Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Things On My Bookish Bucket List

TopTenTuesday

With today’s graphics, I really just had fun choosing many different types of overlays and such from Pic Monkey, so it really just looks like a child who just discovered the site putting whatever things they want on each one – and, in a way, that’s what happened, even though I’ve been using Pic Monkey for months now. So, not very professional-looking graphics, but I had loads of fun making them!

BookishWishlist2

I really need some place to talk about all these amazing books in real life. I might get close to that next year when I live with two girls who are both readers as well, but they tend to read more fantasy/paranormal/adult stuff, so we won’t always have something in common. I need to find a group of people who read a larger mix of books that includes YA contemporary books.

BookishWishlist6

I think it’d be really cool to work with another blogger for something, anything. There are times I’m seriously tempted to apply when I see people looking for co-bloggers, but I’m the type of person who needs a lot of control, so that might not work out well. So, an alternative could be to do a special one week event or have a whole feature or a challenge or something that’s co-hosted with another blogger. It’d just be cool to get someone else’s ideas who is also a book blogger. But it would have to be something really special – and hopefully something that I couldn’t take too much control over!

BookishWishlist5

Going along with the previous one, it’d be really cool to just meet a blogger in real life. There aren’t really any bloggers in my area (although I did find a few in my state through the Book Blogging Net or whatever it was called – I don’t use it much, so I don’t remember for sure), and I don’t have the money nor the sheer determination to get everything in order to attempt going to BEA. It’s just too far away and I don’t really know any bloggers well enough and it would just be a headache at this point. Maybe in a few years I’ll feel differently, but for now I don’t think this is a goal that’s going to be fulfilled anytime soon.

BookishWishlist3

I already do this sometimes, but I think this would be a little easier if I had children of my own or something. I just want to reread so many books I loved as a young, from picture books to middle grade to some of the YA I read back in late elementary and middle school. Right now, though, I’d feel a little embarrassed picking up an American Girl book or something. But only a little.

BookishWishlist1

This kind of goes along with the “Meet Blogger” one. I’m a very shy person, so I don’t know how well this would go, but it would be really cool to get to go to some sort of event where I could actually meet an author that I love. As I already mentioned, not much happens book-wise in my area, so I’d probably have to go somewhere else to find an author, but maybe I’ll get lucky and an amazing author that I will end up loving and who lives in my area will publish something and I can easily meet her or him.

BookishWishlist4

This goes for some other series, actually, but this one came to mind specifically. Have you ever read any of the Alice books by Phyllis Reynolds Naylor (I think I got the name right)? I first read some of the prequel books, when she’s in elementary school, back when I was in elementary school, and have since jumped around a little in the original series. She just recently published the last book, if I remember correctly, and there are probably at least 20 or so books, so it’s a long series, and that runs the risk of diminishing over time, but I would really like to get the chance to start Alice’s adventures in middle school and see it through to the end. Like I said, this could also apply to many other long series or classics I’ve just never read.

BookishWishlist8

I would love to just save up a bunch of money, go to a bookstore, and get whatever I want and can afford. There are times when I get a few books at once, but this is the type of thing that I could only do if I had at least $100 or so saved probably or went to a really great used bookstore. Either way, I’d really like to be able to do this someday.

BookishWishlist9

I’d just really like to have someone in real life who has the same love of books that I do. They don’t have to love all the same books, but hopefully they’d like the same genres since that rarely seems to happen to me when I meet bookish people in real life. When they read books I like, it’s only a few, and it seems like they’re outgrowing them. I don’t really know any adults who read YA, so that doesn’t really bode well for all of my bookish friends who are starting to move into adult books and don’t seem to care for YA anymore. I’m alright with reading a few adult books, but I just don’t see my love of YA changing anytime soon, which is making it difficult to find someone to bond with in real life!

BookishWishlist7

My house has two floor-to-ceiling bookcases that stand on either side of a (not-so-functioning) fireplace. This seems like it would be a dream come true already, but since my parents filled it up when we moved in (so, when I was just learning to read and obviously didn’t have many books of my own), it’s not like it’s mine. There are only a couple of books on it that I’ve read, and that’s only because my mom stuck up some of the books I’ve read for school. I would love to have even just one of those bookcases for my own, with all my beloved and worn-from-reading books, but I figure that’ll have to wait until I’m out on my own.

BookishWishlist10

And, finally, a very simple one that rarely seems to happen. No matter what, I always seem to be doing something else, even if it’s a short thing. I’d love to have the chance to start off the day with a stack of books that I know I’ll love and just read them all day, only moving when I’m tired of sitting in a certain place or way (I’m a fidgety person, so I rarely sit in the same position for more than five minutes or so, probably, so I’d definitely be moving around a lot – but I’d be reading as I do it!)

