Just Being Nominated is Enough, Honest

liebsteraward_thumb2

I copied this badge from Becky, so I don’t know if she made it, but I did not make this, just to be clear.

As you can see from the title of this post, I apparently won a blogging award thanks to Becky at A Fool’s Ingenuity! I think I also won/was nominated for another award months ago thanks to Amanda at Book Badger, so sorry for not doing anything about that, I completely forgot! I hope this post can work for both of them…

Anyway, this seems to be an award for smaller book bloggers who don’t have many followers, so I definitely fit that! I’m also supposed to give this award to nine other bloggers who have never won this award, but if I’m going to be honest, I don’t know if I can do that! Despite it being summer, things are starting to get busy with a family vacation coming soon and my huge stack of books to read and I just don’t follow enough blogs to nominate people! A lot of the blogs I follow a big ones that wouldn’t qualify, which really unfortunate. So, if you have a small blog (I think it has to be less than 300 followers or something like that), feel free to leave me a comment and I’ll try to check out your blog as soon as possible and you could win the award as well!

Anyway, these are the rules, according to Becky’s post that nominated me (that’s where I’m getting all of my information from, because I didn’t really know anything about this award at all before I got it!):

1. List 11 facts about yourself
2. Answer the 11 questions asked by whoever nominated you
3. Ask 11 new questions to 9 bloggers with less than 300 followers
4. You cannot re-nominate the blog that nominated you
5. Go to their blog and tell them that they have been nominated!

OK, so without further ado, here are 11 facts and then 11 answers!

11 Facts About Myself

1. I’ll tackle my name first; if you have been following me a while, you once knew me as Lia, but now I go by my real name, Genevieve (although I still don’t like using my last name ever, so my first name is all you’re going to get!). I use “Lia” for any online account that isn’t personal, like my personal email or Facebook or Twitter account, because I feel safer using a fake name. When I decided to start blogging, I knew that I didn’t really want my friends and family to read it, so I went ahead and used “Lia.” After a while, though, I wanted people to actually know my name, so I decided to take the plunge and publicly change my name for all the various accounts and such associated with the blog. So, if you see something about Lia from The Reading Shelf, that’s still me!

2. I have one sister, who I often talk about but without naming names because her privacy is even more important than mine. She is a big reader as well, but she’s also more busy than I am and therefore hasn’t read nearly as much lately – which means I’m going to have many, many different recommendations for her when she finally has a chance to read again!

3. I just completed my sophomore year of college, which is quite scary – only two more years! I’m an AYA Language Arts major, which means I’m going to be a high school English teacher – so, lots of reading, and hopefully all books that I actually like!

4. In my senior year of high school, I was a shelver at my local public library. I was the only person on the staff who was still in school and one of three or four people who were under 30, but I really loved doing it, even though the actual work could be tedious, and I was really sad when I had to leave when I went off to college.

5. I’m going to copy Becky and admit that I also love fanfiction. There’s plenty of bad fanfiction out there, and it can be quite funny to read and kind of make fun of said bad fanfiction, and there are genuinely good writers who are sharpening their skills in fanfiction. Harry Potter is pretty much my go-to fanfiction, but there are plenty of other interesting fandoms as well.

6. My favorite color is green and my second favorite color is blue, which is a very, very close second. I love having lots of green and blue things, including my bedroom, which has two blue walls and two green ones, which makes me happy every time I come home to it.

7. My favorite season is fall because I was born in fall and it’s crisp and cool and amazing even if it means school starting up again. My least favorite season is spring because it’s full of melting snow, scary thunderstorms, and tornadoes. I wish we could skip from the beautiful snow of winter (yes, I love snow and the cold) straight to the sunniness of summer.

8. I watch a LOT of TV. Sometimes I wonder how I manage to read and watch so much, and then I remember that I could probably study a lot more than I currently do. I prefer teen dramas and comedies and other dramas and rarely watch reality TV, but my taste is pretty broad.

9. I have four pets – two dogs and two cats – and that’s part of the reason why I hate reading books where animals get hurt at all. There’s a website that warns you about animal death and violence in pretty much all movies ever, but I need that for TV shows and books as well. I hate scenes that come out of nowhere and seem to be there simply to tug on the heartstrings.

10. I have blonde hair, and as such I hate dumb blonde jokes and blondes being demonized in YA books (and brunettes often being portrayed as plain and shy) – I’ve even written a post complaining about it because it can be such a problem in YA.

11. I’ve never gotten the whole book boyfriend concept, at least personally. Yes, I understand why people like some love interests a lot, and there are definitely some love interests who I think are adorable and such, but I always ship them with the protagonist of their respective book, never me. It’s just not something I’ve ever felt that strongly about. There are characters who I want to be best friends with, but no wannabe boyfriends – at least not yet. There’s a challenge for you, authors!

