Catching Up on Top Ten Tuesday

TopTenTuesday

Since I went on an unexpected hiatus last month, I missed some of the Top Ten Tuesday topics. Normally I wouldn’t really care, but I already had the graphics made for one of them and I wanted to do the Fall TBR because it’s easy and fun to see how many I can actually read, so here are two late September TTTs! The first is ten authors I’ve read only once and just HAVE to read more from!

ReadOnceNeedMore10 ReadOnceNeedMore8

1. Ruta Sepetys

Sepetys already has a book out other than the one I read (Out of the Easy), but I’m scared to read it! It’s Between Shades of Gray, which is about WWII and concentration camps and other difficult subjects. I don’t know if I’ll be able to read it, although I think I will eventually make the attempt, but either way I want to read more from this great historical author, which tends to be a tricky genre for me for some reason.

2. Nancy Werlin

Werlin wrote one of my favorite books ever, Impossible, and even wrote an unexpected sequel, but I don’t think I can bear reading it – I loved Impossible as a standalone and don’t really want to see things get messed up for the protagonists, so I’m avoiding it. That being said, I’d still like to see other stuff from Werlin – just preferably a different story that doesn’t involve putting Lucy and Zach through more heartache and such!

ReadOnceNeedMore9 ReadOnceNeedMore7

3. Rachael Allen

I hadn’t heard about Allen’s 17 First Kisses at all until I read a review, but that one review (from A Reader of Fictions) made me want to read it right away – and luckily it ended up being just as good as I had hoped. I ended up buying it even though I didn’t know if I’d like it, but I’m glad because I know I’ll want to reread it while I wait for more from this debut author!

4. Paula Stokes

I know that Stokes has apparently written other books under a penname (or is Stokes the penname? I was never really sure), but I want more books from Stokes – meaning, more books like The Art of Lainey. It was a great contemporary with a main character who didn’t seem like someone I would like but ended up being amazing in my mind, despite our differences.

ReadOnceNeedMore2 ReadOnceNeedMore6

5. Agatha Christie

Her And Then There Were None was the first adult mystery I’d ever read, but when I enjoy watching procedurals on TV so much, I shouldn’t be surprised that a written mystery is as entertaining. Christie has a LOT of books, so I don’t know if I’ll read everything she ever wrote, but I’ll definitely check out some of her more popular titles.

6. Nina LaCour

This is a bit ironic because I had LaCour’s second book in my possession from the library for a while and decided I didn’t want to read it – then I read her latest, Everything Leads to You, and gave it a rare 5 stars and knew that I had to give her earlier works another chance. For now I’m going to try her first book, not her second, but if I like the first as well, then I’m just going to have to make the difficult sacrifice of reading ALL three of her currently published books. *sigh* Being a reader is just so gosh darn difficult, isn’t it?

ReadOnceNeedMore4 ReadOnceNeedMore1

7. Abigail Haas

It feels like there aren’t that many murder mysteries in YA, which is a shame if they could all be as twisty and WTF-y as Haas’s Dangerous Girls. I didn’t know what to think at all when I was done reading it and wanted to talk about it with anyone, but I don’t know anyone who’s read it in real life! I might become a book pusher of my friends just so that I can talk about it with someone! I’ve heard that her latest is just as twisty and such, so I’ll have to add it to my to-read shelf.

8. Stephen Chbosky

This is an author that I’d both love and am a bit afraid of reading more from. If you don’t recognize his name, you probably know his most popular work: The Perks of Being a Wallflower. I read it earlier this year and was blown away by it, giving it a rare 5 stars (well, rare for me – I tend to give 4.5 stars as my highest review even if I really, really liked a book). So, it seems like I should run out and read everything that he’s ever written, right? But I’m scared as well because what if I don’t like anything else he writes as much? What if he’s a one hit wonder for me and I’m not able to look at Perks in the same way? I know it’s silly, but these are the things that worry me!

