New Reads (March and April 2015)

NewReads

NotOtherwiseSpecified DeadtoMe

Not Otherwise Specified by Hannah Moskowitz (March 3, 2015)

Diversity! The cover alone tells you that, but the summary goes on to tell you how the protagonist doesn’t fit into any box and has to figure out who she is, which sounds interesting enough on its own, but I’ve also heard great things about Hannah Moskowitz, so I have tentatively high hopes for this story.

Dead to Me by Mary McCoy (March 3, 2015)

This is a historical mystery that’s apparently compared to L.A. Confidential (which I know nothing about, so the comparison is kind of lost on me); I’m not quite sure why, but I’m really, really excited for this book. Maybe it’s because I’ve been on a mystery kick, maybe it’s the cool cover, but I’m definitely intrigued.

TheWinnersCrime Razorhurst

The Winner’s Crime by Marie Rutkoski (March 3, 2015)

I didn’t love The Winner’s Curse as much as some people, but I did still enjoy it a lot, and I’m definitely interested to see how this story is going to pick up from some of the cliffhangers of the first book. If you haven’t read the first book, you should definitely at least check it out.

Razorhurst by Justine Larbalestier (March 3, 2015)

A historical, creepy-sounding book from the really interesting Justine Larbalestier – I haven’t heard anything about this in the blogosphere, but I’m still excited for it, even though I barely remember the summary.

TheWrongSideofRight UnderAPaintedSky

The Wrong Side of Right by Jenn Marie Thorne (March 17, 2015)

I know two things about this book: it involves a political family, which sounds like a really interesting premise; and it was recommended for fans of Huntley Fitzpatrick and Sarah Dessen. Um, that’s me, that’s totally me – and this book automatically went on my to-read shelf.

Under a Painted Sky by Stacey Lee (March 17, 2015)

This is a historical story that is about two girls on the Oregon trail, if I remember correctly. I was never really interested in that time in history, so it’d be nice to read a little about that and see if it changes my mind.

LiarsInc TheCemeteryBoys

Liars, Inc. by Paula Stokes (March 24, 2015)

This is a mystery, which means i’ts hard to know whether I’ll like it based on Paula Stokes’s fluffy and fun The Art of Lainey, but I like mystery and I’m definitely interested to see what else Stokes can create.

The Cemetery Boys by Heather Brewer (March 30, 2015)

I don’t quite remember what this book is about, but I know it sounded intriguing. This author apparently has a series about vampires, but I’ve never read anything from her, so I’m definitely coming into this story blind.

Backlash EmpireofNight

Backlash by Sarah Darer Littman (March 31, 2015)

This is a story about cyber-bullying, a difficult but important subject; I’m definitely interested to see how that all plays out. I’m pretty sure there’s more to the summary than cyber-bullying, but that’s the main thing I remember about this book.

Empire of Night by Kelley Armstrong (April 7, 2015)

This is the second book in a trilogy that began with Sea of Shadows, a fantasy story that had plenty of cruel cliffhangers that I need answers to now!

SimonvsTheHomoSapiensAgenda NoneoftheAbove

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli (April 7, 2015)

A story about a gay boy who’s already comfortable with his sexuality is a much-needed story, and I’ve heard plenty of people who are also excited for this debut, which has me even more interested in it.

None of the Above by I.W. Gregorio (April 7, 2015)

I was introduced to the idea of intersex thanks to a character on MTV’s Faking It, but there’s still so much that I don’t know about it, so I definitely hope that this book does the subject justice.

IAmHerRevenge AlltheRage

I am Her Revenge by Meredith Moore (April 7, 2015)

Mother-daughter relationships can be quite interesting, but a book about a mother forcing her daughter to act as her revenge? That definitely has the potential to be a very interesting debut.

All the Rage by Courtney Summers (April 14, 2015)

Courtney Summers’s books are known for packing quite a punch, so I’m both scared and interested to see what she comes up with next.

FirstThereWasForever KissingTedCallahanAndOtherGuys

First There Was Forever by Juliana Romano (April 14, 2015)

This book also had a comparison to Huntley Fitzpatrick, if I remember correctly, but it’s also about friendship, which is a topic I love reading about. Hopefully it tells an interesting story about friendship!

Kissing Ted Callahan (And Other Guys) by Amy Spalding (April 14, 2015)

Another book from Amy Spalding, the author of The Reece Malcolm List, a book that I loved? With the promise of that, I can forgive the cover for not matching her first two books. This story involves a friendship between a girl and a boy, and whether they end up together or not at the end, I’m definitely happy for more friendship.

99Days ThingsWeKnowByHeart

99 Days by Katie Cotugno (April 21, 2015)

I thought How to Love from Katie Cotugno was a decent debut, so I’m really interested to see what she comes up with next. I can’t quite remember the premise of this book, but I think it might be about a relationship that’s 99 days long, so it might be similar to 500 Days (Of Summer), that movie with Joseph Gordon-Levitt and Zooey Deschanel, but I’m not totally sure.

Things We Know By Heart by Jessi Kirby (April 21, 2015)

Jessi Kirby has written some amazing books, but this premise alone sounds like the beginning of an intriguing story even without that authorial boost: a girl’s boyfriend dies and his heart is donated to another teenage boy, who she tracks down and starts to grow close to, despite her conflicted feelings about the whole thing.

ConspiracyofBloodandSmoke

Conspiracy of Blood and Smoke by Anne Blankman (April 21, 2015)

Prisoner of Night and Fog was a very interesting look at a little told subject: the days of Hitler before WWII, as seen through the eyes of a girl who believes in him and his message. She had to go through a lot of turmoil to see that things aren’t quite as they seem, and I’m definitely interested to see how things are going for her after (minor spoiler) she fled Germany at the end of the first book.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s