Book Blogger Confessions (12)

BookBloggerConfessions

I don’t proofread (much).

If you’ve read any of my blog posts, this might be obvious – I’m not really sure, since I don’t, you know, read over my posts after I type them out. I know, it’s horrible, especially for a writer/former sort-of English major. What can I say – I think all the papers I’ve been forced to write have taken out all interest in rereading my work to find mistakes.

Let’s be honest – I mostly blog for myself. I’m certainly not being graded on how well I articulate myself, nor how many grammar and spelling mistakes I can cram into the average review or something. Sure, I could be judged by any readers who are overly critical when it comes to grammar and spelling (please don’t be that person! I’m just a simple blogger!), but nothing awful is going to happen if I accidentally misspell a word or a sentence gets a little jumbled and confusing, as can often happen since I mostly ramble without a clear point in mind as I write (see: this sentence). So, it’s harder to motivate myself to reread my posts when I really don’t want to.

I like to think of myself as a pretty decent writer. When I’m really interested in a subject, I think I can put down my thoughts fairly well, outside of all the rambling and such that might go on. I rarely (hopefully never) mistake “your” and “you’re” and those kinds of mistakes, so I’d like to think that I really don’t have to proofread that much. Sure, one or two mistakes might slip in, but I have spell check enabled and it normally catches things. So, I’ll admit, I just get a bit lazy when it comes to proofreading.

I really didn’t think it was such a big deal, but I feel like one step bloggers always include on their “things I do to write a post” posts or whatever is “proofread.” It seems rare, like a shameful secret, to admit that you don’t actually proofread or even skim over what you’ve written when you’re done, but I definitely belong in this camp. I can enjoy what I write, but unless it’s a paper I have to submit for a grade or a story that I hope to one day publish, I just don’t care that much. In fact, I do more proofreading of emails I send to professors and other “important” school people than I do these posts.

Am I simply an oddity in the blogging world, or are we a silent majority? And you can go ahead and tell me the truth: do I need to give myself a slap on the wrist and start proofreading these posts? Do I need to proofread this particular post – because god knows I’m sure not going to once I reach the end of this sentence.

8 thoughts on “Book Blogger Confessions (12)

    1. I obviously can’t judge me! And, unfortunately, I don’t see my lack of proofreading changing – it’d probably take a bunch of people decrying my lack of grammar abilities for me to stop being so lazy!

  1. I’m not much of a proofreader either, unless I really feel like a blog post needs to be looked at before going up. I’m lazy like that, and, like you, I think I’m a fairly decent writer and don’t make too many mistakes. I just don’t.. care?

    1. Yeah, that’s my problem – I’m decent enough most of the time, so I’m too lazy to double-check that I’m STILL decent and fairly well-written. I have much too much trouble just caring sometimes!

  2. I don’t proofread enough either but it is forced. If I proofread I start revising, which leads to rewriting posts that have all the time they need in to them already. So a quick one over for major errors then i kiss a post off to the world. Else nothing would ever be posted.

Leave a Reply