25 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Things On My Bookish Bucket List

  1. I think it would be great to co-blog on something with someone else.
    I’ve belonged to book clubs before and loved them. We only really do a little chatting about books before it devolves into unrelated conversation but I like having another circle of people in my life. I’ve seen book clubs associated with my local library as well as with bookshops in my area – maybe they have some where you are and you can find one – or even create your own.

    1. My roommates for next year and I are thinking of having our own mini-book club (which probably just means we’ll all try to read the same book around the same time, in between classes and such), so hopefully that’ll work out for me. If not, I may try looking into libraries and bookstores like you suggested, so thanks for that!

  2. I want to work with another blogger badly too! Meeting bloggers and making friends definitely is at the top of my list! I’ve met bloggers who live in the same country as me when we go to signings, and they’re awesome! πŸ™‚ OH yeah for bookish shopping spree and filling a wall with books! I’m totally imagining that right now, and it might be better than a home library! Thanks for sharing πŸ™‚

    TTT: Bookish Bucket List
    Dress Up That Cover #1 – If I Stay

    1. I’m such a shy person that the thought of meeting other bloggers kind of terrifies me at the same time, but I still hope it happens someday! Going on a personal shopping spree and having a wall full of books would be a lot less stressful, though. πŸ˜€

  3. Oh my word – do me a favour please???

    Please go check out my latest post –

    And I love your pic monkey graphics… first time I have heard of it and I have been stuck on it for half an hour. Yay you.

    My TTT

    1. Yeah, PicMonkey can really pull you in, especially when you feel like using as many overlays, textures, themes, and such as possible, just having fun rather than trying to make it really professional!

    1. Hmm, that could be interesting, but April might not be the best time for me with everything starting to get crazy with tests and papers and such for the end of the school year. Summer is really the time when I can fit more in, but I’ll definitely check it out!

  4. Great list – I really would like to just make more friends too from the bookish world and to co-create/co-author something. I’m very controlling/perfectionist as well, so finding the right person might be difficult.

    1. Yeah, finding the right person and being able to give up even some control would be the stressful part. I don’t think I could deal with a co-blogger full time unless it was someone I knew in real life and could spend a lot of time getting to know in real life as well as the blogging community. The other person could be perfectly lovely but I would be the problem!

  5. Lovely list! I would love to meet other bloggers as well, people that I interact w/ via Twitter, IG, Facebook etc… That would be awesome!
    Here’s my TTT

    Daisel @ Owl Always Be Reading

    1. I’m trying to interact with people a bit on Twitter, but it’s a slow change – I’m just more of a lurker, and prefer reading conversations than participating in them. I’m trying to change that, but it’s definitely a long-term goal!

  6. Awe, I love your list so much! We share many of the same goals actually, but there’s one that I didn’t put on my list but absolutely love: work with another blogger. I’ve always wanted to co-host an event/feature, so it you ever want to figure something out, let me know! I’d be interested!

    1. Wow, thanks, I’ll definitely keep you in mind if I ever manage to get over my need to control everything! That’s why I think an event or feature would be easier to do than co-blogging, since I would still have control over my own blog. It’s definitely something I hope to do in the future, though!

  7. Your list is so cute! Having a wall of books, doing collaboration with another blogger, rereading childhood favourites, and well to be honest all the items on your list are great ones. πŸ™‚

    1. Aw, thanks! There are just so many things I want to accomplish bookish-wise yet so little time to do them all, it seems (and money – money is too often an object in my wish to have a bookish shopping spree)!

  8. Genevieve, working with another blogger is relaly fun and really rewarding. I co-host a meme with another blogger and it’s always nice to have someone to bounce ideas off and talk to about anything, and it’s always good if you have similar tastes. Have you considered getting someone in to guest post sometimes, you get to work with someone and you get free extra material, it’s a win win! Meeting an author and a blogger would also be something I’d love to do, I imagine it’d be really fun, but I’m extremely nervous around new people, dang anxiety and social encounters.. Great list! πŸ˜€

    1. Hmm, guest posts seems like a good idea, especially next year when I know I’m going to have a busy few weeks during the semester. And yeah, being in an area where few authors come to isn’t my only problem – I’m just so worried about actually meeting an author! I’m definitely a shy person in real life, which would make it just as nerve-wracking as exciting, unfortunately. But I still hope to do it someday!

  9. I love PicMonkey!

    It’s funny how simple spending all day reading should be, but how hard it can be to accomplish! Any time I decide to spend the day reading, a friend will call to hang out, or something will pop up and I get interrupted! Haha

    1. The more I master and get to know it, the more I like PicMonkey, but I don’t think I could ever give up using my regular graphics program whenever I’m making graphics with just text – more fonts and options, and as such a huge font person, I could never NOT have that!

      Yes, it seems like such a simple idea, but there are just so many things that can interrupt, and if you don’t have the right book, then you could get bored after an hour or two! One of these days I will find a couple amazing books that keep me occupied on a completely free day, though – I am determined to do this at least once!

Leave a Reply

