Spring 2014 Round-Up & Summer 2014 TBR

Time to recap the books from the previous TBR posts that I’ve read since the last recap, as well as a new batch of TBR books for Summer 2014! I just posted a Top Ten Tuesday list of my Summer 2014 TBR list, but it had more new books on it than this list will, because this list will focus more on the books I think I can very possibly get my hands on without having to buy something.

Pre-Spring 2014: Books I Finally Read

Frostbite SinceYouAsked

1. Frostbite (Richelle Mead) I’m glad that I ended up waiting a little while before I read the second Vampire Academy novel. I enjoyed it just as much as I did the first book – it’s not amazing or groundbreaking literature, but it’s fun, and I think that’s just as valid.

2. Since You Asked (Maurene Goo) I’m glad that I never took this book off my to-read shelf even when it was practically impossible to find – it was a fun, quick read, and I look forward to future things from the author, which is always a great thing!

Spring 2014: The Books I Read

TheseBrokenStars BurnBright Cracked Up to Be ThroneofFire Speak TheInterestings WickedLittleSecrets ShadowKiss

1. These Broken Stars (Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner) The ending was kind of shaky for me, but otherwise I really, really enjoyed this book. Even though there was more romantic drama than I would have liked, I did enjoy the romance, as well as the relationship in general between Lilac and Tarver.

2. Burn Bright (Bethany Frenette) Dark Star was a surprise hit for me last summer, and when I started hearing good reviews for its sequel, I got even more excited, and I’m happy to say that I was as impressed and entertained as I had hoped!

3. Cracked Up to Be (Courtney Summers) Unfortunately, this book didn’t work out well for me; I liked the rest of Courtney Summers’ books, but her debut really rubbed me the wrong way.

4. The Throne of Fire (Rick Riordan) This was another hiccup for me – I actually didn’t even finish it. It wasn’t a bad book – I wouldn’t have gotten over halfway through if it were – I just wasn’t interested in it enough, and that’s a deal-breaker with such a long book. I’ll always love Percy Jackson and Heroes of Olympus, but this series didn’t work for me, unfortunately.

5. Speak (Laurie Halse Anderson) This wasn’t as powerful a book as I was hoping it would be, but that was mainly because I didn’t connect with the main character as much as I would have liked; I can definitely see why this is a beloved book in the YA world, and it definitely has some good and important messages.

6. The Interestings (Meg Wolitzer) I really tried to finish this book, but it is really, really long, skips around in time to the point where it got confusing, and didn’t really have many characters I cared about, which is why I need to find in more adult books.

7. Wicked Little Secrets (Kara Taylor) This sequel was just as entertaining as the debut in this series, so I’m really looking forward to the third and final book now – this book left off with a cliffhanger and now I need to know what’s going to happen!

8. Shadow Kiss (Richelle Mead) This series continues to be both entertaining and full of some interesting social issues that I can’t get enough of – here’s hoping that the rest of the series continues in that vein! (See the vampire pun I did there? No?)

Pre-Summer 2014: The Books I Still Need To Get To

HouseofHades ScentofMagic NightFilm

One more book left! I’ve been waiting for it to be closer to the release date of the final book plus it’s kind of hard to get a hold of at the library, but I’m sure I’ll be reading this book sometime soon… And I had both of the latter two books checked out and was all excited about reading everything from this list, but I have too many other books right now that I want to read more than these two, so they’ll just have to wait a bit.

Summer 2014: The List

ToAlltheBoysIveLovedBefore PrisonerofNightandFog DairyQueen SummerITurnedPretty InvincibleSummer FromWhatIRemember SinceYouveBeenGone BloodPromise LoveLetterstotheDead AndThenThereWereNone

A lot of these books showed up on TTT yesterday, but there are a few different ones. There’s a combination of newer books (like Since You’ve Been Gone, which I already have and thus will hopefully read soon-ish) and older ones (like the one adult book, And Then There Were None, which is definitely not new), but a lot of them are more fluffy and summery since that’s the season we’re enjoying right now!

Leave a Reply

