New Reads: Rewind Edition (5)

 

NewReadsRewind

I haven’t done one of these in a really long time, so if you need a bit of a recap, this is a feature where I highlight books on my to-read shelf that aren’t new books, since they’re less likely to get attention from the book blogging community right now. Some were quite popular when they were released while others might be (hopefully) hidden gems that I just happened to stumble upon. This feature is set up the same way that my regular New Reads posts are, so feel free to click on the titles to see these books (and maybe add them) on Goodreads!

AndThenThereWereNone GameofThrones

And Then There Were None (Agatha Christie)

My parents enjoy Agatha Christie mysteries, so I’ve seen quite a few Miss Marples and other adaptations of her mysteries on TV and such, but I’ve never actually read any of her books. I decided to take the plunge and attempt to read one of her most famous mysteries, both to finally read some “classics” that aren’t too classic for me and to hopefully use for my Adult Fiction Challenge. Hopefully it goes well!

A Game of Thrones (George R.R. Martin)

I also decided to finally add this book to my to-read shelf – I’ve been unofficially planning on reading it for a while, but now it seems more official. Debby from Snuggly Oranges recently began reading this using a schedule where she reads about 26 pages everyday and will thus finish this book in a month and I’m seriously considering doing something like that whenever I finally sit down and read this monster of a book.

 Speak PurpleHibiscus

Speak (Laurie Halse Anderson)

As I’ve already mentioned in the many different posts where I highlight this book, I’m a little scared of reading it due to the subject matter, but the more places that I highlight it, the more pressure I put on myself to read it (in a good way, of course). So, despite the uncomfortableness of a book about date rape, I plan on reading this quite soon and I’m almost sure that it’ll be powerful in a good way due to the subject matter. So, I’m still a little scared, but quite determined to read it regardless, and soon.

Purple Hibiscus (Chimimanda Ngozi Adichie)

I actually already have this book checked out from the library, so I hope to get to it pretty soon. I can’t remember which Beyoncé song it is, but one of her more recent ones has a speech from this author included in it, a speech that I first heard last year and which quickly made me check out her books on Goodreads. She has other books, including a recently released adult fiction one that I have on my to-read shelf as well, but this is a young adult book, so I added it first. The author is African (I think from Nigeria, but I don’t remember for sure so I don’t want to mention the wrong country), which is where this book takes place, so it’ll expose me to a different country for a setting as well as a more diverse book, so I’m both excited and scared since it’s a bit out of my comfort zone, which unfortunately seems to include almost exclusively white protagonists and American/Western Europe settings – but that’s the point.

 SavingFrancesca DairyQueen

Saving Francesca (Melina Marchetta)

This book has long been one of the Goodreads Recommendations books that seems to keep popping up for me, but for some reason I would always avoid it. Well, no longer – the premise of a recently-turned-co-ed school with very few female students, by an author than many, many book bloggers love, seems like something I should at least enjoy, so I’m giving it a shot. Plus, I’m hoping I’ll like this on the same level as some other Australian stories (Justine Larbalestier’s Magic or Madness trilogy and Jaclyn Moriarty’s Ashbury/Brookfield series).

Dairy Queen (Catherine Gilbert Murdock)

Because this book mentions football in the summary, I’ve kind of avoided it whenever I’ve heard people praising it in the past, but after hearing Renae from Respiring Thoughts continually cheer it on as one of her favorite books ever, I’ve decided I should at least give it a chance. And the story does sound interesting – a girl who rarely talks but has plenty to say or whatever it was sounds like a girl I’ll be able to identify pretty easily. And I am still on a very long contemporary kick, so I should read another staple in the genre, shouldn’t I?

Frostbite MyFairGodmother

Frostbite (Richelle Mead)

Well, I’ve read Vampire Academy and was reasonably entertained, so it only makes sense that I would continue on with the series! I already have this book checked out and it’s up next in my ebook (not-physical) stack, so I should be getting to it soon. I feel like this is a pretty popular book in the series, but maybe I’m just telling myself that to reassure me that the first book wasn’t a fluke. Either way, I’ll find out soon enough!

My Fair Godmother (Janette Rallison)

This was a cute-looking book that I’ve also seen many times in my recommendations from Goodreads. It sounds very fluffy – a fairy godmother accidentally sends the protagonist back to the Middle Ages as various fairy tale princesses and there’s romance – but as many bloggers rightfully point out, there’s nothing wrong with fluff. I think I’ll check this out whenever I’m in a bit of a slump and just need something cute to pick me up – hopefully it’ll do the trick.

SummerITurnedPretty HateList

The Summer I Turned Pretty (Jenny Han)

I am looking forward to reading Jenny Han’s new book, To All The Boys I’ve Loved, when it comes out this spring, but I’ve never bothered checking out any of her already-published books. I decided to remedy that with the first book in her fairly popular trilogy. It’s obviously a summer story, based on the title, so I hope to check it out sometime this summer – perhaps on the beach, which seems appropriate.

Hate List (Jennifer Brown)

This is another book that I already have, but it’s a little ways down in my pile of books. It’s about a girl whose boyfriend brings a gun to school, so it sounds like it’ll be a bit painful to read at times, but I’ve heard some good things about Jennifer Brown’s issues-heavy books, so I hope to join that group of fans after reading this.

Leave a Reply

