Retrospectively Reading (4)

RetrospectivelyReading

Sorry that I sort of disappeared the last few days of this past week – I didn’t have any books I could write reviews for at the moment and I just wasn’t inspired by any on-the-fly discussion posts, so I decided to just let it go and focus on reading the books I was still reading so that I could have reviews for next week. So, not really a good reason to disappear, but oh well!

The Books I’m Currently Enjoying

I'm still reading Since You've a Been Gone, but the other two books and the unpictured ebook are all new this week!

A post shared by Genevieve (@thereadingshelf) on

Still reading four books at once – yay! I’m reading Hexed on my Nook right now, but these are my current physical books. I’m still reading Since You’ve Been Gone, not because I don’t like it, but because I own it and don’t have to worry about returning it and am actually enjoying taking it slow and reading one chapter at a time. I’ve just started The Cuckoo’s Calling and Ruin and Rising, so I don’t know what I feel about them quite yet, although I am a bit worried about the latter after some of the reactions I’ve seen. I normally read reviews even if I haven’t read the book yet, but I’m holding off on reading any reviews for it so that I can figure out what I think on my own.

And yes, I’m still technically reading Prisoner of Night and Fog and Wish You Were Italian – they’re still on hold until I can get the ebooks of them and finish reading them.

The Best of the Best This Week…

Mediator6 AvalonHigh Devious TTYL TTFN Classic L8RG8R

Wow. For some reason, I thought this had been a slow reading week (probably because most of these books were rereads and books I already owned), but these are a lot of books that I once again enjoyed rereading! Actually, Classic is the only book I didn’t reread in this category.

…and the Unfortunate Rest

#Scandal

Unfortunately, the only other new book I read this week was a DNF. I had to return this book, so I tried to finish it all really quickly, but I had to keep forcing myself to finish the first chapter. I have an uneven relationship with Sarah Ockler, so when I wasn’t drawn into the book after the first chapter, I decided that life was too short to force myself through it. I think I’m going to stick with the more family-oriented books from her because those seem to be the books I like more.

The Books on the Reading Shelf

It's one stack this week, but I'm pretty sure my to-be-read stack is roughly the same size as last week. Oops…

A post shared by Genevieve (@thereadingshelf) on

So many books! I managed to get them in one stack, but I don’t know if it’s that much smaller, I just felt like it. Hopefully it’ll get much smaller in the coming weeks since school is unfortunately looming!

The New Books I’m Anticipating

Just Released

There actually aren’t any books on my to-read shelf that were released this week. I’m very sad, although I suppose it’ll keep my stacks of library books from getting any bigger…

Just Added

Ticker

I really enjoyed Lisa Mantchev’s first trilogy, so when I saw the newly-released cover for her latest book (a standalone, I believe), I knew I had to check it  out and see if I just liked her trilogy or if I like anything she can come up with! And you’ve got to admit, it’s a pretty eye-catching cover.

The New Covers and News of the Book World

Where are the new covers?! I hate the countless coverless books on my to-read shelf on Goodreads!

As for news… um, I still haven’t been in touch with the book world enough to know any big news, sorry! I’ll try better next week, I promise!

A Picture, Rather than 1,000 Words

I bought another book without reading it first! I really need to quit while I’m ahead and make sure that I don’t end up buying a book I end up disliking. Hopefully this will not be that book!

And I noticed that there was also a little slip with suggested books that included If I Stay, On the Fence, and The Last Best Kiss – I definitely approve! And so does my little owl mug that I only use as decoration!

In the Spotlight: the Posts that Got Me Thinking this Week

“Hopeless Book Buyers” @ Cuddlebuggery Book Blog

“5 Reasons Why Twilight Isn’t Completely Awful” @ Cuddlebuggery Book Blog

“Kindle vs. Nook: My Experience” @ The YA Kitten

“Fairytale News – Spoilers (2)” @ The Daily Prophecy

“How Do YOU Define A Spoiler?” @ The Perpetual Page-Turner

“The S Word” @ Cuddlebuggery Book Blog – this post made me really, really mad at our slut-shaming society

“Shout or Secret?” @ So Obsessed With

“Bookish Life: Do You Really Know Me?” @ Oh, the Books!

“Shameful Confessions” @ Cuddlebuggery Book Blog

Leave a Reply

