Retrospectively Reading (5)

RetrospectivelyReading

The Books I’m Currently Enjoying

I’m not going to post a picture this week because it’s just the same books as last week, with a different ebook (All But Alice instead of Hexed). It wasn’t the best reading week when it came to all of the big books I was reading.

The Best of the Best This Week…

Hexed Alice1 Alice2 Alice3

I guess I should be proud of myself considering the main reason four books seems kind of sad is because I’ve been reading a lot more than four in the past few weeks. I’ve enjoyed them all for the most part, but I haven’t been blown away by any of them either.

…and the Unfortunate Rest

Luckily that means nothing was too bad!

The Books on the Reading Shelf

I was really discouraged when the stack was still so big, but then I realized that it’s actually a book smaller. Sure, it’s a small, 200ish page long book, but it’s still a little shorter and I will take that!

The New Books I’m Anticipating

Just Released

LetsGetLost

This is another summer road trip book that was released this past week. I heard a little buzz about it back when everyone was at BEA, but I haven’t read too many reviews of it, so I’m not quite sure what to expect. I already have an ebook of it from the library, so hopefully I’ll get to it soon.

Just Added

Another week without adding anything! *pats myself on the back*

The New Covers and News of the Book World

I don’t have any covers this week, but I do actually have some news in the form of publishing deals. Miranda Kenneally signed off for two more books in the Hundred Oaks universe which will be published in 2016 and 2017 respectfully. So far she’s written Catching Jordan, Stealing Parker (my favorite so far!), Things We Can’t Forget, Racing Savannah, and Breathe, Annie, Breathe (which I’ll hopefully read this week or next!), so she’s starting to reach Sarah Dessen-levels of stories-taking-place-in-the-same-universe. There was also a joint deal between Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, and Jodi Meadows for a book about Lady Jane Gray (titled My Lady Jane) which is apparently going to be in the vein of The Princess Bride! I haven’t read anything from Jodi Meadows and I thought Brodi Ashton’s Everneath series was a bit uneven (and I didn’t even read the slightly polarizing final book in the trilogy!), but I did love Cynthia Hand’s Unearthly trilogy and enjoy The Princess Bride movie, so I’m definitely intrigued.

A Picture, Rather than 1,000 Words

Harry Potter! I’m participating in the #30DaysofBookstagrams challenge this month (which is only three days old so far, so not a lot of pictures to choose from right now), and Day 2’s topic was “favorite opening line.” Harry Potter‘s opening line is the only first line that I actually know off the top of my head, so I had to choose it!

In the Spotlight: the Posts that Got Me Thinking this Week

“Reading with a Thirteen Month Old” @ Pure ImaginationI don’t have a baby of my own and don’t plan on having one for a good many years at this point, but I definitely hope to read with my own future children some day and hope that I don’t have as much trouble as Lori does with her son!

“I Can’t Quit You” @ A Reader of Fictions – I can definitely struggle with deciding whether or not to continue with a series that I kind of hate but still have to know the end of, so it’s always nice to hear that other people have the same problem

“It May Sound Silly: Disney Songs for Readers” @ Rather Be Reading – this has Disney songs – I don’t even need it to be bookish to like it!

“Reading WOE” @ The Perpetual Page-TurnerI’ve never thought about this, but it can be a bit difficult to read heavy books when all you want to do is lie down and hold your book up in the air without it falling onto your face

“Cuddlebuggery Gets Personal: Who’s the Boss? (3)” @ Cuddlebuggeryit’s interesting to see the dynamics behind blogs that have more than one person operating them

“Happy National Ice Cream Month! with Morgan Matson (& Katie Finn)” @ Novel Soundsice cream! Morgan Matson! That’s good enough for me!

“Behind the Scenes: On Commenting and Social Media” @ Alexa Loves Bookcommenting is something I often struggle with (not because I don’t want to show my love for other posts, but simply because I can get too busy to remember!)

“Pastries With Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins” @ Novel Soundsthis wasn’t so much a post that got me thinking as it got me hungry and in the mood to jet over to France simply for the food, however unfeasible that might be

“Who’s This Katie Finn Character?!” @ CuddlebuggeryI was definitely surprised when I realized that Katie Finn was the penname for Morgan Matson, so it’s always good to find that I’m not the only person who didn’t know and I wasn’t even the last to find out!

“Did I Win Camp NaNoWriMo? YES, I DID!” @ The Novel Hermit – I’m so jealous because I barely did any writing this past month for Camp NaNoWriMo, but it’s always great to hear how other writers doing their writer-y things. I can always hope for a bit of inspiration!

Leave a Reply

