Retrospectively Reading (10)

RetrospectivelyReading

I’ve officially decided that I’m just going to do this feature when I feel like it. Sometimes that’ll be every Sunday, sometimes I’ll skip a Sunday or two. For the past few weeks, I just didn’t feel like doing all the picture-taking and compiling required for this post, so I just didn’t, and it definitely felt great. So, just a heads up. Oh, and I don’t know how regular I’m going to be posting for the rest of November – in between writing for NaNoWriMo and a family holiday, I just don’t always feel like writing posts and I’m doing my best not to push myself so that I don’t get burnt out. So, just a warning! Plus, I haven’t been reading as many books because I’m busy and writing, so I’m running out of books to write reviews for at the moment!

The Books I’m Currently Enjoying

I'm not too far in any of these books yet, but that's what the weekend is for, right?

A post shared by Genevieve (@thereadingshelf) on

I’m not too far into any of these books, but I’m really enjoying two of them (The Dream Thieves and Secrets of My Hollywood) and appropriately scared for the rest of Famous in Love after reading the prologue that is heavy on romantic angst and not Hollywood drama (I want my Hollywood drama!), so time will tell if I feel the same way about all these books by the time I’m done.

The Best of the Best This Week…

Size12IsNotFat RavenBoys Magnolia Secrets5 Size14IsNotFatEither

There have been plenty of new and exciting books I’ve read in the past few weeks, plus another reread (Secrets of My Hollywood Life: Broadway Lights). The Raven Boys and Magnolia were both surprises while I went into the two Meg Cabot expecting to like them – which I luckily did! At this point, most of the reviews for these books are already up because I’m so behind on this feature – Size 14, meanwhile, should be up tomorrow – once I actually write it, that is.

…and the Unfortunate Rest

IslaandtheHappyEverAfter

Before you light your fires and grab your pitchforks, let me explain – I’m not done with this book yet. I think I went into it with the wrong mindset, so I’m going to try it again at another time when I want a book that is heavy on the romance. So, I’m just putting this book down for now, because I would like to at least like it and I could tell I wasn’t in the mood to do that.

The Books on the Reading Shelf

I know that I won't get through all of THIS this weekend, though. This'll last me a long, long time.

A post shared by Genevieve (@thereadingshelf) on

Hmm, I just noticed that you can’t totally see all of the books in this stack – that doesn’t really matter, though, because these books are all sure to stick around for awhile since they’re going to take so long to read!

The New Books I’m Anticipating

Just Released

TheSecretHistoryofWonderWoman Forbidden AThousandPiecesOfYou

I kind of hate to admit this, but I added the first book because my mom was listening to an interview with the author on NPR and I thought it sounded interesting, and I added the other two books because I just wanted some books on my to-read shelf that come out in November. They both came out on my birthday last week, but unfortunately I’m not super excited for either of them, so I don’t know when I’ll get around to reading them, let alone a nonfiction book (but it’s about Wonder Woman! so that helps).

Just Added

TangledWebs TheGirlWhoChasedtheMoon BlueLilyLilyBlue

Hmm, I really didn’t add that many books. Well, actually a lot of the new covers are books I just added in the last few weeks and there are some books that don’t have covers yet, so I guess there are more than I thought, it just looks like I was a good little bookworm who didn’t flood her to-read shelf.

The New Covers and News of the Book World

ASenseoftheInfinite BetweentheNotes TheArtofBeingNormal SaintAnything AnneAndHenry

Now that I’ve decided to include new covers that are of books I just added, rather than simply putting them up in the “just added” section, there are a lot more covers! There weren’t even any new covers in the past week – these are all from one to two weeks ago, so there was a nice little flood earlier. The Anne & Henry cover is a bit… odd (she’s biting his face! It’s hard to tell with this size, but his skin is actually between her teeth) and I’m annoyed that they redesigned all the Sarah Dessen books to match and then didn’t match the newest one, but otherwise I like these all. After all, I did kind of add the first three books just because I loved the covers.

A Picture, Rather than 1,000 Words

Look what I got at Goodwill for only 99 cents! Sure, it's a little beat up, but I repeat: only 99 cents!

A post shared by Genevieve (@thereadingshelf) on

Normally when I look at all the books they have at Goodwill, they’re a bunch of old ones or romance novels (nothing wrong with them, I’m just not interested in them at this point in my life – that could always change!), but when I was looking for a tie for my Luna Lovegood Halloween costume, I saw this book, which I remember reading back in like middle school, and I just had to get it – it was only 99 cents! That’s one penny less than a whole dollar! How can you pass up a deal like that?!

In the Spotlight: the Posts that Got Me Thinking this Week

“Here Comes NaNoWriMo! Its Reign of Pain Will Begin Soon! Are You Ready?” @ The Novel Hermit: There are a lot of NaNoWriMo posts that caught my attention recently since it is, after all, November. This post was a talk between two friends who are going to do NaNo as well, and it was just fun to read about what they planned to do before it even started.

“NaNoWriMo Has Arrived” @ Cuddlebuggery: Then, on November 1st, Cuddlebuggery posted about NaNo, and it just reminded me that I’m not the only one pushing myself to write way more than I normally do in a 30 day period.

“Condescending Sh*t to Say to Book Readers” @ Cuddlebuggery: This is the only non-NaNo post – it just sums up things nicely, since there are so many ways that you can offend and annoy us.

“10 Signs NaNo is Causing You Serious Pain” @ Cuddlebuggery: And here comes the post talking about the pain of NaNo about a third or so of the way through. So much pain, but it’ll be worth all the work if I finally win again!

2 thoughts on “Retrospectively Reading (10)

  1. I don’t blame you for deciding to post this feature when you fancy, sometimes writing these posts is easy, but all the pictures and work that comes along with it can really take up a lot of time that you don’t always have. I leave features like this because it is fun to see other peoples week, helps motivate you sometimes. Also, I discover so many books with the various lists of books you have going on, so it’s always great to visit for that.

    1. Thanks, that’s great to hear! Since book blogging is a hobby, I need to remember not to force myself to do posts when I’m not actually interested in writing them, especially since those posts just won’t be as interesting to read if my heart isn’t into them!

Leave a Reply

