These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

TheseBrokenStarsTitle: These Broken Stars

Author: Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

Genre: Romance/Science Fiction

Publisher: Disney Hyperion

Pages: 374

Rating: 4/5

It’s a night like any other on board the Icarus. Then, catastrophe strikes: the massive luxury spaceliner is yanked out of hyperspace and plummets into the nearest planet. Lilac LaRoux and Tarver Merendsen survive. And they seem to be alone.

Lilac is the daughter of the richest man in the universe. Tarver comes from nothing, a young war hero who learned long ago that girls like Lilac are more trouble than they’re worth. But with only each other to rely on, Lilac and Tarver must work together, making a tortuous journey across the eerie, deserted terrain to seek help.

Then, against all odds, Lilac and Tarver find a strange blessing in the tragedy that has thrown them into each other’s arms. Without the hope of a future together in their own world, they begin to wonder—would they be better off staying here forever?

Everything changes when they uncover the truth behind the chilling whispers that haunt their every step. Lilac and Tarver may find a way off this planet. But they won’t be the same people who landed on it.

This book was very hyped up when it came out at the very end of 2013, but I think I’m glad that I didn’t get my hands on it until March of this year, when the hype was mostly gone. I am amazed to find that the hype didn’t seem to affect me, at least to a point where I noticed it, but that might not have been the case if everyone was still obsessing over it. Anyway, based on reading it now, I thought this was a perfectly enjoyable start to an interesting new trilogy.

I read most of this book while I was out of town, either waiting around in a hotel or stuck in the car for way too many hours. I’m the type of person who easily gets distracted during long car rides and will even stop reading in the middle of a sentence to look out the window and just think for a few minutes before remembering that I was reading. I definitely did that while reading this book, but I didn’t do it as much as I normally do, which is actually quite a compliment. It was engaging from the very beginning. Even when it seemed like not much was happening, I was so interested to see what would happen and cared about the characters and such that I didn’t mind if there seemed to be little going on plot-wise.

And really, there was plenty of plot and mystery to go around even when there didn’t seem to be much at the forefront. And, if the plot didn’t interest you, there’s a good chance that you’ll enjoy the romance. It’s not my new favorite couple or anything, but I did think it was quite cute, especially when things were just building up and they were alternating between cutesy moments and bickering. [Hover to View Spoiler]

The ending was the main reason I didn’t love this book. Things seemed kind of rushed and even confusing at times. There was so much being thrown at you and it almost seemed like it was dropped at the end. If this were a regular series then I would say that it’s just the set-up for the next book, but if I’ve heard correctly, then this is more like an anthology series with new characters at the center of the next book, so I’m not sure if much, if anything, will be resolved in the next book.

Excluding the end, though, this was definitely an enjoyable book. Even with the ending, I don’t regret reading it or anything and really do look forward to whatever happens in the next book. If it can be strong from the beginning to the end, then I just might have a new favorite. If not, there’s still quite a good chance that I’ll enjoy myself while reading it.

4stars

WidgetGoodreads

4 thoughts on “These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

Leave a Reply

