Top Ten Goals/Resolutions for 2015

TopTenTuesday

1. Carry Books Around EVERYWHERE

This is one of the resolutions that I came up with last year and am going to try and do better with this year – and I think I will! Last summer, I bought my first purse – I was always one of those girls who seemed to think that having a purse was a cliche or something stupid like that, but when I saw a nice purse for like $4 at a Goodwill, I decided it would be nice to have, and I was totally right. I can fit tissues, sunglasses, keys, wallets, IDs, cough drops, and, most importantly, a book, all in one convenient bag! So, I’ll be much better about always having a book on me this year.

2. Read More Adult/Non-Fiction Books

I just barely reached my goal of 10 Adult Fiction books this year, but at least two or three of those books were DNFs that just didn’t catch my attention enough. I’ve started to get a better idea of what kinds of books I like in the adult genre, so I know to stick to mysteries more than “literary fiction,” which should help me. There are some non-fiction books that I’d like to try this year, though, including a book that my grandmother gave me for Christmas (I get way too excited when people get me books, even if I’ve never heard of them), so that’s definitely a goal to try and reach.

3. Interact More (Online)

This is another old goal that I have pretty much every year, and I try to improve upon every year. I’m not the most social person, so I need to work at leaving comments or Tweeting people or whatever – but I don’t think that’s a bad thing. As long as I’m trying and not just wrapping myself in a comfortable but constricting blanket of antisocial tendencies, I’ll be happy with my progress!

4. Don’t Stress Out about DNFs So Much

One of my goals last year was to have less DNFs. On one hand, I’d certainly like to have less DNFs, since that means that I actually enjoy the books I’m reading, but I don’t think it should be something that I stress out about. There’s absolutely no reason to force myself through books that I don’t really like, so if that means I have a growing number of DNFs, then so be it. I read books because I want to, so there’s absolutely no reason to force myself to do something that I love otherwise.

5. Write Down More Quotes

This is another continuation from last year – I started writing down some quotes, but I really don’t do it that much still. I like being able to flip through all these quotes that stood out to me, but I really don’t have many written down at this point. So, hopefully that’ll change this year!

6. Be More Open and Honest

This is going to be a regular goal for me this year in general. I’m definitely the type of person who’d rather bottle things up and stew over them, which is one reason that I have so much trouble with stress, but I want to change that this year. I don’t necessarily have that problem on here, but I still refrain from sometimes being as honest as I could be. Sometimes, if I like another book from an author, I might have trouble critiquing a new book from them – I don’t outright lie or anything like that, but I still have trouble being as honest as I could be. And, in general, I want to be open about everything, including my struggles with stress and such – it’s so great when I get feedback from people who have similar problems or thoughts, and I can only get that connection if I open up myself.

7. Stand Up For My Reading More

In my real life, I can too often remain quiet about what I read because I’m worried people will look down on me for reading YA or something silly like that. I had a conversation with my family about YA a couple weeks ago, and I was defending it like I normally do to my dad, and my sister was backing me up, and it was just great to have that. I don’t want to feel ashamed of reading YA, and I want to make it clear to everyone that YA isn’t something to be ashamed of.

8. Don’t Force Myself to Write Posts

This is my hobby, first and foremost, and I’m not going to force myself to write posts when I don’t want to. Sure, that might mean that a post goes up late (like this one, which I’m writing at noon on Tuesday) or that there’s no post at all, but if that’s what it takes to keep from getting burned out, then I’m going to do it. I’ve slowly learned that I work in fits and bursts – so, if I write a ton a posts when I want to and don’t force myself when I’m not in the mood, then I still have a pretty regular posting schedule. Sure, there might be some days that I miss, but I don’t end up going on a weeks-long hiatus in order to get back into the mood, and that’s more important to me than writing every day.

9. Be Inspired More

This not a way of saying that I should rip off of people who inspire me – I just mean that I should be able to go to other blogs, see things I like, and come up with my own ideas. I don’t want to feel like I have to walk on a tiny tightrope in isolation, never drawing on other people’s ideas for fear of being called a thief or something.

Of course, being inspired still needs credit, so “giving credit where credit is due” could be another goal!

10. Have Fun!

This is another old goal, but I think it’s the most important one: this is a hobby, again, and it should be something that I genuinely enjoy doing. I don’t get paid for doing this at all – I have yet to try for any ARCs, I don’t have any ads on here, or anything else that I would get something for doing this. Yes, I don’t have to worry about paying for my own website since I’m still on WordPress, nor do I host giveaways or the like, but I still put a lot of time into this blog. And, ultimately, I want to do this because it’s fun for me – once it stops being at least a tiny bit fun, then I shouldn’t force myself to continue.

Well, we’ll see how well all these goals go this year! Good luck with all of your resolutions as well!

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Goals/Resolutions for 2015

  1. Great Goals! I always carry my book with me, except for when i am grocery shopping as I know I won’t be able to read then. One of ym new year goals is also to breach out to different genres, historical romances and mysteries in my case. I read a nice amount of adult books, but am not a fan of non-fiction.
    Good luck with your goals and I hope 2015 will be an amazing year for you!

    1. Yeah, I’m going to try and mix a few non-fiction along with my adult fiction, so that’s something else I want to work on!
      Good luck with all of your goals as well!

  2. I definitely want to read more adult books in 2015! These past couple of months have been full of young adult – I’m really enjoying the books, but I also miss adult and I want to read a variety of books. I don’t tend to record the non-fiction books I read, but I think I will start to do that, too! What non-fiction books are you interested in? hope you can find some adult books that you enjoy.

    I’m the same with interacting! I’ve been finding it really difficult but I think I would have lots of fun once I get going 🙂

    I wish you the best for all of your reading goals and I hope you find lots of great books in 2015!

    1. I only have a couple non-fiction books on my to-read shelf so far, like a biography about a the creator of Wonder Woman – hopefully I will enjoy it!

      Yeah, I hope to have lots of fun once I get going as well, I just have to keep trying!

      And I hope you find plenty of amazing books in 2015 as well!

Leave a Reply

