So, How Did NaNoWriMo Go?

NaNoWriMo2014

Now that December is officially here (and has been for a little while, but I didn’t get around to writing this post until now, so I don’t care), I guess I should update you all on my NaNoWriMo journey, huh? Well, unfortunately, I didn’t win again – but I still feel like this year was a good one in a variety of ways.

– I Still Wrote A Lot!

Yes, I didn’t write all 50,000 words, but I did write 37,000 words (give or take a bit – I didn’t feel like going all the way over to the website to check the exact number), which is a lot! I wrote a lot of words in one story especially, so I made a lot of progress and it just made me feel really good about myself and my writing. I didn’t make it all the way, but I still did write a lot and that’s good enough for me right now!

– I Have a Better Idea of What Works for Me

With every year I do NaNoWriMo, I get a better idea of what works for me – and I’m starting to think that forcing myself to write 50,000 in one month just might not be one of those things. That doesn’t mean I’m not going to do it in the future – but I know now that I’m much better at just writing when I want to write. Sometimes forcing myself to write can work out well, but those are much more isolated cases – by the end of the month, I was either dreading writing because I was behind or I was working on old stories that I don’t care about as much because I just had to write something. It worked for my word count, but it didn’t work for the stories that are my main concern as much.

– I Got a Better Sense of Community This Year

Even though I’ve been participating in NaNoWriMo through the website for the past five or so years, writing still felt pretty isolating to me. Yes, writing is definitely an individual activity for me, but seeing all the various posts and Tweets about people also striving to write as much as possible made me feel like I was really a part of something. Even though I wasn’t talking to other people about my own writing, just writing my own post, tweeting occasionally about it, and seeing that I wasn’t the only one writing gave me such a warm, happy feeling!

– I Feel More Inspired to Write Now

Yes, even though I failed and didn’t write much at all in the last week or so of November, I feel really inspired to write! I think part of the problem was that I wanted to work on the one story I won NaNoWriMo with, which I’m currently rewriting right now – but I felt like rewriting would be cheating (I know, I was writing in many different stories but rewriting is where I draw the line? Yep, that’s me!) and that made me feel a bit grumpy because I was basically a little kid who couldn’t do what she wanted to as soon as she wanted it. So, now I can go off and do that without any problem or worry that I’m not reaching a specific word count each day!

So, yeah, I didn’t win NaNoWriMo, but I’m still happy that I participate in this fun, terrifying, and difficult month and community – and now I’m going to go off and write whatever the hell I want!

One thought on “So, How Did NaNoWriMo Go?

Leave a Reply

