Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten New-to-Me Authors I Read in 2014

TopTenTuesday

This author has an already published paranormal series, but I think I’m much more excited for her future contemporary books as long as they’re as interesting as Magnolia! I read it on a bit of a whim after reading some positive reviews and then read the whole book in one day, which hasn’t happened in a while. The romance and many of the characters all interested me, so I’m interested to see what she’ll come up with next!

I don’t really know if I want to read anything else from this author simply because I haven’t heard anything about his other books and they would be under a lot of pressure to live up to The Perks of Being a Wallflower, but I would be okay with just reading that one book because it was so, so good! I loved the movie, and I still think I liked the book better, even though I was constantly comparing it to the movie. So, yeah, this author is pretty much a favorite now even if I never read anything else he writes.

I was going to read LaCour’s The Disenchantments but decided I didn’t want to after all, and I’m kicking myself now after I gave five freaking stars to Everything Leads to You! I haven’t added it back to my to-read shelf yet, but if I like her first book, Hold Still, even half as much as Everything Leads to You, then you can bet this will be a real favorite author!

There are so many authors this year that I’ve only read one book from but I loved them so much that I gave them the fuller tree graphic (yeah, did you notice that there’s a pattern to these things? Or did you just like looking at the pretty graphics?). At the very beginning of Saving Francesca, I was worried that I wouldn’t get into the story, but as soon as I did, it wowed me so much that it is totally a new favorite!

I didn’t love the first book in the Summer series, but I did enjoy it and really liked To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before, so I already know that Jenny Han is going to be an author to look out for in the future. Plus, I’m still working on the Summer series and hopefully will end up liking it even more!

As I’m writing this, I’ve only read one of her books so far, but I’m also reading The Dream Thieves as I write this, so I’m counting this author as more than one book. I’m scared to read her first series because it tends to get a lot less praise, but The Raven Boys was such an interesting book, with beautiful language and characters that started off kind of shaky for me but are quickly becoming fascinating that Maggie Stiefvater will definitely be an author I keep up with in the future – I’ve already got her third book from the library, in fact!

I actually read my first book from this author at the very end of 2014, but that was after I already did this post for last year, so I’m including her now! I didn’t love her second book quite as much as The Reece Malcolm List, but apparently she wrote Ink is Thicker Than Water before her debut, so hopefully that’s a sign that I’ll only like her stuff even more the more I read from her!

I also read my first book from this author in the last few months of 2014; Feeling Sorry for Celia was an interesting enough start to a series that ended up going all over the place in the best way possible. I had a lot more fun with the later book in the series, which has definitely put Jaclyn Moriarty on my radar.

I’m cheating here, because as you probably know, Robert Galbraith is the penname of J.K. Rowling! So, I’ve read everything that she already wrote under her real name, but after loving her new book under a new name just as much, I just had to include this author anyway! The Cuckoo’s Calling made it clear that Rowling can do no wrong and that adult mysteries are the most likely adult books to keep my interest.

And I’m cheating again because I’ve now seen the glory of Meg Cabot’s adult books so I decided that gives me a good reason to stick her on the list again! I’ve read the first two books of this series so far (although I might be on the third book by the time this post goes up), and even though Size 12 is Not Fat and its following books haven’t eclipsed my love of The Mediator as my favorite from Cabot, they’re still quite enjoyable and fun to read and attempt (and fail) to solve the mystery before Heather Mills.

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten New-to-Me Authors I Read in 2014

  1. Your graphics are so cool this week! (Sorry, I couldn’t help but admire how pretty and colorful they are!) I’m glad you’ve discovered Cabot’s adult stuff (I haven’t loved her newer YA stuff as much as the classics like the Mediator and Princess Diaries) and I’m SO excited that she’s transitioning those two YA series into adult books!
    My TTT

    1. Thanks so much! I had fun making them on Picmonkey!

      Yeah, her classics are definitely her best stuff, so it’s nice finding some of her classic adult books that seem like her classic YA – hopefully combining adult and the Mediator and Princess Diaries will be the best of both worlds! I CAN’T WAIT! 😀

    1. Yeah, I’m still reading the second book but I just knew that I had to include her on this list because the books were just intriguing to me, especially in the way they’re written. They’re fun to read simply for the language!

Leave a Reply