ReadOnceNeedMore3 ReadOnceNeedMore5

9. Ava Dellaira

I read Dellaira’s debut, Love Letters to the Dead this summer and was really impressed by it. I never felt a big connection with the characters, but the letters themselves and the language overall really wowed me and I knew that I had to read more words from this author, even if I couldn’t always connect with the characters (although hopefully she’ll manage to do that as well with her next book!)

10. Jenny Han

This author shows how late this post is – even if I had posted it on the correct date, I had already read my second book from Han, but I had already made the graphic, so I’m too lazy to look for another author. And, again to show how early I’m trying to get these done, I have the next two books in her Summer I Turned Pretty trilogy on hold and will probably read them before this post goes up, so I’ll just say that it’s interesting to see how this author has grown by reading her latest book first and then going back to her earlier work.

And now we’ll look at my Fall TBR list! I read nine of the ten books from my Summer TBR list, which is quite great – can I do even better this time? Meaning all of these books?

MurderOnTheOrientExpress Gilt DeadlyLittleSins HollowCity RavenBoys IslaandtheHappyEverAfter FallingIntoPlace HusbandsSecret Alice17 ItsNotSummerWithoutYou

1. Murder on the Orient Express (Agatha Christie)

After the success of my first Agatha Christie mystery, I’m definitely interested to see how another one of her books turns out – especially since I think I remember who did it after seeing a TV version of it. Will that take away some of my enjoyment or will I have fun seeing how the clues all add up to who I know is the murderer?

2. Gilt (Katherine Longshore)

Tudor-era drama! How could I not be interested in this book that has been getting a lot of good press in the past few months thanks to the release of the latest book sometime this past summer? I can’t remember which one this is about – it might be the friend of one of Henry VII’s wives? Either way, I think that cover works perfectly for the title, no?

3. Deadly Little Sins (Kara Taylor)

I already have this book on hand and just need to get to it (and might have by the time this post goes up – I’m writing it a little more than a week in advance). I’m really excited for this final book in the Prep Confidential trilogy that already got a great review from Ashleigh at The YA Kitten. I want to see how everything gets wrapped up and what scary things happen in the finale.

4. Hollow City (Ransom Riggs)

I had this book on hand earlier but just wasn’t feeling it (plus it was due back), but now that it’s October, I think I should check it out again and actually read it this time because this sequel sounds like the perfect thing to read at Halloween, don’t you think?

5. The Raven Boys (Maggie Stiefvater)

I didn’t plan on reading any Maggie Stiefvater books because I had heard less-than-enthusiastic things about her werewolf series, but I have heard quite good things about this series and one of her standalones. After reading a Tumblr post that “corrected” the summary, found via a tweet from Meg at Cuddlebuggery (who seems a wee bit obsessed with this series – a feeling I hope to replicate, obviously – it’s great finding new series to obsess over!), I decided to take the plunge and try this book. I also have this checked out right now but it’s a few books down the pile right now.

6. Isla and the Happily Ever After (Stephanie Perkins)

I have been waiting for this book for so freaking long – I don’t think I really need to give a long explanation, do I?

7. Falling into Place (Amy Zhang)

I’m a little scared for this debut after seeing so many mixed reviews – it seems I’ll either love it or hate it so much that I DNF – but it does sound like an interesting book and has a cute cover, so I might as well try it for myself, right?

8. The Husband’s Secret (Liane Moriarty)

Another adult book? *gasp* Or, I should say – another adult fiction book? *double gasp* But this book does sound interesting and I need to try finding more adult books to read.

9. Now I’ll Tell You Everything (Phyllis Reynolds Naylor)

This is the final book in the 25-book-long Alice series, which I will hopefully finish this month. For me, getting to (and through) the 25th and final book will feel like a major accomplishment.

10. It’s Not Summer Without You (Jenny Han)

This is another book I already have and might have gotten to by the time this post goes up. I read the first book recently, and even though it didn’t really blow me away, I did enjoy it and am interested in reading the last two books in the trilogy.

Leave a Reply

