Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Favorite TV Shows

TopTenTuesday

I’m not sure if these are supposed to be book-related TV series, but they’re not, so who cares! I tried to choose shows I’ve liked for many years, but I ended up including some new shows from last year anyway because it’s my list and I can do whatever I want!

And no, these aren’t in any particular order.

This show can be a bit all over the place and I don’t always quite know what’s going on, but I honestly don’t care. I love the humor the most out of everything, but I also love many of the parental relationships and the way the show addresses the fact that many of these characters are often too busy running around doing supernatural things and are thus often failing a class or two. I haven’t seen any of the episodes from season 4 yet, but that’s partially because I’m still reeling from a big death at the end of season 3.

I’ve been obsessed with this show since I started watching it after its full first season premiered, and even when things are gotten very melodramatic and soapy and such, I still like it. I’m not as “in love” with it as I once was, but especially after that finale and as I rewatch season 3 and 4 with my sister who hasn’t seen them yet, my interest is once again hooked.

My obsession for VD has apparently gone over its spin-off, The Originals! It can be just as melodramatic and such as its successor, but I just love it so much! Even though many of the characters did awful things on VD, they’ve been fleshed out and are quite complicated and make me actually like anti-heroes and -heroines, which are characters I can be wary of (that’s why I don’t think I’d ever be interested in Breaking Bad, despite all of the hype surrounding it).

If you think that’s a typo up there, you’re wrong – this canceled-by-NBC show has been picked up by Yahoo for an online sixth season! If you love this show, you probably know its motto of “six seasons and movie,” which is sounding more and more possible. Even though it’s changed and lost some of its founding characters, I know that I will always follow this quirky and entertaining show!

WHY WAS THIS CANCELED? Seriously, this was an amazing sitcom with great friendships and relationships and jokes and just such a great show that I love rewatching over and over again and WHY WAS THIS CANCELED? I don’t know if I’ll ever forgive ABC for continually shuffling this show around during its third season and thus signing its death certificate way ahead of its time.

This was another show that was gone too soon, as you’ve probably heard almost anyone who’s seen it say. It was quirky and adorable and so much fun and such a unique show. It seemed to take place in a time of its own, with some old-fashioned and modern features, with great, quippy characters and fascinating mysteries for poor Ned to solve by touching the victims and bringing them back for a minute to ask them questions – which he did with his childhood sweetheart, whom he can never touch again without killing her – trust me, it makes sense in context.

This was a new show last year but it managed to snag a surprise Golden Globe, as well as one for Andy Samberg, but this show is definitely an amazing ensemble rather than a showcase for its “star.” It has diversity, a gay captain who’s not defined by his sexuality, and plenty of interesting and entertaining dynamics. I don’t think there were any episodes that I didn’t at least somewhat enjoy, which is definitely a compliment.

This show is all over the place and very rarely historically accurate, but that’s why it’s so fascinating. The fashions are the least historically accurate, but they’re also one of the best things about it! One of my favorite things to do after I watch an episode and head over to You Know You Love Fashion and check out their recaps of the show, which both praise and happily complain about the show – and, like me, they can’t wait to see what other hilarious, melodramatic, and soapy things the show can get up to in a single episode (just know this: in one episode, a very minor character dies when she falls out a window while having sex – if that sounds like an over-the-top-but-still-somehow-so-entertaining thing to you, then this might be the show for you)!

This is another show that I’m not caught up on – in fact, I’ve only seen the first half of the first season, even though it’s already on its second season, but I still just had to include it on this list. I watched the first half of its first season after the whole thing was on Hulu for free for a couple of weeks – I watched all of the episodes in just a few days and knew that I had to see more. The only reason I haven’t seen more is because I don’t have ABC Family and I’m doing my best to find a free, legal website to watch episodes on. There’s diversity and drama and family dynamics and so many things that interest me that it’s really no surprise that I was at least intrigued by this show – the only surprise was just how much I loved it after just a few episodes.

I decided to combine three kind-of-sort-of-not-really similar shows. I just realized that Sherlock is actually shown on PBS, not BBC America, at least in America, but they’re all kind of British shows (although Orphan Black is actually Canadian, if I remember correctly). I haven’t seen the second season of Orphan Black yet, I’m only through series 6 of Doctor Who (and I’ve noticed that it’s much more confusing and hard to follow in its later years), and the obsession over Sherlock sometimes scares me, but I still enjoy watching all three of these shows.

So, yes, I watch a lot of teen dramas – but I’m too busy being entertained by them to care what anyone thinks (most of the time, anyway)!

13 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Favorite TV Shows

    1. I miss Happy Endings and Pushing Daisies so much! Especially with Pushing Daisies, it feels like there’s nothing like it out there in the TV world right now and it makes me sad because it was so whimsical and fun and wry and entertaining!

    1. It felt like it took place in a slightly better, much more colourful and fun version of our world, and that was one of my favorite things about it! It definitely was gone too soon.

  1. You MUST watch Orphan Black season 2! And indeed it is a Canadian series (which is pretty cool because I live really close to some of the shoot locations haha– so I was totally like “ASDGADHAKJ THAT STREET!). I haven’t considered watching The Originals but have heard pretty good things from it. Though, i think the only way I’d watch it is if Caroline somehow magically crosses over to it…then the ship has not sunk.

    Cheers,
    joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts

    1. I’m hoping that it comes out on DVD soon and I can get it from the library because I just have to see Orphan Black soon! I’m doing my best to avoid any spoilers, and other than an apparently fun dance scene between clones, I’ve remained pretty much unspoiled.

      Caroline has unfortunately not crossed over (although Tyler did pop up in one episode), but I feel like she has a bit of a presence on the show – Klaus definitely hasn’t moved on from her, even when he meets some new women. If you’re a fan of VD, I’d definitely give The Originals a chance, but I do think it’s a bit of a different show (in a good way, for me anyway!).

      1. Best stay off anything that could point to Orphan Black news. Apparently there’s news about how they want to write the season 3 ending; which ‘m glad I closed the window when I saw the header on Google. While I wouldn’t mind speculating about shows…having a direct source of spoiler is a no go for me.

      2. Wow, that seems a little soon. Luckily for me, the DVD is already or almost out, so hopefully I’ll only have to avoid season 3 spoilers instead of both!

  2. Pushing Daisies!!! ❤ Oh my goodness, I do miss that show! I can't believe it got canceled … it was so unique and interesting. (&can I just have Chuck's wardrobe already? I mean … really.) &&Community … I really need to check that out. I love The Office, and so many people have recommended it to me. I've seen it a bunch on people's TTT this week, so that might just be the push I needed!

    (Speaking of the BBC, did you ever catch The Paradise? The first season is on Netflix … it's so much fun!)

    Great list:) Here's my Top Ten Movies, if you’d like to check them out!

    1. It was! I have both seasons on DVD and feel the need to rewatch them (and finally watch the last couples of episodes – I’ve been too scared to watch them because then it’ll really be over!).

      I actually wasn’t a huge fan of The Office, so I don’t know if love of it translates to Community, but it definitely seems like you could love both, and I hope you do!

      Hmm, no, I’ve never heard of The Paradise – I’ll have to Google it!

    1. It is! I’m so glad that they managed to renew it, even if it’s a little different (of course, there are so many things that are different at this point that it still wouldn’t be too weird I’m sure!)

Leave a Reply