11 Answers to Becky’s Questions

1. What is your preferred reading format? E-book, paperback, hardback? I think paperback books are actually my favorite. I like having physical copies for sure, but there’s just something about paperbacks – they’re smaller, easier to carry around, often have sneak peeks at future books, are less likely to have mistakes, don’t have the sometimes-annoying dust jacket – plenty of things. I do like hardbacks, but I think I like paperbacks a little more.

2. If you could only recommend one book for another to read, what would it be and why? This one is so hard, but I’ll try. There are so many amazing books, but I’m going to go with a book that I feel can be universal for everyone – adults and children, women and men: Ellen Raskin’s The Westing Game. It has a quirky and fascinating cast of characters, an interesting mystery, and a story that can work for any gender or age.

3. One of the most recent themes of Top Ten Tuesday was if you like this TV show or film, you should read this; provide a book recommendation based on your favorite film or TV show. Well, I already came up with ten books that kind-of-sort-of match up with Pushing Daisies, but one book should be much easier. Hmm, let’s see. I think if you like shows like Parenthood, shows that focus on large and happy and complicated families, then you’ll like My Life Next Door as well – it’s not about a large extended family, but still plenty of drama and adorable moments and such surrounding one wonderful and entertaining family.

4. Where is your favorite place to read? In my room, even though I’m normally stuck reading downstairs in the living room or in a classroom or public building waiting for class or in my dorm room or whatever. I like being alone and focusing on the book rather than the people around me or something.

5. What is your opinion on commenting on blog posts? I’m not quite sure what this one is asking, but I’ll try. I love getting comments and I reply to each and every one, even if it’s a day or two later, but I do get a little frustrated on Top Ten Tuesday posts when people just seem to comment in order to get attention for their post. At this point, I’m always going to reply, but it can get tiring.

6. What is your more anticipated read of 2014? Does this mean a book that hasn’t been released or already has been, or is it a typo and is asking about 2015 releases? I’ll just go ahead and name a book for each thing! My most anticipated book that’s already been released has got to be What I Thought Was True from the author of My Life Next Door, which I’m currently reading! As for unreleased, that’s got to be On the Fence, which I’ve heard so much hype about from reviewers and comes from the amazing Kasie West! And then I’m going to go with another Huntley Fitzpatrick book for 2015 – The Boy Most Likely To, which is a sequel to My Life Next Door! Are you noticing a pattern here?

7. We all know about blogger hype; which book have you read which did not live up to the hype? These kinds of books are something I’ve been focusing on with my new feature, The Black Cat, where so far I’ve looked at The Lunar Chronicles and Throne of Glass, two books/series that I unfortunately didn’t like, despite (well, probably because of) all the hype.

8. Name one author whose books you will always read. I’m a cautious person who doesn’t want to say that I’ll always read an author in case it jinks something, but one author who I’ve had a pretty flawless record with, beyond just two or three amazing books, is J.K. Rowling. I can’t imagine not at least somewhat enjoying whatever she writes – especially if it involves Harry Potter or, better yet, Lily and James Potter.

9. There are certain bloggers whose opinions I value of others – when they give a good review I will go out of my way to read that book. Name a blogger whose opinions you value of others and explain why. There are a lot of bloggers I trust, so I’m not going to single anyone out. You can just look at my Lovely Blogs page to see all of the amazing bloggers who explain what they love or hate about books, which is what I love in reviews – explanations along with feelings.

10. What is your favorite part of blogging? The book tours, the reviews, the memes, the community…? I’m a bit of a lurker in the book blogging community, but it’s still my favorite part of blogging – listening to other people gush about books they love, bonding with people over mutual loves and pet peeves, just knowing that I’m not the only person out there who loves reading over almost anything else in the world.

11. Where did your blog come from? It’s a fun and long story, actually. When I first started up a book blog, it was on Freewebs and called The Reading because I already had a graphics blog called The Listening after a song called “The Listening” by Lights and I wanted things to match. I decided to switch it over to Livejournal after only a month or two and “thereading” was apparently already taken, so I decided to change it into The Reading Shelf. Hmm, maybe it’s not that long, but I still think it’s quite interesting!

11 Questions for Anyone!

  1. Do you have a go-to book boyfriend or girlfriend?
  2. Do you take advantage of interacting with authors on social media and such or do you prefer to think of them as godlike creatures that you could never relate with?
  3. What do you prefer on covers – an emphasis on typography, illustrations, or models?
  4. Where do you get most of your books – bookstores, publishers, libraries, or your own personal library (as in, mostly rereads)?
  5. What do you think about the recent #WeNeedDiverseBooks hashtag?
  6. Do you like book adaptations (movies and TV shows) or would you rather books remain books?
  7. What’s your favorite setting for a book?
  8. Why’d you start blogging?
  9. What’s your thought on co-bloggers (whether you have one or not)?
  10. Do you think libraries and physical books could ever die out?
  11. Do you let people from your everyday life know about your blog?

I’m so sorry that I’m not actually nominating anyone, but I appreciate everyone who does all the difficult work of blogging without having hundreds of followers. Feel free to comment and help me discover more small blogs!

One thought on “Just Being Nominated is Enough, Honest

Leave a Reply

