New Reads (May and June 2014)

NewReads

SinceYouveBeenGone NantucketRed

Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson (May 6, 2014)

I read both of Morgan Matson’s books last year and was impressed by them, so I’m definitely interested in her third book. There’s romance and other typical contemporary elements, but there’s also a big focus on friendship, and that’s something that I love reading about. And just look at the cover – it makes me want to throw on my sunglasses and go out and get an ice cream cone!

Nantucket Red by Leila Howland (May 13, 2014)

This is a sequel to Nantucket Blue, which did have its problems (slut- and fat-shaming), but I still remember enjoying the story quite a bit and it would have gotten a higher rating if not for the shaming, so I hope that this unexpected sequel takes all the things I liked about the first book without any (or at least less) of the things I hated. Fingers crossed!

GirlInReverse WeWereLiars

Girl in Progress by Barbara Stuber (May 13, 2014)

I definitely need more diversity in the books I read, so this book – about an Asian girl living during the time of the Korean War and having to deal with racism as a result, all while trying to find the mother that allegedly gave her up for adoption – sounds like something that would interest me even without the race and diversity aspect. Plus, the Korean War isn’t a time period you read much in YA, so that’ll be interesting as well.

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart (May 13, 2014)

I love E. Lockhart’s Ruby Oliver series and there have been almost exclusively rave early reviews for this book, so I’m definitely, definitely excited for it. Everyone also says that it’s best to go in without knowing anything or at least very little, so I’m not going to talk about the plot (which I don’t know much of anyway, other than what the summary tells me).

SecretsofLilyGraves EverythingLeadstoYou

The Secrets of Lily Graves by Sarah Strohmeyer (May 13, 2014)

I enjoyed and really enjoyed Sarah Strohmeyer’s first two YA books (How Zoe Made Her Dreams (Mostly) Come True and Smart Girls Get What They Want, respectively), so I’m definitely interested in her third book, although the fact that it’s about a murder mystery while her other books are just fluffy contemporary books has me wondering what I’ll think of it. I do love the fact that Lily comes from a family of female morticians and her last name is Graves – it makes me giggle. Is that a good enough reason to want to read a book? If not, the summary really does sound interesting!

Everything Leads to You by Nina LaCour (May 15, 2014)

I haven’t read either of Nina LaCour’s other books, but this book sounds too intriguing not to check it out. It’s LGBTQ! Since that’s something else I really need more of in my books as well, that’s reason enough to check this out, but the summary sounds intriguing and I just love that cover so much! I’m not quite sure why, but I just know that I do!

VivianDivineIsDead Hexed

Vivian Divine is Dead by Lauren Sabel (June 3, 2014)

A teenage celebrity who has to go on the run for her life? If you aren’t drawn in by that sentence alone, then it probably isn’t the book for you, but it certainly sounds interesting to me!

Hexed by Michelle Krys (June 10, 2014)

The summary makes this book sound like a fun and fluffy story about witches, which is always nice. I also read a couple of interviews with the author, and she just sounds like a fun person, so I hope that shows up in her debut as well!

LiesMyGirlfriendToldMe BrutalYouth

Lies My Girlfriend Told Me by Julie Anne Peters (June 10, 2014)

This is another book about a girl who’s gay (or bi – it’s hard to tell based on the summaries, but they could just as easily like boys as well, which would be nice since there are so few bisexuals shown in any form of media, it seems), and the title alone is just so interesting. I want to know what the girlfriend was lying to the poor girl!

Brutal Youth by Anthony Breznican (June 10, 2014)

Reading about Catholic school antics is very interesting to me since I spent 12 whole years in one myself, and this book definitely sounds like it’ll have some interesting stories to tell. I mean, look at that cover! Burning up a uniform is something that many uniformed students would love to do! There was a boy in my class who tried to literally tear his shirt in half on the last day we had to wear our uniforms (it was still on him and therefore he had trouble ripping it more than partway, but it was entertaining to watch anyway). I hope to read about things like that which make me laugh and look back kind-of-fondly.

Merciless RuinAndRising

The Merciless by Danielle Vega (June 12, 2014)

I don’t think I can even begin to describe this book. Just click on the link and read the Goodreads summary and be prepared to be both terrified and intrigued at once. Or just terrified – that’s possible as well. I don’t know why, but I just have to know what’s happening based on this summary, even though it does not sound like a happy story at all.

Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo (June 17, 2014)

The last book in the Grisha series – I’m sure I’ll be sad to see this series end, but I’m also quite interested to see how everything’s going to be wrapped up, especially considering the ending of the second book (which I don’t remember completely, so I need to find a quick summary before I get my hands on this book).

#ScandalBehindtheScenes

#scandal by Sarah Ockler (June 17, 2014)

Although I’m not happy by the idea that the scandal referenced in the tile is from the protagonist kissing her friend’s boyfriend, I’m still interested in seeing where this story goes. So far, I’ve read one not-so-great book, one decent book, and two pretty enjoyable books from Sarah Ockler, so I’m really interested in seeing whether this’ll be the book that convinces me to always give her a chance or the opposite. Fingers crossed that this book works out!

Behind the Scenes by Dahlia Adler (June 24, 2014)

I like books about Hollywood a little more than I probably should, so this debut about the BFF of a famous actress sounds like a great summer reader to me. I’ve also seen Dahlia Adler interacting with the blogging community a lot (and she might be a book blogger as well?), so I also hope that’s a sign that she knows just what kinds of books we like!

Leave a Reply

