The Summer of Series Challenge

After starting my own personal summer challenge last year (The Summer of Sarah Dessen Challenge!), I decided to make it into a tradition and do the Summer of Series Challenge! I’m going to take five series that I’ve either read all of the books in or only some of them and try to binge-read them from now until August. You’re welcome to join me in this challenge if you want, either with the five series I’ve already picked or any number of series you’ve been wanting to read or reread for a while! And there’s even a banner that I made for it!

SummerofSeriesChallenge

These are the five series I plan on attempting, with their many, many different books.

1. Princess Diaries (Meg Cabot)

1. The Princess Diaries
2. Princess in the Spotlight
3. Princess in Love
4. Princess in Waiting
5. Princess in Pink
6. Princess in Training
7. Party Princess
8. Princess on the Brink
9. Princess Mia
10. Forever Princess

I’ve read the first book and possibly the second (I really can’t remember), so with all the Meg Cabot books I’ve been rereading lately or plan on rereading soon, I wanted to include this for my challenge. I also might get to The Mediator series, if I have time, since I’ve been rereading it every summer for the past four or five years and I don’t want to break that tradition! But anyway, I love the movies, and I know that the books are really different, so I want to see if I can enjoy the story in the books as well.

2. It Girl (Cecily von Ziegesar)

1. The It Girl
2. Notorious
3. Reckless
4. Unforgettable
5. Lucky
6. Tempted
7. Infamous
8. Adored
9. Devious
10. Classic

Yes, I plan on reading the spin-off of the Gossip Girl series. I read almost all of it in middle school and early high school and still have the last book to get to, so I’m determined to do just that.

3. Daughters of the Moon (Lynne Ewing)

1. Goddess of the Night
2. Into the Cold Fire
3. Night Shade
4. The Secret Scroll
5. The Sacrifice
6. The Lost One
7. Moon Demon
8. Possession
9. The Choice
10. The Talisman
11. The Prophecy
12. The Becoming
13. The Final Eclipse

This is a series that my sister and I really loved when we were in early middle school – even though I’m pretty sure it’s meant for a much older audience – and I’ve been building up my collection of the whole series, and thanks to Half Price Books, between my sister and I, we finally have all thirteen books, so I plan on rereading all of the books this summer and hoping that it stands up to the awesome story that I remember!

4. The Alice series (Phyllis Reynolds Naylor)

1. The Agony of Alice
2. Alice in Rapture, Sort Of
3. Reluctantly Alice
4. All But Alice
5. Alice in April
6. Alice In-Between
7. Alice the Brave
8. Alice in Lace
9. Outrageously Alice
10. Achingly Alice
11. Alice on the Outside
12. The Grooming of Alice
13. Alice Alone
14. Simply Alice
15. Patiently Alice
16. Including Alice
17. Alice on Her Way
18. Alice in the Know
19. Dangerously Alice
20. Almost Alice
21. Intensely Alice
22. Alice in Charge
23. Incredibly Alice
24. Alice on Board
25. Now I’ll Tell You Everything

I’ve read some of the books in this series, but all at random, so I never quite knew what was going on. With a series this long, there’s a good chance that the quality won’t always be great, but I don’t care – I just want to read them because it feels like it’ll be a huge accomplishment!

5. Harry Potter (J.K. Rowling)

1. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone
2. Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets
3. Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban
4. Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
5. Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix
6. Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince
7. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

Yes, I’m going to reread Harry Potter! I haven’t reread it since the last movie came out, so I need to do that again soon!

I’ll try to keep you all updated with my progress throughout the summer and maybe do some fun posts (if I can think of any – hopefully it’s a creative summer!), and I’ll probably do some series reviews instead of individual ones since they’re all so long.

This is a pretty bare bones post, but my hands are a little tired after writing all those books, so expect more on this challenge in the future to make up for a boring introductory post!

4 thoughts on “The Summer of Series Challenge

  1. Alice series! I read the last book earlier this year and I felt so accomplished knowing that I read all 25 books in the series. But it takes a lot of dedication, especially towards the end. I felt the middle books were the best.

    I’m also in the middle of a Harry Potter series reread but I’m doing it super leisurely, reading a few chunks every other day.

    All the best with your series challenge, Genevieve! 🙂

    1. Wow, go you! I hope I can get that accomplished feeling as well by the end of the summer! I also hope I can push through the whole series even when some of the later books might begin to feel tired or something.

      I probably won’t read small chunks of Harry Potter, but that’s only because I’ll probably be unable to put the book down too much, especially with the first few books which are so magical and less sad!

      And thanks!

Leave a Reply

