Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I’ve Read So Far This Year

TopTenTuesday

These books are in the order that I read them, not enjoyment – it was hard enough to pick ten, let alone rank them all!

 

1. Stealing Parker (Miranda Kenneally)

After reading Kenneally’s Catching Jordan at the end of 2013, I wasn’t too impressed but decided to read the next book in the series anyway – which was a great decision, since I ended up loving the second book. I wasn’t too sure at the beginning, when there’s a student-teacher (well, assistant coach) relationship and Parker seems kind of lost. There’s another guy around, though, a really nice guy who also started off slightly on the wrong foot, and some interesting side characters, but Parker really shined. She was going through a difficult time and she was forced to deal with some awful people and situations and she really seemed to grow by the end. One of my favorite things about Things I Can’t Forget, the third book, and Racing Savannah, the fourth, is that Parker showed up again, first in a secondary role and then in a background one.

2. 45 Pounds (More or Less) (K.A. Barson)

This is a slim book, which is kind of ironic, since the protagonist is a larger girl just trying to accept herself. There are different kinds of body issues as well – the protagonist’s mother has her own issues and her younger sister could be headed down a similar path. The book is mainly about Ann’s journey to acceptance and understanding, though, with some new friendships and even romance (yes, romance, even though she doesn’t have a flat stomach) to round out the story as well.

 

3. Split Second (Kasie West)

I liked but wasn’t too impressed by West’s Pivot Point last year, but as the hype about it and this sequel began to build around the time it was released, the more I began rethinking my opinion. When Pivot Point was available online for the weekend on Epic Reads before this book came out, I decided to reread it and ended up enjoying more than I remembered, so I was properly excited for this book – and ended up liking it even more! I as a little nervous about switching to two POVs with Addie’s best friend, Laila, but I ended up loving Laila more than I did in the first book, and I really liked Laila’s love-hate relationship with a certain bad-boy-who-really-isn’t-bad-just-is-rough-around-the-edges (and sorry, that’s enough with the hyphens). Most people love Trevor (and really, he is a great guy), but I was more interested in the adorable and entertaining scenes with Laila and Connor.

4. Lady Thief (A.C. Gaughen)

I really enjoyed Gaughen’s Scarlet last year, and when the hype also began building up for this sequel, I was even more excited, and this book luckily delivered! My emotions were kind of destroyed in the process of reading this book, but I just couldn’t put it down and absolutely need the next book, even though it doesn’t even have a title, cover, or even a freaking release date yet!

 

5. Smart Girls Get What They Want (Sarah Strohmeyer)

There are three amazing best friends! There’s an adorable love-hate relationship! There are funny secondary characters! The protagonist’s name is Gigi, but it’s really Genevieve! What’s not to love about this adorable and fun and fluffy book? I actually just bought it this weekend and I’m anxiously awaiting next year when I can reread this since I try not to read books more than once a year (because it would screw up my Goodreads count – great reason, right?)!

6. The Perks of Being a Wallflower (Stephen Chbosky)

I saw the film adaptation of this book before I read it, so I was unsure if it would hold up to the amazing movie or if it would make the movie seem pale in comparison. I’m glad to say that I think both of them have their merits and they’re both basically amazing. I loved seeing more detail into the family in the book and getting even more into Charlie’s head. I didn’t read more than twenty or so pages at once because I just felt too many emotions in a way that I can’t even explain.

 

7. The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender (Leslye Walton)

This was a pretty slow and meandering book, but it meandered in the most beautiful and whimsical way possible. It seemed to have the things I’m learning to love about adult books without being so long that it truly gets lost somewhere along the way.

8. Ink is Thicker Than Water (Amy Spalding)

One of the very last books I read last year was Spalding’s The Reece Malcolm List and I instantly fell in love with its great characters and family dynamics and such. This book has much of the same, and even though I didn’t love it quite as much as her debut, I enjoyed myself throughout the whole story and don’t regret buying it before reading it at all, which is definitely a plus! And this was apparently the author’s real debut and was written before Reece Malcolm, so it could be a sign that she’s simply improving more and more with each book, which almost makes me look on this book with even more fondness.

 

9. What I Thought Was True (Huntley Fitzpatrick)

One of my absolute favorite books last year was Fitzpatrick’s My Life Next Door, which I happily reread before getting to this book, and I was so happy to see that this book had just as many great characters and family dynamics. I didn’t love it quite as much her debut, but that was a hard book to live up to in my mind anyway and this book was still quite amazing, so I’m even more excited for Fitzpatrick’s future books!

10. The Art of Lainey (Paula Stokes) – review coming tomorrow

This was the biggest surprise on this list, probably – I heard some good things about this book from the blogging sphere before I decided to give it a chance, but I really wasn’t expecting to love it nearly as much as I did. I expected to only kind of like the protagonist, but despite her many differences from me, I loved her, along with her best friend and her love interest and her family members who really should have been in the story more. I really, really excited for whatever Stokes does in the future now.

9 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I’ve Read So Far This Year

    1. It was so small but it was such a powerful book, wasn’t it? I’m really excited to see what the author will write about next!

      And I hope you like those other books as much as I did – maybe they’ll show up on your end-of-year lists instead! 😀

  1. I’m glad you reread Pivot Point and liked it a bit better! I loved Pivot Point! I’m also very excited to read Smart Girls Get What They Want and The Art of Lainey.

    Thanks for sharing! Here’s my Top Ten Tuesday post

    1. Maybe I just wasn’t in the best mood or something since it was so much fun when I reread it! Smart Girls and Art of Lainey are just as fun, so hopefully you enjoy them just as much! 😀

    1. I know, the ending was just so… so… much! I had to go out and interact with people after finishing it and it felt weird just being with friends when I felt like I should be processing it more or something!

      And the title was definitely something that drew me to Smart Girls in the first place! 😀

Leave a Reply

