Retrospectively Reading (7)

RetrospectivelyReading

Before we get to the regularly programed information (which is already almost 24 hours late, so things are already not-normal), a little explanation for where I’ve been for the last almost two weeks: relaxing and running around getting ready for school and generally not reading. I know, I know, it’s shocking, but I really haven’t done that much reading lately. The fact that I have more than one book to talk about in this post is shocking me – I just haven’t been reading much. The main reason I’ve finished more one book is because I’ve been spending a lot of hours in the car while my family took my sister off to out-of-state college, which is also why I didn’t have this post up sooner and haven’t taken any pictures. I’m back home right now, but I haven’t been for the past few days.

So, even though school is starting tomorrow and I’m sure to be busy, I really do think that I’ll pretty much be back to normal in terms of blogging!

The Books I’m Currently Enjoying

CuckoosCalling BreatheAnnieBreathe Alice6

I’m still reading The Cuckoo’s Calling (it’s an adult book and it’s big!), but Breathe, Annie, Breathe and Alice In-Between are both new and blue! I’m liking everything so far, so at least I don’t have to worry about falling into another minor slump due to boredom.

The Best of the Best This Week…

RuinAndRising 17FirstKisses PrisonerofNightandFog

Books! I read books! And even though Ruin and Rising was uneven, I enjoyed them all for the most part! I just finished Prisoner of Night and Fog before I started writing up this post; I didn’t love it as much as some people in the blogosphere, but it was really interesting and I will definitely be sticking around for the sequel even though it makes me sad and isn’t always happy because, duh, it’s about pre-WWII Germany. 17 First Kisses was a lot lighter and fun, but it also dealt with some great things like slut-shaming and a girl exploring her sexuality without any shame, so it didn’t feel like mere fluff – in the best way possible!

…and the Unfortunate Rest

LetsGetLost

This was a DNF that I tried to quickly read since the ebook was about to expire, but I just couldn’t get into any of the narration and had other books I would much rather read (namely, 17 First Kisses).

The Books on the Reading Shelf

Alice7 Alice8 Alice9 HollowCity SavingFrancesca BiggestFlirts SummerITurnedPretty DairyQueen Illusive VivianDivineIsDead

This looks like a lot without one single picture, but all of these physical books actually wouldn’t be that big if they were in their regular stack, so I’m happy!

The New Books I’m Anticipating

Just Released

BlindSpotForBoys IslaandtheHappyEverAfter

One book I haven’t really heard anything about and one that I’ve heard a lot about – can you guess which is which?

Just Added

I don’t think I’ve added anything, but it has been a while, so who knows for sure? Well, I guess Goodreads does, but I’m too lazy to check right now.

The New Covers and News of the Book World

Razorhurst

I already showed the Australian cover for Justine Larbalestier’s latest a few months ago on one of my All the Books posts, but now an American cover has been released. I don’t know how I feel about it – I don’t hate it and kind of even like it, but I don’t know if I care enough to really have any emotions.

A Picture, Rather than 1,000 Words

I don’t have any time to take any pictures, sorry!

In the Spotlight: the Posts that Got Me Thinking this Week

These are all posts that are at least a week and a half old and I don’t have time to look up more recent posts – maybe I’ll have extra next week?

“Breaking Up With Features” @ Oh, the Books!

“The Best Medicine When I’m Feeling Down…” @ The Perpetual Page-Turner

“I Cannot Be Concise In My Reviews! TOO MANY FEELS.” @ Snuggly Oranges

“Solitary Reading vs. Community Reading” @ Respiring Thoughts

“Breaking Up With DNF (or Trying To)” @ The Novel Hermit

Leave a Reply

