Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Book Covers I’d Frame As Pieces of Art

TopTenTuesday

FrameAsArt01 FrameAsArt02

1. Out of the Easy (Ruta Sepetys)

I refuse to acknowledge the paperback of this book. There’s just something about the hardcover that I loved from the instant I first saw it. It was definitely one of the reasons I wanted to read the book in the first place. I love the cage, I love the fact that the girl almost looks trapped in it (which mirrors how the main character feels a bit trapped in New Orleans, so symbolism!), and the colors are just so pretty! I had a little fun with filters on all of these covers, but I really didn’t do much to this cover because it’s just so pretty! The only thing I would change is the title font – it just doesn’t seem fitting of the rest of the beautiful cover for some reason.

2. The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender (Leslye Walton)

The font, the feather, the colors – there are just so many things about this cover that I loved from the very start, and I think it reflects the story as well. It just has the same air of magic and beauty and whimsy and such, and none of the despair, which is fine with me if I want to hang this up – I don’t want anything depressing marring the beautiful cover!

FrameAsArt03 FrameAsArt04

3. Afterglow (Karsten Knight)

I love all the covers in this series, but there’s just something about this flower that I love the most. There’s the beauty of the flower, the mesmerizing flame, and the backdrop that shouldn’t support this life but does anyway. I think it reflects the book perfectly and is just pretty to look at to boot.

4. The Butterfly Clues (Kate Ellison)

I unfortunately didn’t like this book, but I’d almost be willing to ignore my issues with it just because I love that cover! It would be pretty but kind of generic if it was simply a buttefly, but the blood adds mystery and frightening connotations (which are all quite fitting). It’s also kind of like one of those pictures therapists use where you have to say what it looks like even though it’s just an ink blot (but I can’t remember what they’re called), which is also a bit fitting for the story.

FrameAsArt05 FrameAsArt06

5. So Silver Bright (Lisa Mantchev)

This is another series where all the covers in the series are striking, but there’s just something about this cover. I love her hair and her outfit, I love the fact that she doesn’t have her two love interests with her like the second book did, and I love the fact that she’s still not alone because she has her amazing fairy friends. Also, I want her ring. And her dress. And this cover almost makes me want to dye my hair (but not really – I like my hair the color it is).

6. The Archived (Victoria Schwab)

I like the cover of the first book a bit more than the second. The key is so cool, I love the colors, and the face in the smoke is just so striking. I think the extra elements of this cover propel it past simply a picture of a pretty girl’s face.

FrameAsArt07 FrameAsArt08

7. Tiger Lily (Jodi Lynn Anderson)

Yes, I tweaked the colors in this cover a little, but only a little – the real cover is almost as striking (yes, that’s a word that you’re going to see a lot in this post – sorry!). Sure, it has the whole “cut off head” bit (as does its neighbour!), but the dress and colors are so eye-catching that I barely even notice that all you see in the corner is part of her arm and nothing more. Although, if I want to be a little nitpick-y, I would focus on the fact that the “L” in “Lily” is not capitalized, but the cover is really too pretty for me to even notice right away.

8. Where the Stars Still Shine (Trish Doller)

I feel like this is one of the most “generic” covers on this list, but I still think it should be included. There’s just something about the image that I love. I think part of the reason is that the main character was so excited to have beautiful lights hanging up in her new room and making it hers, and the fact that it’s incorporated in the cover just makes me so happy! And her dress is green, and green is my favorite color, so why not?

FrameAsArt09 FrameAsArt10

9. Wild Awake (Hilary T. Smith)

This cover is just so… so… striking! (Sorry – I tried to think of a different word!) The bright colors, the fun font, the paint splotch that represents the main character’s sister quite well, the girl who certainly looks like the main character in one of her less-lucid moments, flinging around her hair and just doing whatever the hell she feels like doing. This cover caught my attention right away, and it still does.

10. Between You & Me (Marisa Calin)

This was another book that I wasn’t a huge fan of, but the cover grabs my attention every time. Even though it’s simply a girl’s face, it doesn’t feel generic at all, with its heart-shaped, pink sunglasses and the bright, deep red lipstick. I think it represents the main character well, and it’s the kind of cover that I would immediately pick up because I just have to know what that girl is hiding.

16 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Book Covers I’d Frame As Pieces of Art

    1. I love all the covers in that series, but there’s just something about the last cover that I love the most, so I’m glad you love it as well!

  1. Excellent picks. I love the cover for Ava Lavender and Out of the Easy. I will get around reading them both soon, I hope I will anyway. Sorry to here some of the books built up your expectations with pretty covers and then not have the story to back it up. I hate that good books can’t be found simply by finding a pretty cover.

    1. Yeah, that’s just an unfortunate problem in the book world – but there are also plenty of amazing books that have so-so covers, so as long as we try our hardest not to literally judge based off of covers, we’ll hopefully find plenty of covers, including ones with pretty covers!

  2. Great covers! I love the cover for Afterglow, it’s gorgeous. I also really love the cover for Where the Stars Still Shine, it’s a really beautiful cover and I really need to hurry up and read that book myself. Nice picks 🙂 Here’s my TTT.

    1. Oh, I lovedWhere the Stars Still Shine – it was one of my favorite books last year, and the gorgeous cover just makes it even better in my mind – I really hope you love it as well!

  3. Oh man, such beautiful covers here hunny! I agree on all of them other than the last two, they just don’t float my boat. You definitely like covers with vibrant colours and that’s pretty impressive, so great post! 😀 Here’s my Top Ten Tuesday if you’re interested.

    1. That’s great to hear that you at least like most of them! And, I don’t think I had realized before now just how much I want really colourful covers, but I guess that is the case! I can like understated covers as well, but my favorites tend to have gorgeous fonts and colors to draw me in.

Leave a Reply

