Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I’m Not Sure I Want to Read

TopTenTuesday

When you have 100+ books on your to-read shelf, it’s easy to have a few books here and there that you aren’t quite sure whether you want to read, especially after some less-than-positive reviews. This list will be a combination of books I’m seriously thinking about taking off my to-read shelf and books I’m nervous about but know I’m going to read no matter what.

NotSureWillRead3

I first heard about this book when Debby from Snuggly Oranges gushed about it sometime last year. It was a contemporary book with a catchy-enough title (although I kind of hate the term after its overuse in the past couple of years), so I figured, “why not add it?” Unfortunately, neither of the libraries I go to have it and I don’t know nearly enough about it to rush out and buy it, so the longer I go without finding a free copy, the less sure I am about whether I want to read it or not. It sounds interesting enough, but it doesn’t necessarily sound like something that I would feel as connected with as Debby was (although it’s hard to tell without reading it), so I’m just not sure if I want to keep it around or not. Only time will tell…

NotSureWillRead6

It’s so big! It’s so violent! It’s so full of sex and incest and violence (it needed mentioning twice because gore and violence is something I do not do well)! There are just so many reasons to shy away from this book, but with all the attention the series and the television show gets, I think it’s pretty much guaranteed that I’ll at least attempt it, but it might take a while (which is probably a good thing since there are still two or three books in the series that the author is still writing). When I do read it, though, I think I’ll do what Debby (again from Snuggly Oranges) did and divide the book over the course of a month and will read a set amount every day.

NotSureWillRead1

After I read and enjoyed for the most part Heather Demetrios’s debut, Something Real, I was quite interested in her second book coming out this year that involved genies (called jinni in this case). As the release date gets closer and closer, though, more reviewers are getting ARCs of it and are a bit underwhelmed, which has me worried in turn. It sounds like there’s a love triangle and an abusive (or at the very least questionable) love interest and maybe even some insta-love – so, lots of love-related problems with little focus on the other elements. So, needless to say, I’m getting to be a bit nervous about this book, but at this point I’m still willing to give it a shot.

NotSureWillRead5

This is another book that I haven’t heard too much about, but I have read one review that was less-than-positive. This book sounds interesting enough, I suppose, but the fact that I’ve heard so little about it and that it’s from the point of view of a male perspective, which I often find less interesting than female (I know, I know, diversity and such, but it’s not like male perspectives don’t dominate other genres – let me enjoy a genre where girls are more common!), so I’m really not sure whether it’ll stay on my to-read shelf or not.

NotSureWillRead2

Why are there so many books that I want to read that just aren’t available? This is a debut that I’ve heard little about (and the few reviews I have read seem to rest comfortably in the middle, so nothing to get really excited about), so combined with the fact that I can’t find it makes me less inclined to keep it on my to-read shelf forever.

NotSureWillRead4

I haven’t heard anything about this book and it hasn’t been released yet, but that’s not why I’m nervous – it’s a horror book, with a creepy cover. I was intrigued by the summary when I was first looking for 2014 debuts to check out, but I am nervous about a book that promises to be at least a little creepy.

NotSureWillRead7

When I first heard about this book and started seeing the early raving reviews, I was pretty excited for the latest book from the author of the Ruby Oliver books, but when I started seeing some more uneven reviews and remember that I wasn’t the biggest fan of E. Lockhart’s other, most popular book, The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks, I got more nervous. I got the book on ebook a couple of months ago and started reading it, but I just wasn’t that into it and it was due back soon, so I decided to try it again later, but whenever I think about it now, I just get more nervous. This book just intimidates me for some reason.

NotSureWillReadin10

I don’t plan on taking this book off my to-read shelf considering it’s been compared to the fun of shows like Reign and involves Tudor history, which I quite enjoy, but I’m always leery of historical books for some odd reason. This is a lengthy enough book, and I always worry that I’ll be bored by the historical aspects of any historical books, but I know that I’ll check it out anyway and will hopefully at least like it, if not love it.

