Fairytale Retelling Challenge – Intro Post

Fairytale Challenge

Get ready to see a lot of talk about various challenges I’m planning on doing next year! Well, many not a lot, but I do have another intro post planned for next Monday. This Monday is all about fairy tales, though.

This year, Mel at The Daily Prophecy is hosting the Fairytale Retelling Challenge, which, obviously, involves retellings, particularly fairytale ones. At first I didn’t plan on doing it because I really don’t read all that many retellings, but then I saw that Mel was planning on doing some fun stuff, like a quiz and some interesting-sounding discussions, so I decided why not? There are multiple levels that you can challenge yourself to – I plan on trying to read at least 6 books, so one every two months or so, which is the Magic Mirror level (5-9 books). Hopefully I achieve it, even if it takes all year!

I plan on reading a combination of unpublished and already released books. So far, I have seven books on my to-read shelf that can be used for this challenge, but I can always add more during the year. These are the books I have right now, though:

Books I Can Already Get My Hands On

Poison PoisonedApples HooksRevenge

These are all some books that have gotten some good reviews and caught my eye as some interesting books to check out, regardless of the challenge. I only added Poison because of the challenge, but I have heard some good things about it and was already considering putting it on my to-read shelf – so this challenge was just the push that I needed.

Books I’ll Just Have to Wait For

TheWrathAndtheDawn TheSacredLiesofMinnowBly LionHeart CrimsonBound

These books aren’t out yet, but the latest I’ll have to wait is June – they all come out in May and June, actually, if I remember correctly. The first two books are debuts, so I’ll be able to use them for two challenges, while the latter two are new installments in series I’ve already enjoyed, so I’m definitely excited for all of these books!

I love traditional fairytales – some of my favorite childhood books are collections of fairytales – so it really doesn’t make sense that I haven’t read more adaptations of them! Hopefully this challenge will open me up to more – or at least keep me entertained throughout the year!

9 thoughts on “Fairytale Retelling Challenge – Intro Post

  1. Great, now I feel extra motivated to come up with more interesting link-up posts to keep you happy ^^ Poison & Hook’s revenge are so good! They both have a strong MC and adventure. I can’t wait for Lion heart & Crimson bound. Great picks 🙂

    1. Ooh, yay!

      Your and Debby’s reviews of Hook’s Revenge definitely got me interested in the book – I don’t normally read MG, but it just sounded like so much fun!

      I’m super pumped for Lion Heart, but I’m also terrified of how much heartbreak we’re probably in for!

  2. Oh, you know I forgot all about “Poisoned Apples”! I can’t believe I did because I’ve been wanting to read that one.

    I think the hardest part of this challenge for me will be not reading the books before I can actually include them into the challenge for 2015!

    Great picks! And good luck!

Leave a Reply

