Discussion: Blogging When Dealing With Real Life

Discussion

Anyone who blogs knows that blogging is not just a hobby – it takes time and dedication. You have to want to work at it, even if it’s still something that’s fun for you, like blogging typically is for me. I don’t try to make any money off of it, and at this point I still don’t ever try to get ARCs (but if there’s a book I want desperately enough, maybe that’ll change, who really knows?), and it is definitely a hobby for me, albeit a time- and energy-consuming one.

So, what exactly do you do when you have problems happening in your real life and you still have your blog to think about?

As you probably all know by now, I disappeared last month with a vague “I haven’t been feeling well and need to take an impromptu hiatus” post. If you read September’s Monthly Rewind (aka my first post since the impromptu hiatus), you have a better idea of why I disappeared. Basically, to sum things up, I’ve been having lots of trouble with anxiety lately and it’s bled into my everyday life, which included blogging.

So, what do you do when your real life is getting in the way of blogging?

I’m not talking about blogging burnout, when you just need a little time away to recharge (although it was nice and made me feel more productive and motivated when I started writing posts again). I’m talking about when you really would like to post, and you feel guilty for not doing it, but something is happening in your life that just has to take precedence. Maybe you’re sick like I was (and still am, although definitely better), maybe there was a death, maybe you simply are too busy with the many things going on in your life. You’d like to blog, you swear, but you just can’t.

What do you do then?

I think the best solution can be different for everyone. For me, taking that nearly-month-long break was really helpful. I had a week or two to focus on simply making it through the day without literally freaking out, and then when I was able to write blog posts again, I was able to start building up a stockpile so that I wouldn’t end up stressed over my blog a week or so later. Having a specific date I was going to come back (October 1st) and not coming back even though I thought I was ready early has worked wonders for me.

This is a really short post (at least for me) because this is a discussion that I want to have with all of you, whoever might be reading. I want to know how you all deal with stuff like this, where you just can’t blog even if you want to and you have to take care of yourself before you think about your readers. I want to hear from you – because you all are definitely one of the reasons I felt guilty for disappearing without any notice (that’s a good thing! I swear! It means I feel needed!) and was so anxious to come back with plenty of great content and books!

So, let me know what you think! I guess that’s no different from normal discussion posts, but I’m putting the pressure on you all a bit more than normal – sorry! 😀

8 thoughts on “Discussion: Blogging When Dealing With Real Life

  1. I agree. I think it’s important to take breaks when you feel the need. The worst thing you can do is force yourself to post and blog. Then all of your posts will come across forced and fake.

    1. That’s definitely true, and I think I’m getting a little better at that. When I first came back, I did a ton of posts all at once and was feeling really energetic and productive – so, when I didn’t feel like writing too many posts all of last week, I didn’t force myself, and now I’ve been SUPER productive today as well! So I definitely need to remember that taking breaks is okay, especially when I’m already ahead – but even if I have to have a day without any new posts, that’s okay, too.

  2. I’m actually dealing with this literally right now. I haven’t decided yet what I want to do – I took a month off in April since I was dealing with my comprehensive exams and graduate recital…and it just feels like it’s too soon to take another long break like that already. So far I’ve been hanging in limbo, just posting occasionally (and trying not to feel too guilt riddled by not doing more!)…but I might take a page out of your book and take at least a few weeks off until I’m doing better again. This is really a perfectly timed post for me to find!

    Hmm..the site won’t let me post with my deets, so we’ll see if this posts using my work wordpress name lol. I’m Elizabeth @ so long and thanks for all the fish, just you know!

    1. That’s so great to hear! You should definitely do what feels best for you – right now, taking brief or longer breaks when I need to is really helping me and I always come back super-productive, like when I took a break for the past week or so because I was ahead enough and now finished up a bunch of posts today and am finally getting around to answering comments! If you think that taking a break is what’s best for you, then that’s DEFINITELY what you should do – good luck either way!
      And I’ll be sure to look for your site when I’m free, so don’t worry!

  3. My blog is a fun hobby that I’m really involved in, but it’s definitely not the most important thing in my life-my family is. So when things get hectic around here (like at the beginning of the school year, school breaks etc), I step back from blogging. Actually, I think taking an occasional break from blogging is a really good thing, for several reasons (I’ll be blogging more about this in a few weeks 🙂 ).

    And I absolutely refuse to feel guilty about anything to do with blogging-if I have a busy week and can’t post as much/need to take a break, then I do it. No big deal. I love blogging but it’s not a job and I don’t get paid for it. I do it because it’s fun, and if there comes a point where it becomes stressful or I start feeling guilty about what I’m doing/not doing, then it’s time for me to step back and reevaluate.

    1. Yeah, as I’ve started taking short breaks behind the scenes, I’m really starting to see how beneficial it can be and how much more productive I feel when I do come back. And I’m definitely working on blogging guilt, but it’s a bit of a process. When I didn’t write a Retrospectively Reading post for this past Sunday, I did feel a bit guilty, even though I feel like those posts can be more for me than anyone else; I need to remember not to force myself so that my posts and blogs are better for it. Like you said, this is my hobby that I don’t get paid for and that I do because it’s fun, so I should never over-stress myself or feel guilty about it!

Leave a Reply

