Have to Take Our Clothes Off”: I actually found this cover from Ella Eyre, who I already like, from an ad playing on YouTube. Normally I hate those ads, but when I heard this song I just had to find out who was singing it, and got super-excited when I saw it was Ella.

Top Books Read

1. The Silkworm (Robert Galbraith/J.K. Rowling): More J.K. Rowling! That is all.

2. Tell Me Again How a Crush Should Feel (Sara Farizan): This started off a bit shaky for me, but then I really fell into the story and the characters and it all got better.

3. Now You See Me (S.J. Bolton): This was another shaky start, but there were some twists and turns at the end that make it hard for me to get this book out of my head.

4. The Girl Who Chased the Moon (Sarah Addison Allen): Magical realism! I need more of it, right now – particularly from Sarah Addison Allen!

Favorite (Non-Review) Posts

1. Top Ten Things I Like When It Comes to Romance: Tropes are fun and TV Tropes.com is a time suck that I love being sucked into, so I relied on tropes for this topic.

2. Book Blogger Confessions (12): It was very reassuring when some other people told me that they hate/don’t proofread at all as well.

3. Sometimes I Feel Like I’m Out of the Loop with Childhood Classics: Exactly what it says on the tin, basically.

4. Top Ten Favorite Heroines from TV: I’m way too obsessed with TV at times, so this was a perfect topic to do.

5. I Want More Ensembles in My Fluffy Contemporary Books: I want books that feel like classic teen movies!

6. Top Ten Books You Would Classify As ALL TIME FAVORITES From the Past Three Years: This was difficult to narrow down, but these are the kind of books that have stuck in my head the most over the past three years I’ve been blogging on here.

Books I’m Excited About

FridaySociety SmartGirlsGetWhatTheyWant

I need to get of my slump so that I can finally read these books!

Upcoming Releases I’m Excited About

Razorhurst DeadtoMe
TheWrongSideofRight LiarsInc

Wow, there’s only one face on one of these covers and it’s hidden in the title. But it’s not the covers that I care about (well, mostly) – it’s the stories that will hopefully be awesome!

Challenges – Progress

2015Challenge1This month has been a combination of “wow, I’ve read quite a bit” weeks and “hmm, that week went by fast without a lot of reading” weeks, but I think I did a good job of balancing all that. February is the shortest month, after all, and I still managed to read 18 books, so I think I’m making decent progress on that front.

2015Challenge2Of course, there have been some rereads and DNFs from the past month, so the number of new books isn’t quite as high. Since I do want to reread so many books this year, I’m really curious to see if I get over 100 new books like I have the past few years or if I’ll fall a bit short. Either way, I’m still making good progress toward 50 new books; for the first two months of the year, I’m currently at 10 new books.

2015Challenge5This is one area where I have been doing very well. I guess I’m just on a bit of an adult kick right now – I’ve mostly been reading one adult and one YA book at a time, so it helps it go faster. I’m glad that I’m starting to figure out what I like – I haven’t had a single DNF for all the adult books yet this year, but it’s only been two months. Anyway, I’ve now read 6 adult books – so, again, I’m feeling really proud of that number right now!

2015Challenge3I finally read my first debut of the year! Of course, that debut was also a DNF, so I guess I can’t celebrate that much. This challenge always starts off pretty slow for me since I get most of my books at the library and they aren’t always the fastest at getting every new release. So, I’m not too worried that I’ve only read 1 debuts so far.

2015Challenge6This challenge is to blame for the low number of new books so far this year, but I don’t mind at all. I’ve always enjoyed rereading books, and I’m really liking getting credit for it, even if it’s just a personal challenge that I’m sure to complete before the year is even halfway over. I’ve already reread 5 books this year, so I’m definitely on a good pace.

diveintodiversityI haven’t made as much progress for this challenge yet, but it’s still early in the year, so I’m not too worried. So far, I’ve read a book a month for this challenge, so I’m currently at 2 book for this challenge. Of course, it is a bit sad when you consider how many books I’ve already read this year that don’t have enough diversity to count for this challenge.

Reading Statistics

I started keeping track of various statistics this year and forgot to include them for January, so you get them starting in February instead!

Books Read This Month: 8
Books Read for Challenges This Month: 8
Pages Read This Month: 2,444
Average Rating This Month: 4.14
Highest Rating This Month: 4.5
Lowest Rating This Month (Excluding DNFs): 4 (so, a pretty great month, ratings-wise!)

Total Books Read for Challenges: 13
Total Pages Read: 5,171
Total Average Rating: 4.04

Favorite Non-Book Things

There hasn’t really been anything new to highlight. I’ve been watching the same shows for the most part, doing the same things on the internet, and been dealing with the busy-ness that comes with school.

A Goal for March

Start rereading more of the books I own. I’ve been slowly working my way through the Daughters of the Moon series and reading plenty of library books, but I brought a lot of my own books to school that I just haven’t gotten to yet, and I want to work them into my reading sooner rather than later.

Leave a Reply

