Racing Savannah by Miranda Kenneally

RacingSavannahTitle: Racing Savannah

Author: Miranda Kenneally (Catching Jordan, Stealing Parker, and Things I Can’t Forget)

Genre: Contemporary

Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire

Pages: 304

Rating: 4/5

They’re from two different worlds.

He lives in the estate house, and she spends most of her time in the stables helping her father train horses. In fact, Savannah has always been much more comfortable around horses than boys. Especially boys like Jack Goodwin—cocky, popular and completely out of her league. She knows the rules: no mixing between the staff and the Goodwin family. But Jack has no such boundaries.

With her dream of becoming a horse jockey, Savannah isn’t exactly one to follow the rules either. She’s not going to let someone tell her a girl isn’t tough enough to race. Sure, it’s dangerous. Then again, so is dating Jack…

Things started slightly rough with Miranda Kenneally’s books for me, but she’s slowly becoming a pretty reliable author for good quality contemporary books for me. Even though this isn’t my favorite novel from Kenneally, it was quite enjoyable.

For the most part, I liked the protagonist, Savannah. Sometimes she could be a bit judge-y, but overall she was feisty and sure of what she wanted, which is always great to see in a protagonist. She’s in an industry dominated by men, so there are some issues of gender that she has to deal with in addition to the dangers of riding horses.

Horses definitely play a big part in this story. I’m sure that this going to shock some people, but I’ve never ridden a horse and was never that interested in them. I liked watching a show called The Saddle Club and read a few books at stables and such, but I was never one of those girls who wanted to get a pony and ride a pony and all of that. I never had anything against horses – I was really just neutral toward them. So, as a neutral-horse-person, I enjoyed reading about the horses. It wasn’t my favorite part, but it wasn’t my least favorite part either. It was great to see someone so passionate about something, whether that’s a typical sport or something more unusual like horseback riding.

The romance was also interesting. Half the time I was rooting for them, but half the time I didn’t really care that much. I never disliked them together or anything, but I didn’t feel the need to root them on. Their romance was just too dramatic and times, sometimes because it seemed a bit uneven. Flirting one day, ignoring/mad at each other the next. I just wanted to shake the two of them sometimes – either you like each other or you don’t, just stop making me listen to your drama! I don’t know if it was because I had just read a book with a romance that I was always rooting for or it just didn’t work for me.

It was really interesting seeing all of the former protagonists from Kenneally’s other books as well. In Things I Can’t Forget, a former protagonist played a pretty big role in the new story, but they were all just cameos in this book. I was especially happy to see my favorite protagonist and her beau, although I’m not going to say why just in case some people consider that a spoiler. Regardless, it was cute and I was so happy to see them again. That being said, I was sometimes struggling to figure out how many years later this is supposed to be from the year or so that the first three books took place in. I think all the former protagonists were college-age, but I’m not quite sure where in that four or so years range. One of the secondary characters in this book is the younger sister of Ty Green from Catching Jordan, so based on her age, I think this is supposed to be roughly three or four years later, but I just couldn’t tell. Also, I have to admit that I was a little surprise to see all three couples still going strong. I mean, it would be a bummer to see a former couple broken up, but it would also be a little realistic, and I think it kind of took me out of the story because I couldn’t help but think “Really? All three of them have stood the test of time?” I feel like this is something that would only bother me, but I figured I should mention it anyway.

That  being said, I did enjoy this story. I had some minor complaints, but I genuinely wanted to see what was going to happen next and interested in Savannah’s story. I think I can officially say that I’m a Kenneally fan – some of her books work out better for me than others, but they’ve all been 3.5 stars or higher, and that’s pretty good in my book.

4stars

WidgetGoodreads

Leave a Reply

