New Reads (July and August 2014)

NewReads

VastandBrutalSea Conversion

The Vast and Brutal Sea by Zoraida Córdova (July 1, 2014)

This is the third and final book in the Vicious Deep trilogy; it’s not a perfect series, but it’s entertaining enough and the ending of the second book hooked me in enough that I want to know how it’ll all end.

Conversion by Katherine Howe (July 1, 2014)

I heard about this book after a few people picked it up at or around BEA, but there’s not much I know about it other than the fact that it’s like a modern-day The Crucible with rich prep school girls rather than colonists. I don’t know about you, but this sounds like a really interesting premise to me!

OntheFence HalfLifeofMollyPierce

On the Fence by Kasie West (July 1, 2014)

KASIE WEST! A contemporary book from Kasie West! And plenty of great early reviews! How could I not be excited about this book?!

The Half Life of Molly Pierce by Katrina Leno (July 8, 2014)

I don’t know much about this debut other than it sounds a little trippy and unusual, but that’s good enough for me.

BreatheAnnieBreathe Illusive

Breathe, Annie, Breathe by Miranda Kenneally (July 15, 2014)

Even though this cover doesn’t quite match the rest of Kenneally’s covers, it does look kind of cute and I love the blue and purple. And, you know, the book sounds interesting enough. But, mostly the cover (at least until I hear some reviews).

Illusive by Emily Lloyd-Jones (July 15, 2014)

I don’t know much about this book other than the fact that it’s a debut and its summary has a comparison with X-Men if I remember correctly, which sounds interesting enough for me!

LetsGetLost DeadlyLittleSins

Let’s Get Lost by Adi Alsaid (July 29, 2014)

This is an adorable-sounding road trip contemporary with a colorful and fun cover, which obviously means that it’s worth checking out! And it’s another debut, so another plus.

Deadly Little Sins by Kara Taylor (August 5, 2014)

The third and final book in the Prep School Confidential series! I was already pretty excited for it after the end of the second book, but then I saw a five star rating from Ashleigh at The YA Kitten and now I’m really excited!

ForgetMe IslaandtheHappyEverAfter

Forget Me by K.A. Harrington (August 7, 2014)

I’m not quite sure whether this book comes out on August 7th or 14th, but either way, I’m interested to see this mystery that’s from the author of Clarity and The Dead and Buried (as Kim Harrington) but is published under a different name for some unknown reason. The cover unfortunately doesn’t get my attention, but I could use some good mysteries!

Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins (August 14, 2014)

FINALLY! THE THIRD AND FINAL Anna and the French Kiss COMPANION BOOK! This book has been a long time coming, and even though I’m very sympathetic to the problems Stephanie Perkins has been going through, I am definitely ready for this book to be out already! If it takes any longer then I think my expectations are going to be sky-high which could only end badly. But, on a positive note, back to the excitement!

ALittleSomethingDifferent yolo

A Little Something Different by Sandy Hall (August 26, 2014)

This is a love story with a twist – it’s told from the point of view of the people watching their relationship (if I remember correctly), so it sounds as adorable as that cover is!

YOLO by Lauren Myracle (August 26, 2014)

This is another book that I’m not quite sure when it comes out (it might be at the beginning of August, but either way, it’s August), but I really don’t care – it’s un unexpected TTYL sequel that takes place in college, which is really relevent for me right now. A nice story about friendship in college sounds like a great book that I need in my life – although now I kind of want the rest of the series that I already own to match this one, and I know there’s a chance that it just won’t be the same, but I really don’t care!

Leave a Reply

