Retrospectively Reading (9)

RetrospectivelyReading

I’m so sorry that I didn’t do a Retrospectively Reading post last week! I was totally planning on it, but Saturday passed and I wasn’t motivated to do it… and then Sunday was speeding by and I still didn’t feel like it, so I decided to listen to that voice in my head and just not do it. I can’t promise that this won’t happen in the future either – you see, I’m trying a lot harder to listen to that voice that either says “ugh, I don’t feel like writing posts today” or “yes, be super productive and WRITE ALL THE POSTS!” because it makes me a lot happier and keeps blogging from feeling like a chore. So, I’ll try to post these every week unless I’ve already warned you ahead of time that I’m traveling or otherwise too busy, but no promises. Besides, I feel like these posts, at least the first few categories, are a lot more for me than you – sorry about that!

The Books I’m Currently Enjoying

Secrets5 Size12IsNotFat IslaandtheHappyEverAfter

Since this post will take a while to write (lots of books and links to catch up on), I was too lazy to take a picture of the books I’m currently reading; I’ll try to do that again next week. Anyway, lots of great books that I’m reading right now!

I’ve been rereading the Secrets of My Hollywood Life series this past couple of weeks, and I’m glad to see that the series is just as fun as I remembered – I’m already on the fifth book and it’s my favorite thing I’ve been reading lately; I’m not too far into Size 12 is Not Fat, which is an adult mystery and the first book in the Heather Mills series, but it’s been fun, Meg Cabot goodness so far!; Isla and the Happily Ever After is the book least holding me right now, but I think that’s mostly because I’m not a fan of how obsessed Isla seems to be with Josh, and I’m hoping that she’ll mellow out a tad once they start going out.

The Best of the Best This Week…

Illusive DeadlyLittleSins Secrets1 Secrets2 Secrets3 Secrets4 Alice14

This is more books than it looks like because the last book is a bind-up of three Alice books; I don’t know if I read all three of them since my last Retro Reading, but whatever. It’s probably my least favorite of these books – I gave it a solid, but not overwhelming 3.5 stars, as I have for pretty much all the Alice books I’ve read so far.

It’s all the rest of the books in this category that I loved, though. Deadly Little Sins and my rereads of Secrets all got 4 stars, but I enjoyed them all so much that I don’t even care about some of the small, tiny problems that kept them from getting higher ratings. These books can definitely kept my spirits up lately!

…and the Unfortunate Rest

DairyQueen OfScarsAndStardust

Unfortunately, these books didn’t work as well for me. I just couldn’t get into Dairy Queen and wrote a full review for why I DNFed and had so much trouble doing that. Of Scars and Stardust wasn’t as difficult – I simply wasn’t that interested in it and couldn’t tell if it was a mystery, contemporary, or magical realism story, and wasn’t connected with the main character at all, so I decided to set it aside after the first four or five chapters.

The Books on the Reading Shelf

Size14IsNotFatEither BigBoned Size12AndReadytoRock

This picture isn’t totally accurate because I took it last week when I still thought I would have a post finished in time. Since I took it, I’ve finished Paparazzi Princess and am now reading Broadway Lights and Size 12 is Not Fat and  got the three books you see above, but it’s otherwise the same. I’m slowly working my way through it, so I’m feeling pretty good about my progress.

The New Books I’m Anticipating

Just Released

NotInTheScript BloodofOlympus ExquisiteCaptive TellMeAgainHowaCrushShouldFeel OfScarsAndStardust StitchingSnow TrustMeImLying DamselDistressed OhYeahAudrey MortalGods FamousInLove

Um, yeah, a lot of books came out since I last did this feature. As you saw, I already read Of Scars and Stardust, but all these other books are just waiting for me to read them! I’ve heard some not-so-great things about Exquisite Captive and Famous in Love and mixed things about Stitching Snow, but I’m going to give them all a chance regardless!

Just Added

AThousandPiecesOfYou OneManGuy QueenofBabble Deceptive SimonvsTheHomoSapiensAgenda TheYearoftheRat Forbidden GirlDefective 99Days AltheaAndOliver GloryOBriensHistoryoftheFuture ItsNotAbouttheAccent WordsAndTheirMeanings YaquiDelgadoWantstoKickYourAss TheBrideWoreSize12

I’ve also added a lot of books to my to-read shelf. I’m trying to expand my reading world with some books I probably wouldn’t read, like ones that have little to no reviews from my friends and people I follow on Goodreads.

