The Summer of Series Challenge – Update

SummerofSeriesChallenge

Now that summer is halfway or so done, I figured it was time to update you all on my progress with my personal Summer of Series Challenge! If you recall from the intro post, I plan on rereading Daughters of the Moon, It Girl (plus the last book I hadn’t read yet), and Harry Potter, and read Princess Diaries and the Alice series for the first time (although I have read a couple books here and there in the latter – but so long ago that I can’t remember which ones!). So, that’s five series with roughly fifty-five books, which is a lot of books, but I’m determined to finish it by the end of summer (although I’ll probably give myself September and maybe even a little of October as a grace period if I need it)!

PrincessDiaries1 ItGirl Alice1 GoddessoftheNight HarryPotter1
So much pink and blue – sorry, Harry, but you just don’t fit.

But how many have I read so far? I’m sure you’re just on the edge of your seat in excitement to see! Well, wait no more!

Two Series Down (Almost)!

As of now, I’ve finished the Princess Diaries series and already posted a series review and am on the tenth and final book of the It Girl series (and I might even be done by the time this post goes up), so I’m counting that as two series down. It doesn’t sound like much when you consider the fact that I haven’t tackled the twenty-five-book-long Alice series, but I already have the first five books on hand and the initial books are much shorter and more MG-looking, so I’m not too worried.

So, how do I feel about the challenge so far? Other than being happy with my progress, I’m also pretty happy with the concept in general. So many of the books I read right now are in series that haven’t all been published, so I’m constantly waiting a year or so in between books. I either end up rereading the previous book or hoping that there’s a bit of a subtle info-dump so that I can figure out what’s going on and what happened in the previous book, and that can be a little frustrating. So, one of the greatest things about this challenge is that I’m reading five series that are all done (well, not completely, but I’ll talk about that in a moment), so as long as I get enough books from the library at once, I can immediately move on to the next book once I finish the previous one. Sometimes I need a little break and want to read a book outside of the series, which is one of the reasons why I’m reading so many books at once right now, but I don’t have to worry about any cliff-hangers or anything, which is a big relief.

With the It Girl series, I’m revisiting the first nine books and seeing if the series holds up. It definitely isn’t a deep series and has plenty of moments where the characters seem shallow and use slut-shaming terms too much, but there are some deeper things that I forgot it included. I’m not going to urge everyone to read them or anything, but they were and are pretty fun to read and I’m glad to finally see how the series ends so that I can happily put it in my past. I might reread them at some point in the future if I’m in the mood for some easy, breezy reads, but I’m not sure.

The Princess Diaries series was much newer to me, although I do know that I read the first book years ago and I still love the movies based on them that often have little to do with their source material (but they’re still fun movies, so I don’t care!). At the beginning, I was a little unsure of Mia, which was fitting since she seemed pretty unsure of herself as well. She began to grow on me, though, which is great considering that some books that rely heavily on sounding like a genuine teenager (meaning they can be very dramatic and judge-y and such), like the Jessica Darling books, can turn out badly for me. And this series is a little different from the rest of the books since it was announced earlier this year that Meg Cabot would be writing a new, adult addition to the series, so even though I’m done with this series, I can continue with it to a different age group of readers (although adult readers can definitely read the YA ones – don’t worry, I’m not one of those people!). I was happy with the way the series ended and I won’t feel the same level of nostalgia as some readers who read the series years ago, but I’m definitely interested to see what’ll happen in the new book.

I still have three series left, so expect at least one more post about this challenge, whether it’s another update in mid-August or something or the final recap. I’m excited about all of them, whether they’re new books or rereads, and I’m glad I challenged myself to read this series and put aside the growing stack of new books every once in a while.

Are you doing any interesting challenges specifically for summer? Or are you also taking a break from new books or reading things simultaneously so that you can reread some old favorites or check out long series that you’ve been hesitant of for so long?

Leave a Reply

