The Daily Prophecy’s Fairytale Survey

Yep, I do these a lot, despite how time-consuming they can be, but there’s a reason – they’re just so much fun! This time I’m doing a survey from The Daily Prophecy, which you can find here – you should definitely comment on hers with your answers or do your own post! Anyway, on with my selections:

Classic Princesses

Pinocchio – The Boy Whose Nose Grows When He Lies
Is there a book you lie about because you feel ashamed for liking it?

I don’t necessarily lie about it, but I don’t broadcast the fact that I read so many, many YA books unless I’m specifically talking to someone about them. It’s not something I try to hide necessarily, but I do prefer reading on my Nook in public so that people can’t see what I’m reading. I’m not too old for YA, but I do feel like a lot of people my age are beginning to shift to adult and such and that’s just not something I want to read all the time.

Beauty and the Beast – The Girl Who Fell in Love With Personality
Which book do you love that has a hideous cover?

OK, I’m already cheating a little bit with this one – I’m going with the covers for the Possessions trilogy because they terrify me, but I enjoyed the books for the most part. Apparently I only have the one cover saved on my account, and it’s the least scary one, but they’re all pretty creepy and not something I really want to look at for a long period of time!

ScreamingSeason

Snow White – Hunted Down for Her Beauty
Do you ever buy a book based on the cover alone and if so, what is the last one?

I rarely buy books I’ve never read before, let alone simply because I love the cover (I know how badly that can end up), but I remember coming very, very close to buying The Luxe back when it came out simply because I loved the cover. I didn’t, but I did end up reading it later and then buying it, so I’m counting it anyway! I mean, look at this cover (again, I only have the last book, that’s annoying, but I’m too lazy to upload the other ones right now):

Splendor

Sleeping Beauty – Cursed to Sleep, Awakened by True Love’s Kiss
What is your favorite book couple?

Before I answer the question, I first need to say that, growing up, Sleeping Beauty was always my favorite princess. I’m not quite sure why, but I was so excited when I got a VHS of Sleeping Beauty for like my 3rd or 4th birthday. And why yes, I do still stick that VHS into my quite old VCR and watch it sometimes. 😀

Anyway, back to the question. There are a lot of couples I like (Lucy and Zach from Impossible, Ruby and Noel from Ruby Oliver, etc.), but for this one, I think I’m going to go with the super-adorable Samantha and Jase from My Life Next Door! They’re just so adorable, and they have adorable moments with other people as well, and I just really need to reread this book soon!

Little Mermaid – Gave Up on Her Old Life for Love
Do you ever branch out to new genres or do you like to stick with the ones you know and love? If you try out new things, what is the latest book?

I’m doing my best to branch out into Adult books now, but I mostly stick to the tried-and-true YA, specifically contemporary, paranormal, and some fantasy and historical. I know Adult isn’t really a genre, but I am trying to read some of them. As I write this, I’m not very far into Cartwheel, even though I started it a couple weeks ago, so hopefully I’m done with it by the time this post goes up!

Cinderella – Who Lost Her Shoe After Midnight
What is the last book that made you stay up all night?

If you had asked me this a few weeks ago, I wouldn’t have been able to think of a book that would fit this. In the past two weeks, though, I’ve stayed up quite late for a few books, not necessarily because I had to know what happened, but because I’ve been kind of sick and my mind would rather stay up and read than fall asleep where I would no longer feel sick (yeah, makes no sense to me either, and I’m the one who was doing this). Anyway, I stayed up pretty late for Something Real, and probably a few others, but it was Cruel Beauty that I decided to read all in one night, which means I was reading until a little after 3 in the morning despite having class the next day (or really that day, at that point). I was interested in it, but not really the point where I would have normally stayed up that late. I was just in a weird mood.

Rapunzel – Locked Up in a Tower
What is the worst book you’ve read last month?

OK, this was actually from January, but I really haven’t read many books that could qualify for “worst book ever” lately. Anyway, I read the third Liar Society book, Third Lie’s the Charm – well, I say read, but I skimmed the majority of it simply to know what happened. I really wasn’t that interested in it, and I probably should have dropped the series after not being very impressed with the second book, but I was kind of curious at that point. Unfortunately, this was a series that I simply outgrew, so I really didn’t enjoy much of the end of it.