NotSureWillRead8

If I’m leery of historical books, I’m even more frightened by historical books that take place during wars and that lots of bloggers talk about crying over. I’m pretty sure I’ll read this no matter what since there’s so much attention for in the book blogging world, but I definitely will be scared of so many things involving this book.

NotSureWillRead9

I didn’t love Just One Day as much as I loved If I Stay and Where She Went and didn’t even try Just One Year since it was from the point of view of the male love interest from the first book that I really didn’t like all that much, so I’m nervous about Gayle Forman’s latest book. However, the fact that I really did love her first two books and that the summary is interesting has me determined to give her another chance to wow me (something that I’m sure is on Forman’s bucket list – such a great achievement).

15 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I’m Not Sure I Want to Read

    1. (sorry this reply is so late – I’m wrapping things up after my impromptu mini-hiatus!)

      That’s what I’m so worried about with both of the books – a lot of the time the hype is for a good reason, but you never know which book will end up being the one that feels unworthy of the hype!

    1. (sorry this reply is so late – I’m wrapping things up after my impromptu mini-hiatus!)

      I think it’ll be much easier to skip the gory parts in the books than the TV show, but I still hope you’re right – my threshold for gore is not all that high!

    1. (sorry this reply is so late – I’m wrapping things up after my impromptu mini-hiatus!)

      I’m just so scared! It’s about World War II and so many people have talked about how much it makes them sob! Tear-inducing books are very scary to me.

    1. I do feel a bit like a unicorn in the blogging/bookish community, but then I look around at the “regular,” non-bookish people in my life and feel more normal. It’s a big book and I think it takes a lot of bookish love to read it!

  1. I read Code Name Verity not that long ago and I was seriously disappointed — I found it to be slow, tedious, and confusing at times and was therefore not emotionally invested — I kind of felt like a jerk for this book not making me cry, but it definitely didn’t. If you want to see what all the fuss is about, I’d still say to give it a try, but it wasn’t what I was expecting.

    1. (sorry this reply is so late – I’m wrapping things up after my impromptu mini-hiatus!)

      That’s so sad to hear! I tend to be a very emotional reader so I don’t know what it’s like to feel unmoved by a book since I tend to be very moved by books that really aren’t that moving, but I know there are plenty of other readers out there who feel a bit heartless when they don’t even tear up. But that’s just not true!

      I hope that your slightly underwhelmed reaction helps me go in with lower expectations so that it’s easier to be super impressed or simply happy with the book!

  2. I absolutely loved Code Name Verity. XD It was brilliant and definitely feels-shredding BE CAREFUL. Keep tissues handy. Though, to be honest, I originally DNF’d it because the beginning is insanely slow. My friend kept telling me to finish though, and I did, and now it’s 5-stars and one of the best books I’ve read. But watch out for that beginning.
    I also love We Were Liars…it’s my first E Lockhart read, though, so I can’t compare it to her other books. But still, omg, I didn’t see the ending coming. o.O
    Hehe…I’m absolutely scared of Game of Thrones too. But I’m not much of an epic fantasy buff. I DO want to know what it’s all about, buuuut…they’re so big and VIOLENT.
    Here’s my TTT!

    1. (sorry this reply is so late – I’m wrapping things up after my impromptu mini-hiatus!)

      Ooh, that’s good to know – I can have a lot of trouble with slow-moving beginnings.

      I think that’s a big problem for me – I love Ruby Oliver so much, so I just can’t help but compare anything else E. Lockhart writes to them!

      I’m not much of a fantasy fan either, which is yet another reason why Game of Thrones terrifies me so much – that and the violence, of course.

    1. (sorry this reply is so late – I’m wrapping things up after my impromptu mini-hiatus!)

      That’s great to hear! I am a big contemporary girl, so I’ll either really love it as a result or will be too busy comparing it to all the other contemporary books I love – only time will tell!

      Your reaction to Exquisite Captive was definitely one of the reasons that I’m a bit scared of it now.

Leave a Reply

