Top Ten Tuesday: Freebie

TopTenTuesday

This week is a freebie topic, so I decided to go with “Books I Want to Reread,” specifically the many books I plan on rereading this summer. Since it’s summer break and all of that, I decided to attempt to reread many, many different books and series, from books I own to ones I’ll check out from the library in an attempt to decide if I need to own them as well!

Secrets11. Secrets of My Hollywood Life (Jen Calonita)

I read the first book after my friend did a book report on it (ah, the lax standards that are middle school book report requirements), and I immediately fell in love with this world of privilege and backstage backstabbing and Hollywood secrets. I’ve read all of the books in this series, with multiple rereads of the first few books every time I got a new one, but I haven’t reread the entire six book series since I read it all through after the last book was published. I forgot to include this in my Summer of Series Challenge, but it’s definitely there, because I plan on spending an enjoyable week or two reliving the fun of Hollywood through this series, which will hopefully remain a fun and fluffy series for me!

Clarity2. Clarity/Perception (Kim Harrington)

This duology seems like the perfect reread for summer. Well, the second book takes place at the beginning of the school year, but it’s still in a beach town that’s popular for tourists during warm weather, so I think it’s just as relevant. Anyway, I haven’t reread the second book and have only reread the first book once, so I just have to reread them both together and fall back into the fun and mysterious world of Clare “Clarity,” right?

And if you haven’t read these books and have no idea who Clare is, maybe that’s something you should change this summer as well!

The Summoning3. The Darkest Powers trilogy (Kelley Armstrong)

I talk about this series so much on this blog that I just have to reread it every couple of years, right? Well, if I remember correctly, I did not reread it last year, so this summer is the perfect time to remedy that!

And, on the unlikely chance that I find myself lacking things to read this summer, I can reread the spin-off trilogy as well. Yay, books!

TTYL4. TTYL/TTFN/L8r, G8r (Lauren Myracle)

If you’ve read my past few Monthly Rewind posts, you’ve seen this series pop up again and again in the “Excited For” portion of those posts. Well, that’s because school is busy and I keep getting new books from the library and these books, which I already own and thus don’t have to worry about returning by a certain date, keep getting pushed back. But, no more! I will read these books sometime this summer, hopefully this month or next! I’ll bring them on vacation with me and hope that not having the local library and my bookcases at hand will force me to happily reread these books!

HarryPotter15. Harry Potter series (J.K. Rowling)

HARRY POTTER! I’ve included this series for my summer challenge and it’s Harry Freaking Potter – do you really need a couple of legitimate reasons for me to reread this series for the first time since the final movie came out?

I didn’t think so.

Mediator16. The Mediator series (Meg Cabot)

And then this series has been my traditional reread every year for the past four or five years. I can’t break tradition now, even if I practically have it memorized and accidentally waited until last fall to reread this series because apparently I thought I could break tradition then (oh, silly Fall Me, tradition is tradition! And these books are funny and swoony and awesome). I read them when I was at the beach two years ago, and this seems like the perfect time to do so again!

LockandKey7. Lock and Key (Sarah Dessen)

Since many of these books here are ones I’m rereading for my new summer challenge, I figured I could reread some of the books I read last year for that challenge, The Summer of Sarah Dessen challenge! That was a challenge that had its ups and downs, and luckily Lock and Key was one of the high points! I bought it at a Kroger or something that had very few good books, so I was really excited when I saw one of my new favorite Sarah Dessen books and just had to buy it!

9780142406250_TruthAboutFo_CV.indd8. The Truth About Forever (Sarah Dessen)

And, just like my second-ever Sarah Dessen book (aka, the book I was just talking about), my first ever book from her blew me away and I just knew that I had to have it. Maybe it was because it was all new to me at that point and I didn’t quite know her often-formulaic writing, maybe I would have liked these two books more no matter when I read them, but the point is that I loved these two books and summer seems like the perfect time to reread them!

ItGirl9. The It Girl series (Cecily von Ziegesar)

Another series for my summer challenge!

Yes, this is the spinoff series to Gossip Girl, and yes, it’ll probably seem a lot more juvenile that it did when I read most of these books back in middle school, but I’m not reading these books because they’re great literature that will open me up to new worlds and ideas – I’m reading them because they’re full of drama and romance and boarding school pranks and hijinks and that seems like the perfect thing for a summer read!

GoddessoftheNight10. Daughters of the Moon series (Lynne Ewing)

And finally, another series for my challenge, a series that’s probably even less known but is one that my sister and I were obsessed with back in late elementary/early middle school. We haven’t reread them in a while, and I don’t know if she ever plans on rereading them, but I hope to find books that, though probably not as magical and amazing as they once were, still leave me entertained and kind of wishing I could be a badass goddess with some cool magical power, even if it means juggling high school with evil people trying to take over the world or whatever!

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Freebie

    1. Yes, one of the greatest things to reread! I hope to take them all with me when I go on vacation and sneak them in with all of the many other books I plan on taking!

  1. Great topic. HP would be at the top of my list. I used to reread the series before every new book release and then before every new movie release. I definitely miss it and want to go reread it again this year ❤ Here's my TTT, I went with my favourite mind-blowing endings.

  2. Great topic choice this week!!

    I have Secrets of My Hollywood Life on Audible (got it on sale ages ago and have never actually listened – maybe I should!

    Jac @ Two Moms Reading

    1. It’s definitely more of a fun and silly and fluffy book, so whenever you need a bit of a pick-me-up with some fun Hollywood drama is probably a great time to try it!

    1. I’ve done that before, but I think this time I’m going to be reading other books with them since there are just so many books I want to reread in addition to all the new books I still need to get to!

Leave a Reply