Mix-Match

Aladdin – The Poor Boy Who Found a Genie
What is the last book treasure/gem you found?

It was really a surprise hit for me, so I’m going with Smart Girls Get What They Want. I read it last month and I was surprised with how much fun and how cute it was. I definitely plan on buying it in the future so I can reread it!

Alice in Wonderland – The Girl Who Fell Through a Rabbit’s Hole
Which book made you really feel like you landed in another world?

I know this is really talking about incredible world building and such, but another book immediately came to mind upon seeing it was about Alice: Wild Awake. It’s a contemporary book, and there were parts that bothered me, but I was always struck by how much it screwed with my head. The main character, Kiri, often has moments of disconnect and confusion and such, and if I would take a brief pause while reading one of those scenes to think or look out the window or something, I would always feel like I was coming back from a strong world. My emotions often felt just as jumbled as hers, which was really weird for me. That feeling of confusion has just stuck with me in a way that the story hasn’t necessarily.

East of the Sun and West of the Moon – Where a Girl Embarks on a Journey to Save Her Love
Who is one of your favorite kick-ass heroines?

Valkyrie Cain from the Skulduggery Pleasant books is pretty bad-ass, along with most of the characters in the books. She starts off as a pretty regular kid, but boy does she change the more involved she gets in the world of magic and such. I mean, just look at the name she chose for herself and tell me that doesn’t frighten you a little at the person behind the name.

The Frog Prince – Where an Enchanted Prince Becomes Human Again
What is a book you thought you would hate, but ended up loving?

I didn’t necessarily think that I would hate it, but I was quite a bit worried about J.K. Rowling’s first non-Harry Potter book, The Casual Vacancy, which I read last fall. It was my first ever adult book (outside of assigned reading), and even though it was long, took a while to read, had a lot of characters to keep track of, was quite a bit depressing, and was very, very different from Harry Potter, I really did enjoy it in the end. It was the reason I decided to try to read 10 Adult books this year, so we’ll see if that ends up being a good thing or not.

Hansel and Gretel – Left Alone in the Woods and Captured by a Witch
Which duo (sister/sister, brother/sister) are your favorite and why?

Since I read it so recently, this was the first thing that popped into my head: Benton and Bonnie/Chloe from Something Real. They seem like real best friends, not simply siblings, and they were really there for each other. They had plenty of humorous moments, but there were also heavier ones, and I just really believed that they cared about each other so much. There are plenty of other great sibling relationships in YA, but this was the one that popped into my head right away.

Little Red Riding Hood – Almost Eaten by a Wolf Dressed as Her Grandmother
What book disappointed you after falling in love with the cover and the blurb?

It had a cool and eye-catching cover, an interesting premise, and plenty of rave reviews, but that wasn’t enough to save This Song Will Save Your Life for me when I read it last year. I wanted to like it, but I never really liked the protagonist enough to feel sorry for her all the time, and when she got pissed off at a teacher for being concerned about her well-being (after she had a suicide attempt, which means the teacher was doing her damn job by keeping an eye on her, not betraying her), I couldn’t take it anymore. I know that plenty of people really love this book, and I can certainly see why, but it just was not the book for me.

Rumpelstilskin – Nobody Knows His Name
Which book do you love that doesn’t get enough attention?

I feel like there are plenty of books that can fit this, but since I recently reread it, I’m going to go with Impossible. It’s been one of my favorites for so long, but I rarely, if ever, see other people mention it on their blogs. It’s a fantasy book, but it often feels like contemporary to me, so I think it’s the elusive magical realism that some people have been interested in lately. Either way, I hope more people start discovering it.

And that’s it for this survey! Like I said, you should go to The Daily Prophecy and check out this survey and everything else that Mel posts – many of which are fairy tale-related, if you couldn’t guess!

3 thoughts on “The Daily Prophecy’s Fairytale Survey

Leave a Reply

