Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Book Cover Trends I Like & Dislike

TopTenTuesday

I love it when there’s an emphasis on elaborate, fun, and gorgeous typography. This is probably one of my favorite trends ever because I’m obsessed with fonts. I get really excited when I see fonts that I recognize or I discover new fonts that I want for my own.

AllAmericanGirl ShadowandBone GoodbyeRebelBlue BetweentheDevilandtheDeepBlueSea LoveLetterstotheDead StrangeAndBeautifulSorrowsofAvaLavender EverythingLeadstoYou DamselDistressed

Sometimes covers can be quite beautiful, but they just don’t work for me as well as they should because the model on the cover doesn’t match the description of the main character. It’s certainly possible that the model is meant to represent someone else, but it’s also quite likely that they just liked the model, whether she (or he) matched the description or not.

EverythingLeadstoYou ProbabilityofMiracles

With these two, I’m not quite sure – I’m pretty sure the main character of Everything Leads to You is a brunette, but there wasn’t an emphasis on her appearance, so I’m not sure; and the model on The Probabilty of Miracles could certainly match the main character in her pre-chemo days, but during the story, the MC starts with no hair and probably only has a little by the end of the book.

I love reading about romance and such in books, but it’s so much cooler and inspiring to read about best friends, especially when there are so many YA books full of girls who hate on other girls or only care about their love interests. It doesn’t matter if the cover is slightly generic, seeing best friends on them can elevate the cover, at least for me. And, if the cover is already great, then it’s basically a new favorite cover for me!

MuseumofIntangibleThings ForReal SinceYouveBeenGone BestNightofYourPatheticLife FridaySociety

Even though I like romance in books, I don’t really need to see it on my covers. I don’t want to be reading a book with a kissing couple on the front in public because most people are going to assume that it’s shallow and girly even though that’s a completely wrong assumption and there’s nothing wrong with romance in the first place. I know, I know, I shouldn’t care that much about what people think, but sometimes I do anyway!

MeantToBe SomethingLikeNormal NantucketBlue #Scandal MyLifeNextDoor OntheFence SpiritBound TenThingsWeDid  TroubleWithFlirting HowZoeMadeHerDreamsMostlyComeTrue OpenRoadSummer LosingIt BlindSpotForBoys

COLORS! Colorful and fun and eye-catching covers are always a great thing in my book! Throw in colorful + beautiful typography and you’ve basically got a perfect cover for me!

OhYeahAudrey BreatheAnnieBreathe BeautyQueens Pink ImpossibilityofTomorrow ImaginaryGirls Bittersweet WildAwake OutoftheEasy IslaandtheHappyEverAfter TigerLily GoodbyeRebelBlue IgniteMe TheseBrokenStars HowToLove StrangeAndBeautifulSorrowsofAvaLavender DeadlyLittleSins

Wow, a lot of blues – obviously another way to my cover-loving heart…

There’s nothing wrong with covers that are gender neutral from the start, but it really frustrates me when a cover gets redesigned because boys are apparently allergic to covers that are a little more feminine. If we teach boys that they can only read a book if it has a masculine cover, then we simply create a cruel cycle where the genders will never get the chance to be equal and boys miss out on great stories simply because of cover images.

ViciousDeep

I don’t have an image of the redesigned Across the Universe (because I like the old one much better and certainly don’t want to save a cover that I don’t like), but it’s definitely applicable.

This is a bit of a shallow reason, but I love it when I look at a cover and say “I want her shoes” or “that’s an adorable outfit” or “how can I get my hair like that,” so any covers that inspire that kind of reaction is great in my book!

ForReal SmartGirlsGetWhatTheyWant EverythingLeadstoYou SinceYouveBeenGone SinceYouAsked NantucketRed TheseBrokenStars OntheFence MyLifeNextDoor ToAlltheBoysIveLovedBefore TigerLily DistanceBetweenUs Ruby2 LolaandtheBoyNextDoor Impossible

I don’t mind the clichéd girl-in-a-pretty-dress or close up face as long as they’re different and kind of stand out. Unfortunately, especially in the case of the face, they are boring and don’t have beautiful typography or colors or whatever to help them stand out.

