Top Ten Books You Would Classify As ALL TIME FAVORITE Books from the Past 3 Years Or So

TopTenTuesday

For this week’s topic, I tried to pick books that I loved on my first reading and still loved once rereading them, but I’ve only reread a few of these, so I also picked books that I’m super-excited about rereading and just loved, even if I’ve only managed to read them once.

MyLifeNextDoorMy Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick – first read in 2013

From the very first time I read this book, I knew it was a favorite. I couldn’t quite say why it was a favorite – sure, I loved most of the characters and the romance and the story, but there are plenty of books that have great characters, romance, and plots – what was it about this story that made me want to frequently mention it here once I had read it? I was worried that the book would lose that when I reread it last year, but I loved it just as much as the first time around, so this is definitely an all time favorite book.

Ruby1The Ruby Oliver Quartet by E. Lockhart – first read in 2012

I read this series at the beginning of 2012, which made me really sad because I had to wait almost a whole year to reread them and have them count for my Goodreads reading challenge (seriously, they need to figure out a way around that – it’s really annoying)! I just connected with Ruby and her story right away, and now that I have my own problems with anxiety, I’m even more connected with her and obviously need to reread these books again!

SavingFrancescaSaving Francesca by Melina Marchetta – read in 2014

This book doesn’t deal with anxiety as much as Ruby Oliver, but stories about depression can definitely get to me in the same way, so I felt that connection with this story right away. I struggled a little at the beginning, so once it clicked for me, it really clicked for me as an amazing story, and it instantly shot up my list of “books I need,” and I ordered a nice, cheap copy online – although I probably would have paid full price as well, I loved it so much! I already want to reread it, and I just read it this past fall/winter.

SmartGirlsGetWhatTheyWantSmart Girls Get What They Want by Sarah Strohmeyer – read in 2014

This is another one of those books that I closed once I finished it and instantly wanted to reread it. I brought it to school with me and plan on rereading it once I have less library books, but I don’t know if I can wait that long! I just connected with the characters and their friendship and storylines right away, and it was just the perfect fluffy book, and I need fluffy right now!

PerksofBeingaWallflowerThe Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky – read in 2014

I saw the movie of this book first (I know, I know, *gasp*) and loved it, but that made me a little nervous about reading the book. I should have known that a movie directed and written by the author of the book wouldn’t let me down, though, and now I have mutual love for the book and movie, despite any differences. This book was one of those rare ones where I had to put it down every once in a while because I felt like it had brought up so many emotions in me that I needed a few minutes or hours to process them all.

SinceYouveBeenGoneSince You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson – read in 2014

I really connected with the main character of this book, Emily. I took a while to read the book, but that was mainly because I was savoring it. Emily seemed like a slightly younger version of myself who was doing all these things that I wish I had been and would be brave enough to do, so I was cheering for her right away, and that made this book feel so personal, in a way that it might not have otherwise.

WheretheStarsStillShineWhere the Stars Still Shine by Trish Doller – read in 2013

I’m starting to forget bits about this amazing book, so it’s obviously time for a reread soon because there’s no way I can forget it! I just felt so many different emotions for the protagonist and the ordeal she was going through – even when she was making decisions that I disagreed with, I never truly got mad at her because I truly believed in her and her story.

EverythingLeadstoYouEverything Leads to You by Nina LaCour – read in 2014

This is one of those rare books that got a 5 star rating from me. I just couldn’t find anything at fault with this lovely story about movie magic and family and love. It’s truly a case of a beautiful cover leading to an equally wonderful story. I kept expecting things to go wrong, for the author to bring in unnecessary drama that would lower my level of enjoyment, but that never happened, and I am so incredibly thankful for that.

CuckoosCallingThe Cuckoo’s Calling by J.K. Rowling/Robert Galbraith – read in 2014

I have to highlight a J.K. Rowling book! But it’s not just because it’s one of her books – this is also one of the first adult books I read where I felt like I could really like adult books, mainly mysteries. Rowling just has a way of writing that draws me in, even when she’s writing about horrible people and murders rather than adorable boy wizards and magical creatures.

ArtofLaineyThe Art of Lainey by Paula Stokes – first read in 2014

As I write this, I’m rereading this book and loving it just as much as the first time around, so I knew the tenth slot on this list had to go to this book. It’s another perfect fluffy book that I enjoyed from beginning to end, even though I didn’t have the same personal connection with the protagonist. Main character Lainey is a jock and outgoing, which are two adjectives that don’t describe me, but I still connected with her despite our differences, and that’s a sign of a strong and awesome protagonist, at least in my book.

One thought on “Top Ten Books You Would Classify As ALL TIME FAVORITE Books from the Past 3 Years Or So

Leave a Reply

