Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Characters You Wish Would Get Their OWN Book

TopTenTuesday

 

1. Alice Garrett from My Life Next Door

I would be happy with any character from My Life Next Door getting their own book if it meant that I could get more of the Garretts! Huntley Fitzpatrick is already writing a sequel – The Boy Most Likely To, aka one of my most anticipated books next year – and the main character is Tim, who has a bit of a crush on Alice Garrett, so she’ll probably get a good spotlight in that book, but I wouldn’t mind getting a story from her point of view in general. She’s a little older than high school, so it would probably be a new adult story rather than young adult, which could be quite interesting.

2. Parker from The Things I Can’t Forget

This is an odd choice because Parker has her own book – Stealing Parker – but I included her anyway because what I really want is to see the point of view of Parker after that book, like during the events of Things I Can’t Forget. She’s my favorite Miranda Kenneally protagonist and I’d really like to get more insight to her life and her relationship.

 

3. Tori from the Darkest Powers trilogy

The Tori at the beginning of The Summoning isn’t my favorite character – but as she grows throughout the trilogy, I really came to love her and her story. It’d be really interesting to get a look at her life post-Darkest Powers. Technically I got a bit of that at the end of the Darkness Rising trilogy, but I still want more from her!

4. Amberley from 17 First Kisses

I actually talked about my need to get a story from the POV of Amberley in my review of 17 First Kisses, so this topic is perfect to expand on that! I just felt so much for her character – she didn’t have an easy life, and an even more difficult romantic life that has her often labeled a slut, but the thing that really got to me was the fact that she wasn’t the best friend of her best friend, protagonist Claire – while Amberley was able to open up the most to Claire and tell her all of her deepest and darkest secrets and desires, Claire didn’t always return that honesty because she considered Amberley a friend, not her best friend. I just wanted to give her a big hug and be her friend.

 

5. James and Lily Potter from the Harry Potter series

HOW CAN YOU NOT WANT MORE OF THEM?! *ahem* I’ll calm down, I promise. I love Harry’s parents and their relationship and the Marauders and everything else happening when they were young, and we just have so little from J.K. Rowling about them! I constantly talk about them/reblog things about them on my Tumblr and love reading (good) fanfiction about them because it gives me so much more insight, even if it’s not from the author herself. I just want to know so much more about them! Not Snape, though – his relationship with Lily was interesting in a twisted way, but never, ever a romantic way.

6. Meghan from the Ruby Oliver quartet

Really, I just want more from Ruby Oliver in general, but I’d definitely like to hear more about Meghan. She starts the series off by seeming like a fairly shallow, pretty girl who only cares about boys, but as Ruby and we, as readers, learn, there’s a lot more to her than that. I’d love to see what she’s like outside of her relationship with Ruby as well, though, so it’d be really cool to get a short story about her life.

 

7. Gina from the Mediator series

I CAN”T WAIT FOR THE NEW MEDIATOR BOOK! And while I can’t wait to see all the beloved characters in it, especially Suze and Jesse, I’m also interested to see if Gina will pop up in it at all. She was Suze’s best friend back in New York City and she even shows up in the third book when she comes to stay with Suze’s family during her spring break, and she was definitely a character. She seemed like a much better match than Suze’s new female friend, Cece, who I just didn’t care for as much. It’d be really cool if Suze and Gina can catch up again in the new book – but if not, then I want a spinoff story that focuses on their friendship pre-move, from the point of view of either of them!

8. Felicity from the Gemma Doyle trilogy

Felicity in the Gemma Doyle trilogy was a really interesting character who got fleshed out as the books went on. She started out as Victorian-age mean girl and soon became one of Gemma’s closest friends. She had a frightening family situation and a friendship with another girl that went much deeper than friendship much of the time. At the end of the trilogy, I think she went off to America, but whatever she did, I want to follow her and see how she’s coping after all the stuff that happens in the trilogy.

 

9. Thalia Grace from the Percy Jackson/Heroes of Olympus series

The Heroes of Olympus series gave me a chance to catch up with a lot of characters I liked from the Percy Jackson series, but Thalia Grace, Zeus’s daughter who had a chance to really shine in the third Percy Jackson book, doesn’t have a big role. She does appear, and I haven’t read the last two books so I don’t know if she has a bigger part in those, but so far she hasn’t shown up nearly as much as I would have liked in the new series.

10. Angela from the Unearthly trilogy

One of the things I really liked about Unearthly was the friendship between Clara and Angela, and as the series continued, my appreciation of her character only increased. The uneven final book in the trilogy had a big focus on Angela’s drama, and after all of that, I would love to see how Angela is doing and see her get her life on track on heartbreak and difficulties.

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Characters You Wish Would Get Their OWN Book

    1. Yes, I desperately need that! I don’t want to hear about Dolores Umbridge – I want Marauders era stuff! Who were Lily’s friends? What was their first date like? How did he (or she?) propose? I need to know these things!

    1. Yeah, I don’t think I ever thought it was romantic, but then I started seeing a lot of stuff about it on Tumblr and realized just how messed up it all is. Not romantic in the slightest – not healthy at all, but the end. Interesting and complex, but not healthy and romantic, that’s for sure.

Leave a Reply

