Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I Really Want to Read But Don’t Own Yet

TopTenTuesday

For most of these books, I chose ones that are out and simply aren’t available at my local library and I’m too worried to buy in case I end up disliking them, but there are some books that simply aren’t out – because I just could not come up with enough books otherwise!

This book came out recently, but I am just itching to get my hands on it, especially after seeing some good reviews for it (well, one, but it was a fairly critical reviewer, so that counts for a lot). This is the final book in the Prep Confidential series, so I expect plenty of fun and mystery and over-the-topness (in the best way possible, of course!) – and, of course, answers.

If you’re a regular part of the blogosphere (either an active or passive role), you’ve probably heard about the last book in the Anna and the French Kiss companion trilogy in the couple of weeks that it’s been out. Many people in the blogosphere are freaking out about it, and even though I haven’t been nearly as vocal, I’m quite excited to finally read it once it comes into the library.

Even though I’m a bit worried that this surprise companion won’t be nearly as good as the rest of the ttyl trilogy, but right now I can still be super optimistic and hope that things will be just as great when I get to revisit Angela, Maddie, and Zoe during their college adventures.

This was a debut that I’ve heard some mixed buzz about, but it’s about Hollywood and acting and all of those great things that I always love reading about for some unknown reasons, so how could I not what to read this? Unfortunately, it’s not at my library yet and the 3-3.5 stars ratings have me leery of buying it without reading it first.

I have the first six books and love them, but I just can’t find any of the newer books in the Skulduggery Pleasant online. I’d actually buy them since I love the whole series, but all of the copies I’ve found so far are really expensive since they all seem to come directly from the UK because apparently American publishers hate me.

I really want to read the deep-and-painful-looking books from Amy Reed, especially since I’ve seen Renae from Respiring Thoughts call Reed a favorite author many times, but there’s only one of her books at my library (Crazy, about bipolar disorder, which I will get around to eventually!), so I can’t even start off with her earlier books or continue with the rest of her work if I end up loving Crazy, which makes me hesitant to try it.

Another foreign author (I think? right?) whose early books in this series are available but not the most recent ones (at least, not that I’ve been able to find). I want to reread the first books to see if I even like the series anymore since it’s been a while since I read them, but the library might have pulled the earlier books as well, which would be horrible!

Yes, this is a book about insect – but I’m really interested to see how a YA book would handle that! That being said, I don’t think I’d ever want to reread because hello, heavy material and quite possibly an uncomfortable relationship (well, almost guaranteed to be), so I don’t want to go out and buy it, but my library also doesn’t have it, so I’m so conflicted!

And now we start the books that’ll come out in the future and will hopefully be in my hands as soon as they do, but we’ll have to wait and see. Anyway, this is the sequel to last year’s Antigoddess which is about Greek gods and from the author of the terrifying Anna Dressed in Blood, so do you really have to ask why I’m highly anticipating this book, coming out next month (or the next one? somewhere around there)?

This book was originally slated for this year, but it got pushed back (although I’m not sure why – I never really looked into it) and now I’m really sad – I want to find out what happens after the very long but always entertaining and interesting The Diviners, from the great author behind Gemma Doyle and Beauty Queens!

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I Really Want to Read But Don’t Own Yet

  1. I laughed a bit when I first saw the book titles for yolo for ttyl (and also shaking my head at just the thought of that being a title–not so much judging the content of the novel though). They definitely sound like interesting reads that [can] spark realistic debate per this crazy Internet-ish world we now reside in! Forbidden is one I’ve had my eye out for as well; dark contemporaries do sound like fun reads with potential for great discussions to be had out of them.

    Cheers,
    joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts

    1. Yeah, I wasn’t a fan of the term YOLO, especially when most of my friends were using it daily, but I hope the book is much more than the title! For me, it wasn’t about our generation’s obsession with the internet and technology but the friendship, but it could certainly be seen from other ways.

      I definitely love reading heavier books for the discussions they can spark, but unfortunately so few people in my real life read the same ones for me to talk about them with. I have to get all my discussion online, I suppose…

Leave a Reply

