Top Ten 2014 Releases I Meant to Read But Didn’t Get To

TopTenTuesday

TheSilkwormThe Silkworm (Robert Galbraith/J.K. Rowling) – published in June

I read The Cuckoo’s Calling last year, but didn’t plan on reading the next book, The Silkworm, at least until there was information on the third book. Well, the longer I wait, the more I want to say “I’m done waiting!” and just read this book already. So, there’s a very good chance that I’ll end up reading this book already this year because I just don’t feel like waiting. Adult mysteries have quickly become my favorite adult books, and the fact that it’s by J.K. Rowling means I’m even more interested in it.

IslaandtheHappyEverAfterIsla and the Happily Ever After (Stephanie Perkins) – published in August

I started reading it last year, after expectations slowly grew and grew to unbelievable levels that put a lot of pressure on this poor little book. So, when I started reading it and wasn’t immediately blown away by my love of it, that made me even less interested in this book. It just seemed over the top with the romance and I guess I wasn’t in a very romantic mood, so I decided to put this book down and give it a shot later on. I’ve seen plenty of people who love this book and I quite enjoyed Lola and the Boy Next Door, so I want to give this book a second chance when I’m in the mood for a super-romantic book and have lowered expectations.

BreatheAnnieBreatheBreathe, Annie, Breathe (Miranda Kenneally) – published in July

This was another book that I started reading and had to put aside. I was reading this book when I first started having serious anxiety issues, and Annie’s own problems that were going on in the aftermath of a close death and training to run a marathon hit too close to home. I was going through a much different experience, but some of the symptoms just reminded me too much of what was going on in my life and was stressing me out further, so I decided to put it aside. It might take a while for me to be in a place where I don’t get stressed out because I’ve found that I’m super-sensitive to books lately, but I will eventually do that.

BlueLilyLilyBlueBlue Lily, Lily Blue (Maggie Stiefvater) – published in October

I had this book checked out from the library and was planning on reading it soon, but I was in a bit of a reading slump and I knew that it would take me a while to get to it, so I decided to be a nice person and return it so that someone else might get the chance to read it sooner. So, I’ll try to check it out again when I have less books out, because I’d really like to see what’s going to happen in the third book in this magical series.

TheSecretHistoryofWonderWomanThe Secret History of Wonder Woman (Jill Lepore) – published in October

A nonfiction book on this list – *le gasp!* but no, this wasn’t a mistake. My mom listens to NPR all the time, and they interviewed the author. She talked a lot about the creator of Wonder Woman, and it all sounded really interesting, so I knew I had to read this book as an introduction to nonfiction. Wonder Woman is definitely my favorite superhero, but I definitely need to learn more about her, and this seems like an interesting way to do that.

TopTenCluesYoureCluelessTop Ten Clues You’re Clueless (Liz Czukas) – published in December

I never read this author’s first book, but the summary for this one sounds interesting, so I’d rather read this one first – if I like it enough, I might check out her debut. Anyway, this book just came out in December, so it would have been hard to read this before the year was over without buying it, but hopefully I can find it at the library soon.

LiesWeTellOurselvesLies We Tell Ourselves (Robin Talley) – published in September

I’m kind of scared to read this book, to be honest. It’s gotten rave reviews, but it’s about a very tricky subject – desegregating public schools in the ’50s or ’60s (I can’t remember for sure). There’s also a lesbian relationship thrown in, during a time when it was even less acceptable, so it’s sure to be a difficult book to read. I’ll have to be in the right frame of mind for it.

BloodofOlympusThe Blood of Olympus (Rick Riordan) – published in October

I haven’t read the fourth book in this series yet, but I plan on doing that soon. These books are quite long, so I need to scratch out a good chunk of time to read that book as well as this one. I’d really like to know how this all ends, whenever I have the time.

ExquisiteCaptiveExquisite Captive (Heather Demetrios) – published in October

I was excited to read this book before the mixed reviews started to come in, but I still want to give it a chance. I could end up being one of the people who actually likes this book, and even if I don’t love it, it could be an interesting story about genies (I think? it’s something to do with genies, right?).

WeWereLiarsWe Were Liars (E. Lockhart) – published in May

This is another book that I started last year but didn’t get the chance to finish. There were so many rave reviews for this book, and it was from the author of Ruby Oliver, but my expectations were too high and I was really disappointed when I was’t immediately interested in this book. I want to try it again later when there isn’t so much hype still happening over this book, but it might be hard to really forget about all that darn hype.

Leave a Reply

