Monthly Rewind: January

MonthlyRewind

My Month in Review

The month started out not that busy, but after I finally started back up at school this past week, I really ran out of time to commit to blogging. Hopefully I’ll get better as I settle back into the routine and such, but in the meantime, I apologize for basically disappearing. At least I’m still reading in the meantime!

Music of the Month

1. Marina & the Diamonds – “Immortal”: A new Marina & the Diamonds song! She’s releasing a song a month for her new album, so get used to seeing these until her album finally comes out in April or May. In fact, have another one!

2. Marina & the Diamonds – “I’m a Ruin”: Since this monthly rewind is a few days late, her February release came out yesterday (well, officially it was last week, but it was just released onto iTunes yesterday).

3. Ingrid Michaelson – “Over You (feat. A Great Big World)”: This song was apparently on The Fosters recently (a show I need to catch up on, btw – I’ve only seen the first half of the first season), and I found it in a playlist of songs on recent TV shows and loved it immediately!

4. Lilly Wood & The Prick – “Prayer in C (Robin Schulz Remix)”: I heard this song on the radio and immediately loved it, doing my best to remember the lyrics so I could find out what song it was.

5. Robin Schulz – “Sun Goes Down (feat. Jasmine Thompson)”: Another song from Robin Schulz, this time with a different singer.

6. Meiko – “Leave the Lights On (Culture Code Remix)”: This is a singer I used to listen to on last.fm a lot a few years ago, and I recently rediscovered her, as well as some of her newer stuff like this awesome remix.

Top Books Read

1. Size 12 and Ready to Rock (Meg Cabot): I got really excited when the fourth book in this series ended up being better for me than the first three books, since series seem much more likely to go downhill.

2. The Bride Wore Size 12 (Meg Cabot): Same with the fifth and final book – I enjoyed it as much as the fourth and more than the first books! (review coming soon)

3. Queen of Babble (Meg Cabot): I didn’t like this debut in another Meg Cabot adult series as much as the previous two books, but now I know that the series might improve over the three books and I could end up loving it even more! (review coming soon)

4. Top Ten Clues You’re Clueless (Liz Czukas): This was a fun YA book to mix into all the rereading and adult books I was doing, and I look forward to checking out Czukas’s other books! (review coming soon)

Favorite (Non-Review) Posts

1. Top Ten Most Anticipated Debut Novels for 2015: Debuts are always fun to look at, and I hope that all of these end up being successes for me by the time the year comes to a close!

2. Are Animal Deaths in Books REALLY Necessary?: I mean, honestly, are they?!

3. Reflecting On My First Year of Adult Fiction: I liked analyzing my journey into adult fiction and figuring out why and why it didn’t work for me.

4. FREEBIE! Top Ten Favorite Book Best Friends: I often have best friends in books that I just don’t click with for some reason, so it’s always great when I actually love them!

5. Real Life Diversity (Or a Lack Thereof): I felt like I was kind of whining over nothing, but the important message is that we need diversity because there are so many cultures, countries, and people that we can only learn about if we see them represented in the books we read.

Books I’m Excited About

FridaySociety SmartGirlsGetWhatTheyWant

These are just two of the many books that I hope to reread this month. I brought them to school with me, so hopefully that’ll make sure that I have to read them – plus, you know, I want to read them!

Upcoming Releases I’m Excited About

IllMeetYouThere TheLastTimeWeSayGoodbye A Darker Shade final for Irene

These are just a few of the many books that are somehow all coming out in the shortest month of the year.

Challenges – Progress

2015Challenge1Ah, the start of a new year, and with that new year comes a fresh slate in terms of total books read. It can be slightly discouraging to go from 100+ books to 0 on January 1st, but by the end of the month, I managed to raise that number up to 10 books! At this rate, I’ll finish with about 120 books by the end of December, so hopefully I raise the number a bit, but I’m definitely on track.

2015Challenge2I’m not sure how well I’ll do with this challenge this year. Oh, I’m sure I’ll reach it, but in the past few years I’ve gotten over 100 pretty easily, but this year I want to focus a bit more on rereading. So, we’ll have to see how high this number ends up being; right now, I’ve read 6 new books, not counting books I reread or didn’t finish, so I’m pretty happy with that for now!

2015Challenge5Even if you don’t consider the fact that I just barely reached 10 adult books by the end of 2014, I’m already doing quite well with this challenge! I’ve already managed to read 3 adult books in January (all of them from Meg Cabot), and have already finished another book in February, so I’d say I’m really on track with this challenge!

2015Challenge6As I’ve already mentioned, rereading is going to be a bit of a focus this year – it’s just easier to bring stacks of my own books to school and only a few library books to worry about every few weeks. So, it’s pretty much impossible for me to not reach my goal – I was trying to be realistic, but I think I underestimated my love of rereading. Anyway, I’ve already reread 2 books, both of them from the Daughters of the Moon series, which has 13 books and will probably help me reach this goal by the end of the next month or something.

diveintodiversityI didn’t get very far with this challenge, this month, but the last book I read in January managed to include a diabetic protagonist, a POC love interest, another POC, and a girl who personality apparently made her sexuality questionable (it makes sense in context), so a good dose of diversity, which was great to see! So, I’ve currently read 1 book for this challenge.

And those are all the challenges that I’ve made progress on so far. Hopefully I’ll do even better next month, despite it being a shorter month!

Favorite Non-Book Things

1. Agent Carter: She is awesome and this show should get all the attention for having a kickass woman who saves the day without magical powers or an iron suit or something.

2. Hindsight: I’ve only seen the first two episodes of this VH1 show so far, but it’s pretty entertaining – a woman about to get married for the second time is suddenly thrust back into 1995, on the eve of her first wedding that would ultimately end in divorce. The protagonist’s friendship with Lolly, a woman she later has a mysterious fall-out with, is so freaking awesome and entertaining, so watch for them alone.

A Goal for January

Continue to read a lot! I’m on a bit of a roll, and even if that means I don’t always blog as much, as least I’m reading!

Leave a Reply

