New Reads (September and October 2014)

NewReads

MaryTheSummoning FallingIntoPlace

MARY: The Summoning by Hillary Monahan (September 2, 2014)

I think this is the type of book that I could only read around Halloween – otherwise I could never justify reading such a terrifying-looking and -sounding book. I mean, it’s about Bloody Mary, and has that cover – it does not look like a fun and fluffy book, unless the marketing team and cover designers for this book are terrible at their job.

Falling into Place by Amy Zhang (September 9, 2014)

I started hearing buzz about this book back around BEA because that was when the ARC came out, I guess – I haven’t heard as much about it since then, but I do remember that it’s supposed to be about a popular, seemingly happy girl who dies in a car crash that might have been a suicide. And obviously there’s something to do with math, if the cover is anything to go by.

LiesWeTellOurselves ExquisiteCaptive

Lies We Tell Ourselves by Robin Talley (September 30, 2014)

This is another BEA-buzz book, but I had heard about it before that: it’s a book set in the 1950s (or around there) and involves a recently desegregated school, so there’s a lot to do with race relations. There might also be a lesbian relationship? Or am I making that up? I can’t remember for sure.

Exquisite Captive by Heather Demetrios (October 7, 2014)

I was excited for this book because it’s from the debut author of Something Real and involves genies, but I’ve been hearing some not-so-good reviews in the past couple of months and now I’m scared. I think I’ll probably read it anyway to see what I think, but my expectations are definitely lowered.

TellMeAgainHowaCrushShouldFeel BloodofOlympus

Tell Me Again How a Crush Should Feel by Sara Farizan (October 7, 2014)

All I remember about this book is that it’s about a lesbian (or bisexual, that’s always possible!) relationship, and I definitely need to read more LGBTQ books, so that makes it a book that I’m instantly interested in. I think the main character may also be a POC, so even more diversity!

The Blood of Olympus by Rick Riordan (October 7, 2014)

Even though I still need to read the fourth book in the Heroes of Olympus series, I’m very excited for the final book already. These books are all quite long, but I do love all the characters and mythology and such, so that definitely helps.

NotInTheScript OfScarsAndStardust

Not in the Script by Amy Finnegan (October 7, 2014)

Another book about Hollywood! This is part of a contemporary series (kind of) by all different authors that includes the book Wish You Were Italian, which I need to finish and might even have done so by the time this post goes up! Other than involving Hollywood, though, I have no idea what else this fluffy-sounding book is about, so we’ll have to wait and see.

Of Scars and Stardust by Andrea Hannah (October 8, 2014)

I remember even less about this (I know, I know, I should look these things up before I write up these posts, but I want to be lazy, gosh darn it!), but I’m guessing it involves sisters or best friends and something slightly sinister. I like the cover, which definitely counts for something in my book!

DamselDistressed StitchingSnow

Damsel Distressed by Kelsey Macke (October 14, 2014)

I’m guessing this book involves fairy tales or something like a fairy tale with a twist on the whole damsel in distress bit, which is something I would definitely want to read. Plus the cover is adorable.

Stitching Snow by R.C. Lewis (October 14, 2014)

This book is obviously a fairy tale story involving Snow White, but I don’t know much else. I’ve seen some people getting ARCs of this, but I still haven’t heard a lot of early opinions, so we’ll have to wait and see.

TrustMeImLying OhYeahAudrey

Trust Me, I’m Lying by Mary Elizabeth Summer (October 14, 2014)

This book got a new cover that just has different coloring and fonts, but I think I like this version a little more. The title alone is intriguing, and if I remember correctly, it involves a girl from a crime family or a girl who commits some sort of crime or something kind of similar to Heist Society, so that could be a lot of fun!

Oh Yeah, Audrey! by Tucker Shaw (October 14, 2014)

I actually read a book from this author years ago, probably when I was back in middle school, so I don’t know if this’ll be an author I like or not, but it’s about a girl who has a Tumblr about Audrey Hepburn, so I think that could be a really interesting story. And that cover is really eye-catching, isn’t it?

MortalGods FamousInLove

Mortal Gods by Kendare Blake (October 14, 2014)

The sequel to Antigoddess! I feel like I don’t need to say much more than that. I don’t quite remember what happened in Antigoddess, so hopefully I’ll be able to reread that and then read this. Either way, yay mythology!

Famous in Love by Rebecca Serle (October 21, 2014)

I’ve heard some mixed things about the other books from this author, but it’s another Hollywood one, this time about a girl involved in a love triangle in the movie she’s in and possible in real life as well, so it sounds right up my alley!

Leave a Reply