The New Covers and News of the Book World

ConspiracyofBloodandSmoke CrimsonBound NoneoftheAbove MadeYouUp

Some of the books I added above are probably new covers as well, but these are the new covers of books I already had on my to-read shelf. I don’t think I like Conspiracy of Blood and Smoke as much as I liked the Prisoner of Night and Fog one, but I like the fact that it matches. Crimson Bound has another cool staircase thing going on like Cruel Beauty, which I like. None of the Above isn’t too striking, but it’s about an intersex girl, which is a subject I really want to learn more about, so I don’t care. Made You Up is probably my favorite of these four covers – the illustrated-esque look is cool and I love the blue colors.

A Picture, Rather than 1,000 Words

I already have a picture of my newest bookshelf in my discussion post about organizing bookshelves that I posted this past week, but I wanted to showcase the top shelf more because I felt like showing off. These are my favorite standalone books, along with some of the prettiest wine bottles I’ve claimed after my parents emptied them, because why not decorate using containers formerly full of alcohol?

In the Spotlight: the Posts that Got Me Thinking this Week

“If We Were Having Coffee” @ The Perpetual Page-Turner: I’m not quite sure why, but I just felt like I related to so much in this post by Jamie, even though I wasn’t really going through the same things. Just the ability to open up about things that weren’t going well in her life was enough to me to feel like she really was talking to me.

“Books, Blogging, and Back in the Day” @ So Obsessed With: It’s always interesting to see what people were like pre-blogging. I’d definitely like to do one of these posts myself because there are definitely some things that have changed about me, while there are some things that really don’t seem that different, even if they are.

“Structured Reading and Blogging Processes” @ Respiring Thoughts: I don’t have such a structured reading process, but Renae’s is one that I could aspire to; I often wait too long to write reviews, which is something I’m trying to remedy, so it’s nice to read about the process of someone who is smart enough to do that everytime.

“Recommending Books: It’s for You, Not Me” @ The Novel Hermit: The book blogging community is full of recommendations and book pushing – so it’s weird that I feel like I rarely recommend or get recommendations. Sure, all my reviews and other posts are like their own versions of recommending and I go on the Goodreads recommendations page sometimes, but I don’t specifically recommend a lot, and I almost never do it in my real life, which is kind of weird. So, I can definitely relate to Cee’s trouble with recommending.

“8 Reasons I Struggle to Put Down a Book” @ The Perpetual Page-Turner: I definitely DNF books, but I always feel a lot of guilt about it, and I even wrote about it once, so I definitely related to all the struggles Jamie goes through with the same problem.

“One Year of Book Club!” @ Snuggly Oranges: Ooh, I want to be in a book club so much but I just feel like I don’t  know enough huge-book-lovers in my life. I have a lot of friends who like to read, but they don’t read as much as I do. This post really makes me want to try anyway, so maybe I’ll start working on that when I’m back at school in January and closer to people who might be able to be in a book club.

“A Personal Response to A Shocking THING That Happened” @ The Perpetual Page-Turner: You’ve probably already heard about the Kathleen Hale-stalking scandal, and if you haven’t, there are some links in this post to check out; but this post is mostly about Jamie’s personal response, particularly as a reviewer who is older (late 20s) and has been part of the blogging community for multiple years. This post definitely makes me think about how it affects me – it makes me glad that I don’t enter many giveaways or have any, so my personal address is only known by like one blogger and I don’t even mention the state on my blog, but it makes me kind of regret switching to my real name from “Lia,” even if I don’t use my last name (it’s not like Genevieve is a really common name).

“In Theory I Like Re-Reading” @ The Perpetual Page-Turner: Why yes, I have a lot of posts from Jamie this time – she just has so much that she writes about that I feel a personal connection with! Anyway, with this post, it reminds me of why I love to reread and feel like I sometimes do it more than the average blogger. Sure, I worry about not loving a book as much as I once did and have lots of “new” books I want to read, but rereading can really, really help me, whether I’m in a reading slump or a personal one (that’s what I’m doing with the Secrets series right now!)

“The Keys to My Heart: Father-Daughter Relationships” @ Snuggly Oranges: I think I’m definitely closer to my mom, but I still love my dad despite the ways we don’t always get along and things we disagree about (like the fact that I read mostly YA and not classics), and I totally agree with Debby that it’s amazing reading great relationships between fathers and daughters as well as the more common mother-daughter relationships.

Leave a Reply