Delirium BeforeIFall SometimesItHappens TheRules ExtraordinarySecretsofAprilMayJune

Matching books in a series are pretty much a given (which is why redesigns are so frustrating), but I really love it when companion books match. For instance, Miranda Kenneally’s first four books all take place in the same town and often have characters that show up in the background of other stories, so it’s cool that they all match.

Catching Jordan StealingParker ThingsICantForget RacingSavannah MyLifeNextDoor WhatIThoughtWasTrue

The redesigns of all of Judy Blume’s and Sarah Dessen’s books match as well, which I like since I’ve recently started reading them and therefore aren’t that attached to the old covers.

I don’t have any examples for this because I don’t think I’ve read any books that have the same image, but I’ve seen it plenty. If you want to see some compiled, check out some of A Reader of Fiction‘s Cover Snarks. Anyway, it’s frustrating when publishers can’t bother finding a stock image that hasn’t been used before or, even better, using a picture of their own. It feels less professional when you see a cover that you’ve already seen before with a different title and some adjustments.

13 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Book Cover Trends I Like & Dislike

    1. I think they’re pretty common ones, especially the “face” one, since there are just so many covers that use it and so few of them are unique and interesting!

  1. Elaborate typography on covers is also a favorite of mine. I think it’s such a great way to prevent whitewashing of book covers, which is always a good thing to prevent! I didn’t think about gender neutral cover though, which duh! I’m a fan of those too! 🙂

    1. That’s something I forgot to include (although my “model doesn’t match MC” includes that), but it’s a huge issue beyond a pet peeve! With gender neutral covers, I don’t mind them when they’re the first cover released, but when a perfectly good cover is redesigned simply because boys are afraid to read the book, it frustrates me!

  2. While I understand your point with gender neutrality, I don’t think guys are necessarily “allergic” to feminine covers any more than they aren’t going gravitate towards a cover that simply gives off a different vibe than what females might consider. Which is why it can kind of go both ways in this predicament. That being said, femininity (and masculinity, I guess) is a pretty broad concept to consider. Colour palette and design choices are pretty important factors to consider when readers superficially consider a book; and what it comes down to is understanding the audience publishers want to sell to and what readers are willing to read.

    Cheers,
    joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts

    1. It’s definitely a complicated issue – on the one hand I’m frustrated that books have to be redesigned from feminine to masculine (aka “neutral”), but on the other, the fact that there are covers that are seen as feminine and masculine shows that there’s a difference when there really doesn’t have to be. Publishers use what they think will sell, but it would be great if we were a society where everything sells and things are divided.

      1. I guess that really depends on what niche books you consider. At the end of the day, people read what they want to read and they’ll enjoy what they want to enjoy. The difference is in having the ability to distinguish where interests lie; and to say that one shouldn’t have the power to value one over the other is pretty uncool. Just my two cents though.

      2. I definitely see what you’re saying – there’s definitely nothing wrong with preferring a certain kind of genre or type of book or whatever, but the issue I was focusing on is the fact that boys can be shamed and made fun of for reading books that have “girly” covers, which is of course a subjective word and concept. It’s just sad when people feel like they can’t read a certain kind of book unless it has a “gender neutral” cover. I don’t think there’s a problem with individually valuing one type of book over another, but as a society we too often value “literary,” aka “for everyone” books over “chick lit” and “just for girls” books, and that’s my issue.

  3. I love elaborate typography. It just really captures my focus and forces my gaze over other books and to that particular one. I also agree with your Boring Faces one…but, I actually like the Before I Fall cover. It reminds me of a corpse, and ties in with the whole death thing. But the rest of them are spot on. (Also I liked the original covers of Across the Universe soooo much better, as well. It conveyed the general feel of the book much more accurately)

    1. The fact that I love fonts in general is probably a big reason why typography is a big thing for me, but it definitely catches your attention when so many other covers are faces and dresses and more of the same.

      And Before I Fall is one of those covers where I sometimes like it and sometimes don’t. I like the way the font matches her Delirium covers and I especially like the model’s eyes, but it doesn’t really catch my attention. That’s great to hear that it signifies many things for you, though!

Leave a Reply

