Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Classics I Want to Read & Reread

TopTenTuesday

1. The Crucible (Arthur Miller)

I read this book based on the Salem witch trials back in 11th grade and actually liked it, considering that I basically never like books I have to read for class. I think that if I reread this book, with its connections between the Salem witch trials and McCarthyism and the Red Scare, I would enjoy it – especially since it’s a play and they’re pretty quick to read and enjoy.

2. Death of a Salesman (Arthur Miller)

Another play from Miller, but this one was a little more confusing when I read it back during my senior year. I think I’d get more out of it now that I’ve taken two years worth of college English classes, plus I did kind of enjoy it.

3. A Tree Grows in Brooklyn (Betty Smith)

This was one of my freshman reads, so I was really tough on books back then. This book kind of interested me at the time, which is a really big deal for a required reading book. I don’t remember much about this story other than being set in the early 1910s or so and about a poor daughter of second generation immigrants, but I’d sure like to remember with a relaxing reread without worrying about writing a scary high school essay (hey, your first or second or whatever high school essay really is scary!).

4. Rosencrantz and Guildenstern Are Dead (Tom Stoppard)

This was another play that I read my senior year and I think it’s safe to say that I actually did like it. It takes two minor characters from Hamlet and is all over the place and really existentialist and kind of makes no sense and that’s why I like it and am rambling as I talk about it. I think one of the reasons that one of my friends and I really liked it was because another kid from our class, one of the serious and future valedictorian types, kind of hated it and we liked talking about it in our small Latin class – quite entertaining watching him roll his eyes and disagreeing.

5. To Kill a Mockingbird (Harper Lee)

I know this is a classic and pretty much everyone loves it, but when I read it back in eighth grade, I definitely wasn’t in love with it. I think I was a little too young for it plus the whole never-truly-like-required-reading thing, but anyway, I think I would hopefully like and appreciate this book if I gave it a second chance.

6. The Catcher in the Rye (J.D. Salinger)

This is another one of the books that I actually did kind of like, but I can’t help but wonder if it was a bit of a clichéd high school choice and if I would change my mind rereading it now. Not that it’s clichéd to like it, but I’d just like to make sure.

7. Lord of the Flies (William Golding)

Another book that I kind of liked and think I would like even more since I know what to expect and that it’s really quite creepy at times (they hunt and kill a poor pig simply because they can and think they’re great big warriors or something).

8. The Comedy of Errors (William Shakespeare)

Some of my friends and I discovered this little-known Shakespeare play when we were assigned a class project to make a play of a Shakespeare comedy and we kind of fell in love with how silly and entertaining it was. I mean, it’s full of twin shenanigans thanks to two sets of twins and a lot of cases of mistaken identity. So, I did actually like book, but that’s mainly because we chose it on our own and didn’t have to write an essay or take a test on it or anything like that.

9. Macbeth (William Shakespeare)

Another Shakespeare play! This was another book from freshman year, which is why I’d like to reread it and see what I think of it over five years later (oh my god, freshman year was over five years ago).

10. Tempest (William Shakespeare)

This is the only book on this list that I haven’t already read. I’m trying to read some more Shakespeare plays simply because I can and want to see if I understand them on my own. This is one of the major Shakespeare plays that I never read back in high school, so I’m curious to know what it’s about other than a fairy or sprite or something named Ariel (thank you, Eyes Like Stars!).

17 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Classics I Want to Read & Reread

    1. I’m kind of scared of rereading Lord of the Flies because all I can really remember is that it had plenty of violence and boys being terrifying and little more than beasts, but I’m still curious to see what I’ve forgotten about!

    1. It was one of the first (or maybe even THE first – either this or Romeo and Juliet my freshman year), so it has a bit of a special spot in my reading heart. I hope you enjoy The Crucible when you read (or reread?) it – I obviously tend to like classical plays better, and The Crucible is definitely toward the top of that list!

  1. It’s funny you mention the Crucible and Death of a Salesman because I think those are such classic English class reads yet I’ve never had them assigned. I actually think my brother (who went to the same school with the same teachers) had them assigned, I just didn’t. To be honest I don’t even know much about them except every movie depicting an English class features them. Would you recommend them?

    1. It’s weird how many “required classics” aren’t that universal across high schools. There are plenty of “classics” that most people read in high school that I’ve never read, like Heart of Darkness (although there were some English classes at my school that had to read it), and my sister, who’s only two years younger than me, had quite a few books that she read that I didn’t and vice versa.

      I’d definitely recommend them, especially if you like plays, since they’re both plays by Arthur Miller. I remember The Crucible more even though I read it a year before Death of a Salesman, but I remember being intrigued by both of them. One is about 1600s Salem and witch hunts and such, while the other is about a man who realizes that he isn’t as popular and well-liked and happy as he once thought, so if those sound interesting, then definitely check them out!

    1. I had NEVER heard of it before I read it in AP English, but I got so excited when my sister had to read it because I remember thinking it was so funny and weird and interesting!

    1. That’s great to hear! I just needed a few years before I can try it again, so hopefully I’ll get to it sometime soon!

      And I wish I could say that I feel differently now, but I’m still more likely than not to dislike books I have to read for my college classes.

    1. Since I’m not a big classics person, my high level of nostalgia for many things is definitely going to be the push I need in order to read/reread more classics.

      I think I’m mostly curious to see if I still relate to and am amused by Holden as much as I was when I read it back in my junior year or if I think he’s as whiny, angsty, and annoying as roughly half my classmates did!

Leave a Reply

