Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Most Unique Books I’ve Read

TopTenTuesday

As I write this, I realize that this topic probably meant unique ideas and settings and such, but I tried to focus on unique formats with a few unique ideas and settings sprinkled in.

 

Retellings aren’t unique, gender-bending stories aren’t unique, but a gender-bending, retelling of Robin Hood that’s written with grammatical mistakes to represent a dialect is pretty unique. This was a pretty unusual book that I stumbled upon, and I was definitely unsure of what I’d think of this book at the beginning due to all the unusual elements, but it ended up being one of my favorite debuts of the year.

Books made up entirely of letters isn’t that unique, but this book itself seemed pretty darn unique to me. It never seemed like the letters were written by a professional writer, but an actual teenage boy who’s a bit confused and depressed and introverted and real.

This book isn’t really unique like the others on this list, but reading about a teenage celebrity from an author who used to interview actual celebrities for magazines gives you a bit of a unique and genuine perspective of Hollywood. I plan on rereading this series sometime this summer, and I plan on having just as much fun as always.

When I first read this book, I think I was a little surprised to read a children’s book with many adult characters and perspectives. It’s definitely a middle grade book, but at the time I read it, I was only really used to reading about children, and normally a smaller cast of characters and perspectives. It also has a bit of a game format, one that you can kind of follow along and guess with if it’s your first time reading the book.

Listening to the recordings of a dead girl explaining her suicide to all the people she blames for her suicide? Definitely not something you find in very many books.

This whole trilogy is written entirely in IMs and text messages. There are emoticons and text speech galore, and it’s sure to annoy plenty of people. If you don’t mind it or like reading IMs, though, you should look past the gimmick and read this great story of friendship. The focus on the complicated and frustrating and beautiful friendship at the series’ center shouldn’t feel unique, but sometimes it does seem that way.

A quite depressing series about awful things happening to children while the narrator continually begs you to stop reading – definitely unique. I also hope to reread this series this summer, reliving the horribleness and cynicism and whimsy of it all.

The story itself is pretty unique – a bunch of beauty queens wrecked on an island after a plane crash – but there are also transcripts of commercials, interviews, and other insights to the scary and very consumer-driven world outside of the island, and that’s not something you find in many other books.

I wasn’t a fan of this book, unfortunately, but there’s no denying that it is very unique. It’s written as a screen play and the best friend of the protagonist is known simply as “You,” so you never knew if the friend is male or female, which adds ambiguity to their relationships and gives the story an LGBTQ element in addition to the female protagonist’s crush on her female teacher.

Magical realism definitely adds a uniqueness to a book. A girl with wings, a canary that was once a girl, a mother who can smell when a woman is pregnant, and a grandmother who sees her dead relatives – these are just a few of the magical elements in this very strange and beautiful tale that I read last week.

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Most Unique Books I’ve Read

    1. Yeah, I tried to focus on some unique formats, like I said, but Beauty Queens and The Westing Game have some unique and interesting premises that I had to include them!

Leave a Reply

