Retrospectively Reading (6)

RetrospectivelyReading

The Books I’m Currently Enjoying

Well, I'm reading two different books this week, counting my current ebook, so that's progress!

A post shared by Genevieve (@thereadingshelf) on

I’m still reading two of the same books for the third week in a row (Ruin and Rising and The Cuckoo’s Calling, both of which I haven’t read too much of in that time), but 17 First Kisses is new and I finally got Prisoner of Night and Fog from the library so I’m going to finish it as soon as possible, so I’m not too unhappy with my lack of progress elsewhere.

The Best of the Best This Week…

SinceYouveBeenGone OntheFence Alice4 Alice5

Again, this doesn’t look like a lot of progress after my amazing weeks last month, but I finished most of these books toward the end of the week (aka now), so I’m feeling quite productive! And I liked the two books that I bought without buying (the first two books), so that made me even happier!

…and the Unfortunate Rest

And no bad books!

The Books on the Reading Shelf

Alice7 LetsGetLost BloodPromise

The stack is smaller! The stack is smaller! Sure, that’s because I took back three books without reading them because I’m running out of time before I have to head back to school (D:) and probably wouldn’t get to them right away, but it’s also because I read some books from the stack and truly am making progress by only getting one new book from the library this week! So, I’m still happy!

The New Books I’m Anticipating

Just Released

DeadlyLittleSins ForgetMe

I initially thought that no books I had on my to-read shelf came out this week, but I was wrong and there were two! I’m really excited about Deadly Little Sins after being entertained by the first two books and reading a good review of this one, but I’m more nervous about the latter one since I don’t really know anything about it and haven’t read any reviews for it.

Just Added

IWasHere MurderOnTheOrientExpress

After being slightly conflicted about Just One Day (I liked it but had some problems with the romance and wasn’t nearly excited enough to read a book from the point of view of the love interest with the sequel), I didn’t want to put this on my to-read shelf until I read some reviews, but the summary is too enticing and I really do love Gayle Forman’s first two books, so I just had to! And I decided to try Agatha Christie’s second-most-popular book (according to Goodreads) after my success with And Then There Were None, so there’s another possible book for my Adult Fiction Challenge!

The New Covers and News of the Book World

KissingTedCallahanAndOtherGuys

There’s a new cover! There’s a new cover! And I’ve used a lot of exclamation points during the writing of this post! Unfortunately, I’m not sure if I like it – the illustrations are kind of cute and everything, but it doesn’t match the other two covers of Amy Spalding’s books, which makes for a grumpy me.

As for some bookish news, I discovered that some people are trying to crowd-source a Frostbite movie, since the people behind Vampire Academy are obviously a little reluctant to finance that on their own. I don’t know if I would be interested in seeing it (except for more snarking, since I had so much fun with the first movie), but I think it’s pretty cool that people are trying to support the books that they love. If you’re interested in it, you can find the page here.

A Picture, Rather than 1,000 Words

This is one of my pictures from this month’s #30DaysofBookstagrams – I don’t know if it’s the patterns (that was the challenge for the day) or the fact that there are just so many books since I had these books situated on my bookshelf, but I just like it.

In the Spotlight: the Posts that Got Me Thinking this Week

“Is This The Real Life? Or Is This Just Fantasy?” @ A Reader of FictionsI tend to shy away from dystopians in general, but this post definitely sums up one of the reasons I dislike them in the first place: they so often don’t feel realistic enough for me to believe in them – they should either be fantasies or the worldbuilding needs to be a lot better

“No, I Don’t HAVE to Go See That YA Movie Adaptation” @ Snuggly Oranges – this is my feeling on the topic exactly – we shouldn’t have to support ALL YA adaptations in order to be a good fan, just like we shouldn’t have to go to all movies with female protagonists if we’re good feminists (still mad about that), and we should only support the kinds of movies that we want to see more of in the future

“Sincerely, Cee | A Letter From Yours Truly to A Darker Shade of Magic” @ The Novel HermitI was already interested in this new book from Victoria Schwab, but after reading this post, I’m really excited for it – February 2015 can’t come soon enough!

“Do You Comment on Older Posts?” @ The Daily Prophecysince I’m so often behind on reading posts, it’s either commenting late or not commenting at all, so I was definitely interested in this post about the topic

“Your Ideas from the LitRate Twitter Chat” @ Nose Graze – Ashley of Nosegraze is working on creating a Goodreads-esque site that’s supposed to be better (mainly because Ashley is a blogger and thus knows some of the things that we bloggers – and people in general – would like from Goodreads), and in this post she mentioned some of the things she hopes to have as well as the sad reality if she isn’t able to earn the money she needs to start it up; so, if you’re in a better spot financially than I am, you should definitely support her!

“How to Manage A Blog (& Reading) Schedule” @ Snuggle Orangesit’s always great hearing how people organize their blog, so I was really interested to see how Debby does it – complete with a couple pictures, because pictures are always great!

“I’m an Adult, But Not Like a Real Adult” @ As Told by Rachel – adulthood sounds scary and I don’t think I’ll ever be able to consider myself an adult no matter how much my parents insist on saying that a certain birthday makes me an adult, but it was great hearing from someone else who seems to be just as scared of adulthood but has a much better attitude about it than I do

2 thoughts on “Retrospectively Reading (6)

  1. I hope you enjoy Ruin and Rising! I find it always takes me longer to finish fantasy YA books, and that one took me about a week, since I was really trying to soak everything in since it’s the last one in the series.

    1. (sorry I’m replying so late – I’m just wrapping things up from my impromptu mini-hiatus!)

      I actually did enjoy Ruin and Rising more than I expected, but I found that I was speeding through the end just to see what would happen next! It was the beginning that was a bit slow for me, but things got better for me.

Leave a Reply

